S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I recently got pulled over on my way home from work and the officer told me it was because my 3rd brake light was out. I've owned the truck for about 4 months now and have never seen it work and I didnt think it even had one. After researching it when I got home I learned the law didnt require them until 1986 and my truck is from 1983. And sorry if it's a stupid question but I'm still relatively new to owning a 1st gen S10. But for my own sanity does my 1983 S10 even have a 3rd brake light?

·
B4U Task Force Admin
25,229 Posts
Doesn't have one.

·
Registered
48 Posts
I dont think so. If it does it would probably be the top of the back window in the middle. I would just run it without it and hope you don't see another super strict cop. I can't believe you got pulled over in the first place for that. Cops where I live dont really car about stuff like that. If they pull you over again tell them it doesnt even have one.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yea I will I didnt think it had one from the start but I didnt want to argue with an officer. Thank you guys I appreciate it.

·
Registered
31 Posts
I think it may have been an option. That cop seems in the wrong here.

love your color combo btw, very pretty truck

·
B4U Task Force Admin
25,229 Posts

·
94 4x4,01 Blazer
2001 Blazer 4dr 4wd LT
1,181 Posts
Take photo of truck,and print out Rhot's article above and go to court. As it is not equiped with it and predates the mandate, the judge/prosecutor has to toss the ticket and may actually get on the cops case .

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #9