Sensor Identification - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-18-2015, 09:26 AM Thread Starter
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5

User is: CWP_MS3 is offline
Sensor Identification

Hi guys. I Just picked up a 1983 S10 Durango 4x4 with the 2.8 as a snow beater. I've been trying to fix it up and getting it running well, and my temperature gauge does not work.

I'm fairly certain that the green 1 wire that goes to the front of the head on the left bank is the sensor, but when I look up the sensor on NAPA or online, its very different from whats in the vehicle currently. If that's not it, then I have no clue what that sender is. lol

I searched on here and it seems like a common issue. One post recommended grounding out the sensor, and said it would spike it to hot, indicating the wire is functional and the sensor is not. So I took a jumper wire and pushed it into that connector, and then grounded it to one of the bolts that holds the radiator shroud in place. The gauge did not move when I put the ignition in the ON position.

Perhaps this is a faulty wire issue, or perhaps I've got the wrong sensor altogether. Any advice?

CWP_MS3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-18-2015, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5

User is: CWP_MS3 is offline
Re: Sensor Identification

I should state that the sensor appears to look similar to this:


What I keep seeing is either this:


or

CWP_MS3 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-18-2015, 10:54 AM Thread Starter
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5

User is: CWP_MS3 is offline
Re: Sensor Identification

My conclusion:

I called down to my Chevy dealer and got the part numbers for the 2 sensors that we have on this vehicle for this year and motor. 1 is a 10045847, and I believe that is the replacement version for the one by the thermostat. The one with the single green wire comes back as 25036373, and when I do the interchange on NAPA prolink, it comes back as a single pin, like the black one in the picture above. So I'm guessing that the wire will slide over that pin, or maybe it needs to have a new pin head put on the wire, I don't know.

I'm gonna test the wire tonight with a multi meter and make sure its actually supplying power. If so, then I'll replace the sensor with the 1 pin style like the black one above and see what happens.
CWP_MS3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome