S-10 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
NTBSSHEVN
9,248 Posts
Doesn't it lower cylinder temps. which would increase some carbon. What about gas milage is that affected?

·
Clean N' Dark
1,921 Posts
180 won't create any problems.

Now if you dropped a 160 in there, then you will get some major carbon buildup.

·
2001 S-10 Crew Cab
557 Posts
I wasn't able to get away with running the 180* stat.
The "finicky" 2001 PCM won't let me get away with running it since I went to the larger replacement radiator.
Relocating the IAT worked for a while in the modded stock airbox, but I went to the FIPK and it set the light again, so back to the toasty 195* for me :(

·
Registered
53 Posts
I got a 180 degree thermostat from Pep Boys....it is a 180 that is used on older silverado's with a 350....all u need is the gasket which is like $2.00 and the thermostat which was like $9.00. My truck is a 2001 and it ran great for a while until the computer noticed what was up....I did gain a noticable amount of power but my gas mileage went way down so I had to go back to my 195 again!

·
3,255 Posts
Discussion Starter #8

·
I Am Canadian!
1,194 Posts
In order to run a lower temp thermostat from stock you need a power programmer or a superchips programmer...otherwise as stated above the computer will start to throw fits!! This is the first winter I have run the 180*stat and i notice that I stay in fast idle when it is really cold...and of course the heater doesn't blow as hot...but it does give some more hp with the tuning installed in the computer

·
H-D motorsports
654 Posts
The problem with running too cold of a thermostat is ...if the engine coolant temps are too low the computers see this and continues to run the injection system in open loop, it dumps in this extra rich mixture of fuel into the engine to heat it up quicker to normal operating temps.