Hobart Welder Parts - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-02-2008, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
your opinion sucks
 
casey53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NW IL
Age: 66
Posts: 2,890

User is: casey53 is offline
Hobart Welder Parts

I have an older Hobart Beta Mig 170. The wire feed speed control is messed up. It runs on full blast only. Was wondering if anyone had on of these welders laying around that no longer works, but would like to sell some parts.
Need the wire feed/voltage control switch. Possibly wire feed motor.

While I realize this is not the wanted classifieds, I sure more welders will be looking in here.

Thanks, casey53.



If people could only say," I'm sorry, I'm not educated on this topic and cannot respond intelligently to it."
casey53 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-02-2008, 10:41 AM
Registered User
 
2.2X-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia
Age: 42
Posts: 2,050

User is: 2.2X-10 is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

take the handle apart..your lil spring thingy is stuck in the trigger..had the same prblem with mine

what else can I do?

Borrowed Ideas project

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapin_low
Rusitn aint got a lot of tools he has a lot of determination

2.2X-10 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-02-2008, 10:44 AM Thread Starter
your opinion sucks
 
casey53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NW IL
Age: 66
Posts: 2,890

User is: casey53 is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2.2X-10 View Post
take the handle apart..your lil spring thingy is stuck in the trigger..had the same prblem with mine

Wire feed shuts off ok, just when the trigger is pulled it runs 100mph.


If people could only say," I'm sorry, I'm not educated on this topic and cannot respond intelligently to it."
casey53 is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 02-02-2008, 10:47 AM
Registered User
 
2.2X-10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia
Age: 42
Posts: 2,050

User is: 2.2X-10 is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

lol..weld faster..tried ebay?

what else can I do?

Borrowed Ideas project

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapin_low
Rusitn aint got a lot of tools he has a lot of determination

2.2X-10 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-10-2008, 04:25 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: in a cave with HDTV and the net
Posts: 127

User is: the fabricator is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

local welder supply shop should be able to order the part. that or contact hobart. part shouldnt cost much.
the fabricator is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-10-2008, 05:27 PM Thread Starter
your opinion sucks
 
casey53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NW IL
Age: 66
Posts: 2,890

User is: casey53 is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

Quote:
Originally Posted by the fabricator View Post
local welder supply shop should be able to order the part. that or contact hobart. part shouldnt cost much.
Trigger is ok. Replaced the potentiometer hoping that was it. it wasn't. looks to be in the control board.


If people could only say," I'm sorry, I'm not educated on this topic and cannot respond intelligently to it."
casey53 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-20-2008, 03:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1

User is: dan_the_welder is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

Hi,

I have one of those and the fix for your problem.

On the main circuit board is a heat sink, there are three transistors on it.

Replace the two with three legs.

I got the parts from digikey, it cost about 15 dollars for 5 each of them in 2004.

I just replaced them again last week because it did it again.

And it works like a charm. Tape the spares inside the machine in the static safe bag they come in and you are good to go again next time it happens.

Good Luck.
dan_the_welder is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-18-2014, 10:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Age: 55
Posts: 1

User is: Ecam is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dan_the_welder View Post
Hi,

I have one of those and the fix for your problem.

On the main circuit board is a heat sink, there are three transistors on it.

Replace the two with three legs.

I got the parts from digikey, it cost about 15 dollars for 5 each of them in 2004.

I just replaced them again last week because it did it again.

And it works like a charm. Tape the spares inside the machine in the static safe bag they come in and you are good to go again next time it happens.

Good Luck.
THANK YOU! Six years after the answer my tried and true Beta Mig developed this problem. Parts are now obsolete..... This was just what I needed to get my welder back in working order. Again thanks.

Eric.
Ecam is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-01-2019, 03:36 PM
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Cape Cod, Ma.
Posts: 7

User is: Gordie is offline
Re: Hobart Welder Parts

Dear Hobart Beta Mig 200 owners:
I bought mine some years back and had problems with the wire feeding having to pull out the jammed up wire and re-feeding it. I was throwing away more wire than I was using while welding. When I decided to take off the entire torch w/cable I discovered the smallest kink in the liner. After calling all over and being told that the torch was only used for a year and a half and it was no longer available I moved on since I also had a 140 NAPA Mig. Except it did weld up, when I first got it, a 40+ ton wood splitter all of scrapyard heavy steel and parts that never has failed or loosened up. Since, I purchased a 200 amp stick welder, plasma cutter and TIG machine all which use consumables I found a vendor who really knows his stuff who asked me to send him a few photos with measurements. Now I have the entire mechanizm apart with an extra torch setup up I had on hand and realized if I moved the argon fitting a bit to the outside I could use pretty much any torch and liner I wanted. Bingo I'm back in business with my Hobart Beta 200. Who Knew!! Thank you for the component info. I'll be sure to be prepared.
Gordie
Gordie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome