Replacement compressor input needed - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 10:56 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Replacement compressor input needed

need a couple compressors
for 01 and 04 4.3
I normally buy AC Delco without question but I ve seen too much carnage to believe in them any more.
Whats opinion of Sanden replacement or any other that last longer that the self destructing Delco?

dime-dozen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 11:29 AM
New Member
 
Racer-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: North Georgia, USA
Age: 55
Posts: 1,015

User is: Racer-X is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by dime-dozen View Post
need a couple compressors
for 01 and 04 4.3
I normally buy AC Delco without question but I ve seen too much carnage to believe in them any more.
Whats opinion of Sanden replacement or any other that last longer that the self destructing Delco?
I haven't had issues with AC Delco Original Equipment replacements. You do have to make sure you've replaced the receiver/drier and the orifice tube. And you have to flush out the condenser and the evaporator cores to make sure you get any bearing metal out of those. You can also add a filter to the high side lines to catch any shrapnel that is still in the system.

It's also very important to get the correct amount of the correct (PAG 150) oil in the system. Without adequate lube, the new one will self destruct. With too much lube, it won't work right.

Every machine is a smoke machine if you operate it wrong enough.
Racer-X is online now  
post #3 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

thanks I got the part about oil,flush etc.
they no longer recommend flushing the condenser,flat tube ones are hard to get everything out so just replace.
Most replacement kits come with a new condenser,receiver/dryer,tube etc.
Unless its got a lifetime warranty I wont got back to Delco.
dime-dozen is offline  
 
post #4 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 12:33 PM
New Member
 
Racer-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: North Georgia, USA
Age: 55
Posts: 1,015

User is: Racer-X is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Realize that AC-Delco sells Chineseum knockoffs, too.

The "Original Equipment" ones are what they sold to GM factories. The "Professional" and "Advantage" lines are cheaper knock-offs. They are not the same and the knockoffs are often not as reliable. Do you know which ones you've been having issues with?

Every machine is a smoke machine if you operate it wrong enough.
Racer-X is online now  
post #5 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

no but if youre suggesting go to dealership and pay $600 for an OEM GM then no thanks.
Has anyone tried the Sanden?
dime-dozen is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 03:50 PM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,140

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

If you're dead set against an oem style (split case) Sanden makes great compressors. The downside I had with my Sanden was finding the correct oil for it. I finally found it at a Dodge dealer...they're really proud of it and charge accordingly.


EDIT...I wrote this 3 hours ago and forgot to post.

Sandens are quality products.

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #7 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 04:26 PM
Registered Hoosier
 
Hoosier Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,408

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

I got lucky and found a used Sanden replacement compressor at the junk yard from a blazer for $50. Cold, quiet, no more leaks.

1992 rcsb 4.3,at 357,000 miles. Rust in Peace
2000 Jimmy 4x4 4dr. 255,000 miles
2002 rcsb, 2.2 at, 289,000miles
1967 C10
2006 Colorado
Hoosier Rick is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

what oil did you guys use,errr, is recommended?
Sanden kit with compressor, receiver,condenser,orifice tube is about $200.
dime-dozen is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 05:40 PM
Registered Hoosier
 
Hoosier Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,408

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

https://www.aa1car.com/library/pagoil.htm

1992 rcsb 4.3,at 357,000 miles. Rust in Peace
2000 Jimmy 4x4 4dr. 255,000 miles
2002 rcsb, 2.2 at, 289,000miles
1967 C10
2006 Colorado
Hoosier Rick is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 05:44 PM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,140

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by dime-dozen View Post
what oil did you guys use,errr, is recommended?
Sanden kit with compressor, receiver,condenser,orifice tube is about $200.
I can't remember just off hand. You can call Sanden, or the Dodge dealer. They carry Mopar branded oil of the correct type. Volvo & Jaguar use Sanden as oem, but their parts dept were not very helpful.

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #11 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 05:47 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

they offer a Sanden kit thru Rock Auto with and without the oil.
$36 more for one with the oil si I ll just buy the recommended oil separately .
It says the oil is PAG 150,which according to the list linked above is for the OEM HT/HR
not the Sanden. So end up with more questions than answers
dime-dozen is offline  
post #12 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 05:54 PM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,140

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

I'd check with Sanden anyway. You'd probably be in a bad mood if you got the wrong oil and toasted it. If it turns out the RockAuto oil is correct, buy it there. The oil I bought at Dodge was $40+ for 8oz....like I said...they're pretty proud of their oil...lol

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #13 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 06:03 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

I would say so.......
dime-dozen is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 06:21 PM
New Member
 
Racer-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: North Georgia, USA
Age: 55
Posts: 1,015

User is: Racer-X is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by dime-dozen View Post
what oil did you guys use,errr, is recommended?
Sanden kit with compressor, receiver,condenser,orifice tube is about $200.
According to Sanden's website:
Quote:
3. All Sanden R-134a SD7H15 piston compressor models use Sanden SP-15 PAG oil for service. SD5H models are shipped with SP-20 PAG but can be serviced with SP-15 PAG. Chrysler TR Scroll model compressors also use SP-15 PAG oil for R-134a.

4. All Sanden R-134a compressors SD7B10, TRSA12 for GM, TR Scroll for Honda, SDV and PXE for VW and other PXV and PXE models use Sanden SP-10 PAG oil.

5. All Sanden R-12 applications use Sunico 5GS mineral oil which sells at refrigeration supply houses and is not available from Sanden.

6. Sandenís part # for SP-10 PAG oil is #3201-1996 and SP-15 is #7803-1996.
Source: https://www.sanden.com/objects/Compr...structions.pdf

Every machine is a smoke machine if you operate it wrong enough.
Racer-X is online now  
post #15 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 07:25 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

I hate it when a manufacturer "invents" their own nomenclature for a common product so they can gig you.
Whats PAG-10,15,20 in real world terms?



I would call Rock Auto and ask but last time I checked they did away with the phone lines.


this is from Rock Auto website for the Sanden kit UAC KT4803A




UAC RO0902B [A/C Refrigerant Oil] PAG 150 (R-134a) Oil
dime-dozen is offline  
post #16 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 07:34 PM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,140

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

!50 might be right, but Sanden would leave no doubt. I suppose RockAuto would be on the hook if what they recommend is wrong.

Try this...

RockAuto, LLC Corporate Headquarters
6418 Normandy Lane
Suite 100
Madison, WI 53719
1-608-661-1376

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #17 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

ok thanks will call tomorrow
dime-dozen is offline  
post #18 of 29 Old 06-20-2019, 10:17 PM
Registered User
 
Sonoma RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Snohomish,WA
Age: 50
Posts: 46

User is: Sonoma RS is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

I installed the Sanden kit from RockAuto a few years ago. It has worked as well as the factory compressor. It seemed a little louder or maybe just a little different noise than the factory compressor, but not enough to be a problem. I donít remember what oil I used. I think the instructions that came with it had the oil info.
Sonoma RS is offline  
post #19 of 29 Old 06-21-2019, 12:46 AM
Been there Done it
 
oldeerslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: SW Wisconsin
Posts: 5,788

User is: oldeerslayer is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

When I replaced the GM split case with a one piece Sanden on my 98 4.3 (well actually 383 - same compressor) I ordered the kit with the oil. Been a couple years and works fine. Did have to get a 1" longer belt because the kit included four 1/8" spacer to shim it up for some reason. IIRC it was the PAG150. The instructions that came with it were pretty clear about the type and amount. Since the kit included an evaporator and condensor there was little doubt the old oil was out, but I did have it vacuumed for about 45 minutes to be sure.
oldeerslayer is offline  
post #20 of 29 Old 06-21-2019, 02:08 AM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,140

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

I just ran across an old email while cleaning out my mailbox. From Sanden 2009....correct oil is SP15.

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #21 of 29 Old 06-21-2019, 08:55 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

there we go with that "mystery" formula that only the engineers at Sanden know....
Amazing you had an email still kicking from 09
dime-dozen is offline  
post #22 of 29 Old 06-21-2019, 09:18 AM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,140

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

lol...I know. I started purging awhile back. Still wouldn't hurt to double check, just incase they've changed specs.

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #23 of 29 Old 06-21-2019, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

That number for RA is not for customers. One of the reasons I dont do much business with them anymore.Online customer service only
dime-dozen is offline  
post #24 of 29 Old 06-22-2019, 10:09 AM
Post Whore
 
chevymec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Age: 39
Posts: 1,166

User is: chevymec is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

We use a lot of Sanden compressors on our trucks. Wish I could show you the stuff that happens to them. These are factory installed on stuff from buses to big trucks. Most end up break the reed valves and pressures drop. Have had a few" how did that even happen " tear downs. Very impressive.

1997 SS---Built and Blown... almost

My build thread... https://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/pr...ecs-ss-513887/
chevymec is offline  
post #25 of 29 Old 06-22-2019, 10:42 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevymec View Post
We use a lot of Sanden compressors on our trucks. Wish I could show you the stuff that happens to them. These are factory installed on stuff from buses to big trucks. Most end up break the reed valves and pressures drop. Have had a few" how did that even happen " tear downs. Very impressive.



well the Harrisons/Delcos dont have a stellar record either so what brand should be used?
dime-dozen is offline  
post #26 of 29 Old 06-22-2019, 11:24 AM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,140

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

I think he was giving Sandens a thumbs up. Nothing lasts forever.

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #27 of 29 Old 06-22-2019, 01:09 PM
Post Whore
 
chevymec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Eastern NC
Age: 39
Posts: 1,166

User is: chevymec is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhotpursuit View Post
I think he was giving Sandens a thumbs up. Nothing lasts forever.
Well not really a thumbs up, but we put back on the vehicle what came with it. We have found too many times that the aftermarket parts don't last in our field. I've used bottem of the barrel brand to dealership ac compressors. If you service the system correctly, which it sounds like dime-dozen plans to do it should be fine. My preference is Delphi on my GM products. Some of our Buses run 10+ hours a day and never shut off. Right now our newest Freightliners have 3 A.C. compressors on them. Thats gonna be fun when they start failing.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

1997 SS---Built and Blown... almost

My build thread... https://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/pr...ecs-ss-513887/
chevymec is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 06-22-2019, 04:14 PM
8/31/1897 - 4/29/2004
 
BravadaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Destin,Florida
Posts: 9,026

User is: BravadaX is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Whatís wrong with the compressor you already have? If itís leaking at the housing that is repairable for $15

Quote:
Originally Posted by mostizzle View Post
I turned mine into an Oldsmobile, bitches love Oldsmobiles.
BravadaX is offline  
post #29 of 29 Old 06-22-2019, 04:25 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: central Fla
Posts: 1,834

User is: dime-dozen is offline
Re: Replacement compressor input needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by BravadaX View Post
Whatís wrong with the compressor you already have? If itís leaking at the housing that is repairable for $15



most have experienced black death


one on Fireturd is a leaking case,its 30 yrs old so may just replace it,even tho its only 60K on it.
we run our a/c about 11 months a year.
dime-dozen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome