Do it yourself o2 simulator - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Do it yourself o2 simulator

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > Exhaust
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2004, 12:17 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Do it yourself o2 simulator

After a search I found that http://www.rodney.chalker.com/o2_simulator.htm
had a way to make your own o2 simulator. However, that site is down and I was wondering if anyone has those directions or know how to do it using a resistor.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2004, 06:20 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Age: 38
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,850
Location: Franklin, MA
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

I will put it this way if you need new 02 sensors than buy them. Don't try to override them unless you have LS1 Edit and can eliminate them from the computer. If your computer has to read the 02 sensor don't try to make your own. You can't rig it up with a resistor.
Old 08-09-2004, 11:15 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Well i don't need new o2 sensors. I need an o2 simulator because I have a straight pipe in place of my cat. I've read before on the website I linked on how to make one but I can't remember how to and the site is down.
Old 08-10-2004, 09:55 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Age: 38
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,850
Location: Franklin, MA
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Ok I thought you said O2 sensor. The simulator is like $15 from Casper Electronics. Just buy one.
Old 08-10-2004, 12:56 PM   #5
Gaaoooooo
 
MINTSICK's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 13,324
Location: West Lafayette, IN
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by Dan P.
Ok I thought you said O2 sensor. The simulator is like $15 from Casper Electronics. Just buy one.
$50 but still worth it, there are issues with the DIY simulators.
Old 07-28-2008, 05:19 PM   #6
Sprint Car Addict.
 
FCKNLOW's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10,226
Location: Mechanicsburg, Pa
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

link to this site??
Old 07-28-2008, 06:11 PM   #7
Starting from scratch...
 
02_Black_XBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,349
Location: Over By There, IL
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by FCKNLOW
link to this site??
If you're asking about the Casper's, they've long since stopped selling 02 simulators after getting leaned on by the EPA. That other site is long gone too.

btw, I know someone will yell about gravedigging an old thread, but kudos for using the search button.
Old 08-04-2008, 02:11 AM   #8
is a fungineer
 
ka_jd7and1's Avatar

 
Age: 29
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,109
Location: Bakersfield, CA
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Dunno for sure if this will work for an S10, but:

http://www.mkiv.com/techarticles/oxy...sor_simulator/

Assembly diagram and parts list is included.
Old 11-06-2008, 06:57 PM   #9
joining 2.2l boosted club
 
1tuffs10's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,149
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

http://www.afterthoughtsauto.com/o2sim.html
Old 03-25-2009, 01:38 PM   #10
Registered User
 
82SROD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 307
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

I can get the splice in type from PYPES for a mustang, the operate basically the same. Anybody know which wire I gotta hack into?

Yes, I know this is an old thread!
Old 04-01-2009, 03:03 AM   #11
Registered User
 
slows-10's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

It works, and there is no need to cut any wires or anything...very easy as well.
I personally have driven about 300 miles since, no CEL. So anybody who wants to run a test pipe...here is the mod you should do to stop the CEL...don't bother with the electronic ones with only some of them working...and not working all the time. These pics are from it being done STi, but I did it on my S, works just the same.





or


Those are the Spark plug, Anti-Foulers you'll need to do this..just pick them up at any auto parts store

This post has been edited by SLO-S2000 on Aug 21 2004, 11:11 AM
Old 04-01-2009, 03:04 AM   #12
Registered User
 
slows-10's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

i did this on my 03 civic si and i never got a check engine light. also did it on my bros acura.
Old 04-02-2009, 12:20 AM   #13
bowties in my bloodstream
 
FouR_ThreE_Xtreme's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 924
Location: Greenville, SC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

I'm gonna do this sometime after spring break when i get some spare time. The CEL is really gettin on my nerves being on constantly..
Old 04-02-2009, 12:58 AM   #14
Nevada: Hookers & Poker
 
S-10_man66's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,098
Location: Bellevue,NE
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Did the non fouler to my truck about 2 weeks ago and it works perfectly
Old 04-04-2009, 10:58 AM   #15
Tech Mod
 
beandip's Avatar

 
Age: 26
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29,698
Location: South, OK
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Did this to my truck 3 weeks ago also and it works perfect. My high flow cat was throwing the P0420 code every now and then, sometimes it doesn't throw that code for months then out of nowhere it pops up, other times it pops up every few drive cycles. I still have the stock cat and i was about to put that back on there because i got tired of deleting the damn code (kept the obdii reader in my truck lol).

Since i threw the O2 foulers on, bam, no SES light.
Old 04-08-2009, 01:28 AM   #16
its easy mmmkay
 
Justinangove's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 195
Location: Thunder Bay, ON
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

so this acually works? but u cant gut ur cat and do this right?
Old 04-09-2009, 11:47 AM   #17
Registered User
 
lowfarmer's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 148
Location: MD
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Ive had that set up on my acura for over a year. It works great, its an easy 6 dollar fix to the check engine light.
Old 04-11-2009, 04:46 AM   #18
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,385
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

sry to chime in here with question but i too have a test pipe handy and would love to use it. so is all thats being done here is putting 2 non fowlers together and then putting the o2 into them, creating a larger gap between the cap/test pipe and o2?
Old 04-11-2009, 11:12 AM   #19
ELTC
 
Gimp's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,385
Location: CT
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

answered my own question and doing it today..
Old 04-13-2009, 04:46 PM   #20
Tech Mod
 
beandip's Avatar

 
Age: 26
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29,698
Location: South, OK
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

from what i read online you can run a test pipe and it still wont throw the code. as long as the O2 sensor sees the heat then it wont throw the code.


Just to be 100% in a couple of days post it up if your light has or hasn't come on yet.
Old 04-13-2009, 07:16 PM   #21
bowties in my bloodstream
 
FouR_ThreE_Xtreme's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 924
Location: Greenville, SC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Ok i've got the spark plug non foulers, and i'm looking at them and went to look for a 1/2" drill bit today... is there another form of a 1/2" drill bit? the one i found was freakin huge... like about the same size as the circumfrence of the non fouler bottom...
Old 04-14-2009, 11:21 AM   #22
Tech Mod
 
beandip's Avatar

 
Age: 26
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29,698
Location: South, OK
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by FouR_ThreE_Xtreme
Ok i've got the spark plug non foulers, and i'm looking at them and went to look for a 1/2" drill bit today... is there another form of a 1/2" drill bit? the one i found was freakin huge... like about the same size as the circumfrence of the non fouler bottom...

yeah... i got mine drilled out at a friends shop, he put the 1/2 bit on a lathe and it was close to the threads. you can almost see the indentation of the threads after you drill it out, barely any metal left...
Old 04-14-2009, 04:31 PM   #23
bowties in my bloodstream
 
FouR_ThreE_Xtreme's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 924
Location: Greenville, SC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Alright as long as i make sure it's right... my stepdad has a uni-bit we can use, i'll probably do it tomorrow while we already have the truck up to do my calipers.
Old 04-15-2009, 11:32 PM   #24
Registered User
 
chadlogan112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 377
Location: Daytona Beach
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

I attempted to do this tonight, I drilled out the fouler using a 1/2'' drill bit, and my o2 sensor doesn't fit in it. Anyone have an idea?
Old 04-23-2009, 11:44 PM   #25
bowties in my bloodstream
 
FouR_ThreE_Xtreme's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 924
Location: Greenville, SC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

idk but how long does it usually take to bore out the fouler? Maybe i'm doing something wrong? I got the 1/2 drill bit and started to bore it out but after like 10 minutes of drilling in it on and off i had to quit(mostly to not be sweaty when i picked up my girlfriend), but i mean the hole in the middle didn't get any bigger but the actual surface of the fouler where i was drilling did get much thinner so maybe just go at it a little bit more with it? I knew i shoulda bought that damn unibit...
Old 04-23-2009, 11:55 PM   #26
Registered User
 
chadlogan112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 377
Location: Daytona Beach
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

To answer my own question, the stock 02 sensors are larger than .5'', I had to buy aftermarket, and it works flawlessly.

As for drill time, about 5 min. I worked my way up to a 1/2'', make sure the bits are for metal too btw, and not wood. Having a nice vice is key for getting it done quick.
Old 04-24-2009, 12:33 AM   #27
Registered User
 
2002dime's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 320
Location: Joplin, MO
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

I have a straight pipe. I have the non-fowlers on my as well with no light. My budy didn't believe it worked so he did it to his lexus is300....worked as well.
Old 04-29-2009, 02:46 PM   #28
bowties in my bloodstream
 
FouR_ThreE_Xtreme's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 924
Location: Greenville, SC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

man i don't feel like spending any more money buying another bit trying to bore this thing out. I tried with the 1/2" bit and the surface got deeper but the hole didnt get any bigger and i don't think it's making any more progress no matter how much i go at it. So i guess the CEL is just gonna stay off, at least until i can get to a better set of tools
Old 04-30-2009, 12:31 AM   #29
Tech Mod
 
beandip's Avatar

 
Age: 26
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29,698
Location: South, OK
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Take it to a machine shop, they can easily bore it out more.

with mine i had it bored out to the stock o2 sensor size, the aftermarket i had in there went in with alot of room to spare.
Old 04-30-2009, 11:36 PM   #30
bowties in my bloodstream
 
FouR_ThreE_Xtreme's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 924
Location: Greenville, SC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

I think all i need is a unibit but it's 17 bucks at lowes and i really dont wanna buy that shit. My new rollpan should be here soon and when i take it to my dads shop to be painted and put on and have my door panel and window fixed, i'll use his unibit up at his shop to finish the o2 simulator. I asked him to bring it home a few times but the guy never remembers haha
Old 05-01-2009, 12:56 AM   #31
S-series abuser
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 694
Location: Fenton, MO
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Ive been using the non foulers for quite a while now on my 96 2.2l. Havent had any issues.
Old 05-10-2009, 11:53 AM   #32
Registered User
 
truefire04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 453
Location: Riverview Florida
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

wow, i had done this about 2 years ago, posted on here, did get that much responce.....and today i see someone else post about it and get tons of responces......and yes it does work, my check engine light was on do to a hollowed out cat, did the non-fouler trick whent for a drive the check engine light whent off by itself...im not runnin it anymore do to new motor, and no the motor was still running when i pulled it out, just wanted a little more power. and im also obd1 now.

Last edited by truefire04; 05-10-2009 at 11:57 AM.
Old 02-01-2010, 09:38 AM   #33
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 64
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

i did this last thursday but my light is still on. think if i get the code cleared it will keep it off? still contemplating getting the sime from afterthoughts auto
Old 02-02-2010, 06:09 PM   #34
Farmin in Iowa
 
Ruffcorn's Avatar
 
Age: 21
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 56
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Wow here is an old thread
Old 02-04-2010, 12:19 AM   #35
Registered User
 
GrnZ's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Chicago
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Put a high-flow cat on and threw a code after. Just did this today , ive driven the truck for a good hour after clearing the code and no code yet ! I will post in a couple days to confirm . This is an awesome trick
Old 02-05-2010, 12:07 AM   #36
that guy
 
LBD44's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 167
Location: La Grange KY
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

ok which one did yall use the 42002 or the 42009 ?
Old 02-05-2010, 10:28 PM   #37
Tech Mod
 
beandip's Avatar

 
Age: 26
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29,698
Location: South, OK
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

42002 i believe. the packaging looks familiar.

oh and its still working for me
Old 02-09-2010, 02:37 PM   #38
terrible. take a lap.
 
joyride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,025
Location: Tacoma, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

what exactly is this used for? having a bad 02 sensor? or not having a cat? or having a straight pipe through the cat?
Old 02-10-2010, 12:12 AM   #39
Dig Or Die=I Die
 
12sws27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,006
Location: Miami,FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by bnop9001
i did this last thursday but my light is still on. think if i get the code cleared it will keep it off? still contemplating getting the sime from afterthoughts auto
Go to Auto zone or one one the parts stores that will scan your PCM and tell them to clear it. It won't come back after that.
Old 02-10-2010, 12:36 AM   #40
Dig Or Die=I Die
 
12sws27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,006
Location: Miami,FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by joyride
what exactly is this used for? having a bad 02 sensor? or not having a cat? or having a straight pipe through the cat?
It to get rid of the code p0420 (Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold)

When you remove, gut, weld a straight pipe through the cat or install a high flow cat this code is thrown. It's basically saying that the cat isn't working.


If anyone is having a problem drilling the hole in the non-foulers. You're doing something wrong. I drilled mine out with a 14v cordless De Walt in my kitchen using a ratchet and socket to hold it.

Also! For those that notice after drilling out the tip on the o2 still wont fit because it's a tad bit wide in diameter than 1/2". Mine didn't either. This is what I did. Just take some pliers or channel locks and bent in the little vents/fins on the o2. Then the stock o2 will fit. It's not like it matters if you screw it up. You're basically deleting the thing anyways. You don't have to buy a after market o2. I didn't.




Before^^^^ wont screw on.


^^^^^Drill, drill bit, non foulers and what ever you wanna use to hold it still while you drill it. The non foulers or aluminum and real easy to drill. You only have to drill one deep enough to get the o2 to screw all the way in which is like 1/4-3/8".


^^^^ drill that deeper.


^^^^This is how I held it.


^^^ Drilled deeper and screwed on.



^^^^Doubled up for safe measure. I don't think 2 is needed but WTH? 2 come in a pack anyways...
Old 02-10-2010, 12:42 AM   #41
terrible. take a lap.
 
joyride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,025
Location: Tacoma, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

well then, lol...i got a magnaflow hi flow cat too...i wonder if i should just not bother with the cat and just gut out my stock cat even though the stock exhaust is what, 2.25? and then just bump the muffler size and call it a job..?
Old 02-10-2010, 12:52 AM   #42
forum idiot
 
orangesonoma's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 49,674
Location: Indian Trail, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

yep did the spark plug non fouler thing...not a issue..
Old 02-10-2010, 07:18 PM   #43
Foot buried in it
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Why gut the cat instead of just deleting it all together?
Old 02-10-2010, 07:20 PM   #44
forum idiot
 
orangesonoma's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 49,674
Location: Indian Trail, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by TFisher
Why gut the cat instead of just deleting it all together?
for state inspection .. it has to "look" like there is one
Old 02-10-2010, 07:58 PM   #45
Foot buried in it
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by orangesonoma
for state inspection .. it has to "look" like there is one
Oh. I see! But is a gutted cat as free-flowing as a length of pipe?
Old 02-10-2010, 09:32 PM   #46
Dig Or Die=I Die
 
12sws27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,006
Location: Miami,FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by TFisher
Oh. I see! But is a gutted cat as free-flowing as a length of pipe?
No it's not. If more flow is the reason for removing the cat, and a visual inspections needs to be past. Then there are fake cats out there for around $30 IIRC. SiliconeIntakes.com is one place I know of that sells them.
Old 02-10-2010, 10:43 PM   #47
Foot buried in it
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 65
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

You guys are awesome.
Old 02-10-2010, 11:21 PM   #48
terrible. take a lap.
 
joyride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,025
Location: Tacoma, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

Quote: Originally Posted by 12sws27
No it's not. If more flow is the reason for removing the cat, and a visual inspections needs to be past. Then there are fake cats out there for around $30 IIRC. SiliconeIntakes.com is one place I know of that sells them.
http://www.siliconeintakes.com/produ...b63bfe55b94e76

**** yeahhhh!!! im buying one of these,and ill just give my mom my magnaflow hi flow cat since she needs a new cat anyways...

ill call these guys tomorrow and see what they can do about an 02 sensor bung

12sws27 you're the man! lol
Old 02-12-2010, 12:02 AM   #49
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

So just to be clear.....removing the cat and putting a straight pipe in its place will trip the CEL, but will it hurt\damage anything else? My check engine light has been on forever, and I don't really care about it if that's all that will happen.
Old 02-12-2010, 12:46 AM   #50
forum idiot
 
orangesonoma's Avatar
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 49,674
Location: Indian Trail, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: Do it yourself o2 simulator

yes...but if it is throwing a CEL for a o2 sensor it may run shitty..once i did this fix the truck runs better and has better pick up on the highway..same shitty gas mileage
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.