S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Tech Mod
30,700 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First, i will say i am no differential expert, but i am going to share my explanation of the operation. if there is any incorrect info please let me know.

So guys, this is a common issue and really i have not seen a break down thread on how the front differential works on these trucks. a lot of people are unaware of how it works and if a problem occurs they don't know the seriousness when it arises. so this thread is to educate people on how the front differential engagement works and if you happen to have a grinding noise coming up front.

here is the PDF on the specs of the front differential and rebuild info, more info can be found in the service manual sticky up top. as well as the vacuum sticky for an explanation of how that works.
https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=5429672B1FB043B7!143&authkey=!AC4sS6HZL2AbQdg

here is a video i found on youtube and demonstrates the grinding noise. it generally gets louder as you slow down and will stop when you stop, or when you put it in 4WD high. if this is happening to you, STOP DRIVING IT!

you can "fix" this by unplugging the vacuum going to the actuator and capping the vac line until you get a new vacuum switch for the transfer case, or you do a posi-lock or bravada shaft swap.

This is my old aluminum differential. i removed it when i upgraded to a cast iron unit so its perfect for this demonstration. now, lets get started!

to the left you can see the vacuum actuator, all this simply does is pull on a cable which engages the slide collar in the front differential (more on that later) the red line shows how the cable connects.

you can pull on the actuator and manually engage the front differential to check for a seized cable. you may have to have someone under the truck turning the front drive shaft to align the gears while you pull the cable.