S-10 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody know where the variable valve timing solenoid and it's filter is located on a 1992 2.8l? I'm a non mechanic trying to fix what I can, I'm having issues with it hesitating and running rough when I try to accelerate especially once it's warmed up. I'm getting code 42 and 44. I've cleaned my pvc valve ( and replaced the grommet), the egr valve, and the air cleaner temp sensor. I'm going to get a multimeter to test the coolant temp sensor sending unit (and a host of other things lol) as the connector wire is missing it's insulation so have to replace it. I'm not getting any codes referencing the coolant sensors though. Also just figured out what the thermal valve switch is while trying to figure out how to test the charcoal canister ( don't think I can since I don't have a hand vacuum). I have to get the right size socket so I can take the sensors off and try cleaning them.
It runs better cold. Once it warms up after a couple of miles it starts running rough and I get the check engine light then it doesn't want to accelerate. It will hesitate then it takes off then sluggish again. I'm only getting 14 mpg. I'm thinking it's more than one thing but trying to do the easiest first. I replaced the ignition switch module a 1 1/2 yrs ago.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·