S-10 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good afternoon,

For today's stupid question, I gots a doozy.

I'm chasing an odd humming/whining noise, which I think is caused by the transfer case being in 4Hi and the front axle being in 2Hi. This started at the same as the buttons on the dash stopped having working, so...

Here's the thing- I have the front end up on stands, and the front wheels turn without rotating the front drive shaft, just like you'd expect. The front drive shaft also turns freely in both directions, an seems to maybe make a bit of that noise i'm chasing (hard to tell at "turn it by hand" speeds).

Seems like if the T/C was in 4Hi, I shouldn't be able to easily turn the drive shaft? This is my first time fooling with a 4wd truck, so I'm not 100% on how everything functions.

I've already replaced the actuator under the battery tray, and I checked the vacuum lines for vacuum with the truck running (I do have vacuum at both the ball attached to the hood and the fitting where to line to the actuator Ts off.)

What other testing procedures do y'all recommend? I really want to chase this noise down and get whatever is causing it fixed today so I can drive her to work tomorrow.

Merlyn

PS: If anyone is in Denver and wants to help out in person, there's a 12 pack of your favorite variety of beer available

·
62 Posts
First of all, is it a 3 button or 4 button 4wd.
If it is 4 button, can't help you.
3 Button, if the TC is truly in 4HI, the tranny in PARK, you should get no movement in the front driveshaft while turning it by hand. It should only turn freely in 2HI.
Let's go there first.

Bill

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First of all, is it a 3 button or 4 button 4wd.
If it is 4 button, can't help you.
3 Button, if the TC is truly in 4HI, the tranny in PARK, you should get no movement in the front driveshaft while turning it by hand. It should only turn freely in 2HI.
Let's go there first.

Bill