S-10 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
FELLOW S-10 ENTHUSIAST
940 Posts
Can it be done? Yes, anything can be done, if you have the money and the resources. Do you really want to do it? The answer should be no, IMO. It is a proven fact that round speakers sound better than oval speakers. If I were you, I would get a good set of 6 1/2" coax or seperates. You will be much happier with the sound, and instead of spending a ishload of money to make 6x9's fit, you can use that money to buy yourself a nice set of speakers.

·
Registered
134 Posts
this can be accomplished. u take the chance of the magnet being to big and the window not rolling down all the way. i used to work as an installer and a car audio store and we changed 5x7 to 6x9 in a 99 f-150. the guy forgot that the window wouldnt go all the way....cranked the window too fast and broke the bottom of the window......we stopped changing door speakers sizes unless it was a downsize...u can get a 6.5 componet set that will blow most 6x9s out of the water. i reccomend boston acoustic or jl. i have the new JL XR650-csi....they kick ass.

heres a link

http://www.jlaudio.com/evolution/XR650CS.html

·
FELLOW S-10 ENTHUSIAST
940 Posts
fukNitupagain said:
...u can get a 6.5 componet set that will blow most 6x9s out of the water. i reccomend boston acoustic or jl. i have the new JL XR650-csi....they kick ass.
The JL Components are bad ass, almost put them in my truck, but I had to go with the Focal's :)

·
Registered
2,915 Posts