Windows 10 - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 08-04-2015, 12:34 AM Thread Starter
Registered Hoosier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,402

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Windows 10

Who's upgraded? Any issues?
I upgraded my windows 8 notebook first with no issues. I upgraded my win 7 notebook tonight. Did not have any sound, but the win 10 diagnostic actually fixed it.

Hoosier Rick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 08-04-2015, 12:38 AM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,039

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Windows 10

Seems to me I heard that there has already been a hack...

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #3 of 27 Old 08-04-2015, 10:25 PM Thread Starter
Registered Hoosier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,402

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Windows 10

The sound wasn't working again tonight. Also, the edge scroll feature was working after the upgrade and now doesn't work. Hopefully Lenovo has a driver update soon.
Hoosier Rick is offline  
 
post #4 of 27 Old 08-08-2015, 03:25 PM Thread Starter
Registered Hoosier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,402

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Windows 10

Got the edge scroll working for now. Several manufacturers that use the elan smart pad are having issues. Sound is defaulting to headphones. have to switch it back every time to make it work.
Hoosier Rick is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 08-08-2015, 04:32 PM
always something new
 
S10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento,Ca.
Age: 66
Posts: 54,513

User is: S10dude is offline
Re: Windows 10

10 on my 7 PC ruined it . I had to reformat and I got a fresh copy of 10 from a friend ( developer ) and reinstalled ....now its fine

All truck pics
http://s93.photobucket.com/user/sdim...?sort=3&page=1.........


Marc .........."01" ExCab 2.2 - 5sp ......On Air......
.......... 2014 Harley Street Glide Special ......on Air
S10dude is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 08-09-2015, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
Registered Hoosier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,402

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Windows 10

I went in and deleted the headphones. The sound now defaults to the speakers as there is no other option. I haven't found any issues with my windows 8 notebook, but I keep it at work and haven't used it very much.
Hoosier Rick is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 08-09-2015, 08:48 PM
always something new
 
S10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento,Ca.
Age: 66
Posts: 54,513

User is: S10dude is offline
Re: Windows 10

probably something with the Real Tech Audio Driver

All truck pics
http://s93.photobucket.com/user/sdim...?sort=3&page=1.........


Marc .........."01" ExCab 2.2 - 5sp ......On Air......
.......... 2014 Harley Street Glide Special ......on Air
S10dude is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 08-09-2015, 08:53 PM
New Member
 
jrd1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: russell springs ky
Age: 56
Posts: 359

User is: jrd1962 is offline
Re: Windows 10

My wife updated her's & hates it so I am leaving mine 7.Just now learned to use it lol.
jrd1962 is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 08-09-2015, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
Registered Hoosier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,402

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Windows 10

Agree on the drivers Marc. Lenovo update says it has the latest drivers. It won't let me reload them manually. I guess I will have to wait until they release new drivers.
I already like windows 10 better than 8, and it will be nice having my work and personal computers on the same os.
Hoosier Rick is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 04:48 PM
poop
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: oh hai! oh.
Posts: 1,843

User is: JCmopar is offline
Re: Windows 10

Updated mine when it came out, zero issues.
JCmopar is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 06:35 PM
Passwordistaco
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky
Age: 30
Posts: 5,877

User is: Back_N_Black is offline
Re: Windows 10

Im on linux bitch i though you gnu

Sorry epic rap battles got this one stuck in my head
Back_N_Black is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 09:17 PM
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 36
Posts: 34,603

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: Windows 10

Only issue is that my tv see's my media server, but when I punch it on the remote it won't display anything. I've learned to do 2 things.
1. Right click on the video(or whatever) and go to "cast to" then select the TV. My TV goes blank and then the video plays.
2. Is what I prefer. I downloaded the Plex Media Server and put all my movies and tv shows onto it. It's pretty easy to use on both the laptop and tv. It also has the synopsis of all the movies.

imo 7 and 10 look and work almost the same. 10 is just a little better looking.


ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 09:20 PM
always something new
 
S10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento,Ca.
Age: 66
Posts: 54,513

User is: S10dude is offline
Re: Windows 10

10 is Ok but I liked 7 better ...............oh wellllllll

All truck pics
http://s93.photobucket.com/user/sdim...?sort=3&page=1.........


Marc .........."01" ExCab 2.2 - 5sp ......On Air......
.......... 2014 Harley Street Glide Special ......on Air
S10dude is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 09:45 PM
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 36
Posts: 34,603

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: Windows 10



ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 10:20 PM
Passwordistaco
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mt. Washington, Ky
Age: 30
Posts: 5,877

User is: Back_N_Black is offline
Re: Windows 10

that ^

did we skip 9 all together?
Back_N_Black is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 10:30 PM
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 36
Posts: 34,603

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: Windows 10

I was wondering the same exact thing.


ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 08-11-2015, 10:50 PM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,039

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Windows 10

They're just trying to keep up with Apple...

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #18 of 27 Old 08-12-2015, 12:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3,023

User is: MEP1 is offline
Re: Windows 10

MEP1 is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 08-12-2015, 12:51 AM
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 36
Posts: 34,603

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: Windows 10

"haha:


ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 08-16-2015, 04:13 PM
Bagged
 
chevy power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canal Fulton Ohio
Age: 30
Posts: 2,209

User is: chevy power is offline
Send a message via AIM to chevy power
Re: Windows 10

Upgraded last weekend, had a few issues playing embedded videos (not from youtube). I had to turn off hardware acceleration in google chrome and now they work fine. No other issues so far.
chevy power is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 08-16-2015, 04:17 PM
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
 
1fast4by's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 36
Posts: 18,045

User is: 1fast4by is offline
Send a message via AIM to 1fast4by
Re: Windows 10

Im going to wait another month...

They issued a security update the other day, and they've already admitted that it will not solve half the issues yet...
1fast4by is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 08-16-2015, 07:32 PM
always something new
 
S10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento,Ca.
Age: 66
Posts: 54,513

User is: S10dude is offline
Re: Windows 10

10 killed the wifes PC too .....wouldn't boot after upgrade....I have a friend that's a Microsoft Developer and he has a flash drive w/10 pro so I did a clean install....problem solved !

All truck pics
http://s93.photobucket.com/user/sdim...?sort=3&page=1.........


Marc .........."01" ExCab 2.2 - 5sp ......On Air......
.......... 2014 Harley Street Glide Special ......on Air
S10dude is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 08-18-2015, 01:03 PM
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 36
Posts: 34,603

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: Windows 10

So I've noticed a couple headaches.
  • Initial startup takes is longer.
  • Sometimes out of no where the computer will start running very slow.
  • uTorrent crashes relitively often whereas before it never crashed.
  • It will drop connection it the internet (not wifi) at any time.

Anyone else experiencing any of this?


ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
post #24 of 27 Old 08-18-2015, 01:12 PM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 20,039

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Windows 10

Nope....oh wait...I have an iMac...lol

U.S.C.G. "Making sure the Navy doesn't get lost since 1790"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #25 of 27 Old 08-18-2015, 07:43 PM Thread Starter
Registered Hoosier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Frankton, Indiana
Age: 61
Posts: 4,402

User is: Hoosier Rick is offline
Re: Windows 10

My wifi connection actually works better than it did on win 7. It would sometimes drop out the wifi when the computer was asleep. The only way to get it to connect was to restart the computer. The connection has only dropped out once on win 10. I just reconnected and went back to surfing.
Hoosier Rick is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 08-19-2015, 07:29 PM
Extended cab or no cab.
 
cpolaris502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minnesota
Age: 30
Posts: 19,979

User is: cpolaris502 is offline
Re: Windows 10

2 weeks on it for me. I like it so far. Weird at first since you have to get used to the change but overall it's cool. The only complaint I have is with the photo importer from my iPhone. It doesn't work at all, it always says, "something went wrong". The cell phone pic thread needs me!
cpolaris502 is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 08-19-2015, 07:32 PM
▂ ▃ ▅ ▆ █ ▆ ▅ ▃ ▂
 
ZQ8 Blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western, Ky
Age: 36
Posts: 34,603

User is: ZQ8 Blazer is offline
Re: Windows 10

I bought a new laptop today and it came with windows 8. I wanted to throw it out the window. I'm downloading 10 now.


ℐustin
ZQ8 Blazer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome