OMNI or Shopline? - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

OMNI or Shopline?

Go Back   S-10 Forum > General Tech > Exterior / Paint
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2007, 08:35 PM   #1
NOT DONE TO MANY PROBLEMS

User is: OffLine
Question OMNI or Shopline?

Ok i decided i am going to paint my truck the color of my parts truck, Its hip hop red from Hyundai. Its a really bright straight red. This is my first time painting the truck and was thinking of going with shop line. I don't know if they have this color or not i assume they would but haven't called yet. I did get a price on OMNI for a gallon of base and clear with all the hardeners and reducers would be about $260. Now is a gallon too much? I will be painting everything on the truck, jambs inside of doors and fenders . . . I thought about getting DBC but i asked the guy but just for the base no reducer was $535. he also suggested using a clear that was called finishmaster? not sure if that was the name. He said it does a good job and is easy to shoot and is a little cheaper as everything would be $218. I still have to get sealer but that isn't a problem. thanks
Old 07-19-2007, 09:19 PM   #2

Re: OMNI or Shopline?

shopline is new omni so to speak...

how much it will take depends on the mixing ratio 1:1 ratio would yield you two gallons of sprayable with one gallon of base, a 1:2 however would only yield 1/2, if your spraying everything there is a chance you may not have enough, esp if you dont use a sealer primer, plus it takes more for the lower end paint so to speak to cover
Old 07-19-2007, 09:41 PM   #3
Mini Truckin' = Lifestyle

I don't recomend Omni clear but I have used there base plenty of times and I thinks it works great. If you got a gallon you will prolly have some left but better too much then to little.