2001 ZR2 Blazer trip odometer inop - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-10-2019, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
now-in-Texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 168

User is: now-in-Texas is offline
2001 ZR2 Blazer trip odometer inop

I've owned this vehicle for over 5 years and the trip odometer has never worked correctly. I was told by the previous owner that the gauge cluster was changed at some point. The miles count up as they should but reset every time the vehicle is restarted. No problems with any gauges and no dash lights are on.

now-in-Texas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-10-2019, 06:40 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,851

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: 2001 ZR2 Blazer trip odometer inop

sounds like a keep alive circuit has been compromised.
Is the regular odometer ok and doesnt reset?
theres an eeprom that stores info
look and see if its had any pins removed
radios have something similar and you remove pin 8 on that to circumvent the power to that chip
dime-dozen is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-11-2019, 06:48 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
now-in-Texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 168

User is: now-in-Texas is offline
Everything else functions as it should including the regular odometer. Where am I looking for said EEPROM and pin 8?
now-in-Texas is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 01-11-2019, 01:38 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,851

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: 2001 ZR2 Blazer trip odometer inop

that was in reference to radios that use the VIN to id
memory is an 8 pin chip
would imagine that the same style is used in the trip odo
dime-dozen is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-11-2019, 04:16 PM
Been there Done it
 
oldeerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SW Wisconsin
Posts: 5,795

User is: oldeerslayer is offline
Re: 2001 ZR2 Blazer trip odometer inop

Easiest fix would be to just pickup another cluster from a pic and pull. Easy in and out. Just be sure you get one with or without tach, automatic or stick, and floor or column shift to match yours. IIRC all suv's had floor shift and very few trucks. Best if it's the SAME year.
oldeerslayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome