2.8 to 4.3 - S-10 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 08-23-2015, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Registered Users

2.8 to 4.3

Forgive me if this is the wrong section, admins move if needed.

Ok I have a 91 s10 with 2.8l 5 speed and was curious what it would take to swap a 4.3 from a 97 s10. I would have the complete truck to work with as a donor. Is it possible without having to buy extra parts or would it be easier to fix up a 3.4 I have with low compression on #5 cylinder?

And before it's said, no need for v8 swap comments as it is a daily driver and don't need to power of a v8. This is all on a Ramen noodle budget lol

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 09-02-2015, 01:59 PM

Re: 2.8 to 4.3

I'm not an expert; but know a little. If you have a complete donor vehicle, (motor, trans, computer, etc.). It would be a headache, but possible. A big mistake I see a lot of people making is; thinking the transmissions are the same. If I were doing it; I would go to a carb. setup. Just my personal opinion.... It would make the computer switch not necessary and is easier and cheaper to tune. Do not however, take the "bigger is better" approach to the carb. If you want good throttle response, a small 4 barrel is the way to go. Also, you will probably need the donor drive shaft to get it to fit.
post #3 of 11 Old 09-04-2015, 08:25 AM
overthinker extraordinar

Quote:
Originally Posted by boostedyotatuner View Post
Forgive me if this is the wrong section, admins move if needed.

Ok I have a 91 s10 with 2.8l 5 speed and was curious what it would take to swap a 4.3 from a 97 s10. I would have the complete truck to work with as a donor. Is it possible without having to buy extra parts or would it be easier to fix up a 3.4 I have with low compression on #5 cylinder?

And before it's said, no need for v8 swap comments as it is a daily driver and don't need to power of a v8. This is all on a Ramen noodle budget lol