S-10 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

I have an 88 S10 with 2.8, all stock, 2WD automatic, usually used to haul firewood; performance is not a high concern. It runs, but EFI system has failed such that it burns super rich.

Most or all censors were replaced already. My mechanic friends are not interested in figuring out. I have been told cheaper to swap V8 or 3.4 than to keep chasing it.

I realize many options are out there for repair of existing system, motor swap, carb swap etc.. At this point I plan to replace with carb, likely Weber. I am not a mechanic, but have some skills. This likely will be the most ambitious project I have attempted.

However, here is a question before I spend more on the Weber than likely truck is worth at present:

Has anyone tried to put a 1bbl Rochester on a former EFl 2.8? What adapters exist, or would they need to be made? Do I need a distributor from the 1980 citation? What is to be done with TV cable? Would final result drive well?

I am sorry if this is a duplicate topic question, but I could not find it answered anywhere. All comments are appreciated. This forum is a great wealth of knowledge.

Thanks
Jeff

·
B4U Task Force Admin
24,250 Posts
Did you try a Search for 2.8 Weber carb? There are a number of hits.

Also...no need to submit your post for approval...just post it in the appropriate area.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi Rhotpursuit,

I may have missed it in the 2.8 area, though I found much discussion on Weber, and other options, but did not see specifically anything on 1bbl Rochester.

Jeff

·
Awww..you ain't got shit!
3,383 Posts
Pull a schematic and teach yourself about this system. It’s not a difficult system. Heck, I installed a 91 EFI system in an 84 carbureted truck. It’s not hard. If the mechanics can’t figure it out then get a better mechanic. Swapping to a carburetor in my opinion is a step backward.