S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
notalifestyle
3,191 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
cliff notes:my buddy and i get in fight, he says a/c compressor can be used for bags, will fill a 5gal as soon as you start truck..

ok so my buddy was telling me hes going to bag his truck, and one of his buddys (one i never talked to before) that acts like he knows everything about everything says if you hook your a/c compressor up to your air tank for bags, it will fill it as soon as you start the truck. I told him theres no way in hell its going to fill it as soon as you turn on the truck, it might fill it an hour later to 50psi? So what do you guys think about this? Im still kinda new to the baggin world.

·
Registered
5,261 Posts
ive done this.... the sanden comps on there are fast as hell!!!!! i mean as fast or faster than a york! the problem lies in the oilin and coolin. they will burn up or lock up in about a day. im refering to the stock units, some sanden units can be adapted but require special preoilin units....

si it will work and work super fast, but it will fail super fast

·
~~~~
23,957 Posts
fiveinchbodydrop said:
ive done this.... the sanden comps on there are fast as hell!!!!! i mean as fast or faster than a york! the problem lies in the oilin and coolin. they will burn up or lock up in about a day. im refering to the stock units, some sanden units can be adapted but require special preoilin units....

si it will work and work super fast, but it will fail super fast
:stupid: they have less displacement then a york they have half the CFM but hell you can run them FASTER! so it all makes up for it ;)

but for some real numbers...

To fill a 5 gal from 0-150 in lets say 4.5 sec (about what it takes to start your truck)

Would take a compressor that can push..157CFM at 75PSI..... um yea you find me one :p

more realistic is from 110-145 on a 5 gal with a sanden is about 15 sec. so he is exagerating a bit ;)

·
notalifestyle
3,191 Posts
Discussion Starter #4