S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to S-10,s . I am looking at a 92 ext. cab,Tahoe,5 speed,ac, 2wd. with 103k. Its the original owner.Its in nice shape. Is the V6 2.8 a good motor ? How come its not fuel injected?Any know problems with this truck? I will be using it to drive to work and back and forth to Home Depot because I just bought a house. The seller accepted my offer of 2,700,is this a fair price for me to pay? ? Thanks for any info. Rich...

·
Registered
12,726 Posts
Unless you mistyped and it is a 1982 truck it is fuel injected. All S-Series started with fuel injection in 1986. That motor should have TBI fuel injection. As for 2.8l's they are ok not too quick not too powerful but they do the job as long as they are taken care of. As for the truck itself the main problems are usualy body rust otherwise they are pretty solid. and for price that sounds ok but ya might wanna try a bit lower it all depends on how well maintained the truck was esp the motor.

·
Self Portrait
1,632 Posts
2,700 Sounds a little high

Back in August I picked up a '92 S-10 Tahoe 4.3L regular cab 2WD, Auto,AC,PS,PB,PW,PDL,Cruse, tilt with an Alpine AM/FM/Cass for the low, low price or $1000. I was on the prowl for a truck for about 3 weeks before I found this one. The guy wanted more but I got it for the $1000 cause cash talks!

Good luck with your purchase!

Rick

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks , it is a 92. .What does TBI stand for?
Its the original owner and he has maintained it nice . The paint is a little faded but no rust . What is a Tahoe Package ? Thanks , Rich

·
Registered
12,726 Posts
rfiglia said:
Thanks , it is a 92. .What does TBI stand for?
Its the original owner and he has maintained it nice . The paint is a little faded but no rust . What is a Tahoe Package ? Thanks , Rich