1985 Chevorlet S10 V8 Swap - S-10 Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rhotpursuit

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-21-2019, 11:01 PM Thread Starter
Registered Users

1985 Chevorlet S10 V8 Swap

So I'm pretty new here but please bear with me. I'm a high school student with a job that is about to start the process of swapping my truck. (I threw a rod in the 2.8.) We're going to look at an engine very soon. I just have a couple of questions I haven't been able to figure out. So fuel, whats the most popular solution? Keep it stock? Switch to mechanical for the 350 SBC? I'm honestly totally lost, I haven't done a lot of research on fuel in general. Any other thing I should be concerned about? This is my first swap and I am willing to do a lot to get my grandfathers truck running. Any help is appreciated! Cheers

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-22-2019, 01:13 AM

Re: 1985 Chevorlet S10 V8 Swap

My advice would be to get a copy of Mike Knell's book from JTR. It is presently outdated information, but was written back when your era truck and swap were quite common. Most of us old timers read it before doing our first swaps in the late 80's to early 90's. He is a big fan of old Camaro exhaust manifolds and his offset mounts. I prefer AA 2.8 to SBC mounts (a bit pricey) and swap headers designed to go around the steering shaft. Don't have to offset the engine towards the passenger side.
Then read everything on here in the V8 section of the forum. You can also read a lot on V8S10.org. The more you read the more you will understand what you are getting into and the different way each step can be done. With your experience and budget ignore the idea of doing an LS engine. They're both more difficult and pricey. One problem you will have is finding a decent early SBC that puts out reasonable power.