S-10 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to engine swaps entirely and have a few questions. I've seen questions about 4x4 and 5 speeds but not many 4x4 5 speeds. I am really wanting to drop a 5.3 lm7 in my truck. I'm curious as to what all I need to keep the 4x4 and manual transmission. If its at all possible, I'd like to keep my current tranny but if I need a new one to keep standard shift, I can do it.

Also, I know I need to relocate the oil filter but are there any other problems I could run into while dropping in a 5.3?

Do I need a new computer or anything else as well?

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,010 Posts
Moved to LSx Discussion.

You need to read everything in this section...then read it again. Look at the Members Project threads also.

·
Been there Done it
10,027 Posts
An LS 4wd 5 speed swap primarily requires one thing. Lots of money.

·
B4U Task Force Admin
27,010 Posts
....and a big parts cannon.

·
Registered
2,060 Posts
The NV3500 in your 1999 will bolt up to the 5.3. For the flywheel/clutch purchase a flywheel/clutch kit for a 5.3 or 4.8 manual Silverado.

@greencactus3 put a 5.3 in his 5 Speed ZR2. It's a bit different being a ZR2, but some of the same concepts apply. He made a custom oil pan and used Trailblazer manifolds to clear everything. I've not checked clearance on a non ZR2 myself, but I suggested it as an option to a couple of other people and they didn't find the same success as Cactus did.

Computer for the 5.3 will work with your truck, but your 99 computer won't work with the 5.3.

·
Been there Done it
10,027 Posts
He made a custom oil pan
That's going to stop most people. Not too many guys have the access to the needed welding equipment or ability to weld cast aluminum.

·
Registered
2,060 Posts
There's always the Milodon or Canton 4x4 pans. $3-400 isn't toooo bad if fabrication isn't possible.

·
Registered
922 Posts