1985 2.8 V6 s10 Problems - S-10 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-20-2015, 07:52 PM Thread Starter

1985 2.8 V6 s10 Problems

I have a 85' 2.8 6 Cylinder Automatic S10 I've been working on for over 6 months. I bought the truck and everything ran fine. From time to time it would spit and sputter, but I could rev it up and it would return to normal. It's always had a problem with a cold start, but I've found that normal on these old trucks.

Anyways, decided it was time for a tune up. Bought a new Distributor Cap, Rotor, Plugs, Plug Wires, replaced old cracked Vacuum lines. None of this seemed to fix the problem with the truck and it eventually got worse.

Problem eventually got so bad the truck would stall when accelarating or under load. It would basically die 10-15 times during a 30 minute trip down the road. Figured it was time for some more tuneups so I bought a new distributor, installed it (made sure the #1 piston was at TDC and lined up my rotor with it to stay in time)then, pulled the old Rochester carb off it and replaced it with a (2014 rebuilt) Rochester carb (same model on truck), then replaced Fuel Pump, a few old fuel lines, valve cover gaskets and the ignition coil.

But, here's the problem now, I'm getting plenty of gas at the fuel line at the back of the carb. But, for some reason that's as far as it's getting. I can hit the accelerator on the side of the carb and no gas is making it inside the carb itself. I can hit the accelerator 15 times and maybe 1 of those times I can see gas spray into bowl. It's like the gas is stuck at the filter (it's inside the carb just where the fuel line connects) which i've checked and is in good shape. I bought and replaced the fuel filter to even check to make sure it was in adequate shape.

I can take starting fluid and spray inside the carb and the truck will start and run until it burns up the starting fluid.