How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Go Back   S-10 Forum > General Tech > Electrical / Lighting
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2006, 11:02 AM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12,179
Location:
User is: OffLine
How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

There's a new story entry added:

How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair


Quote:
This applies to all 95 and up trucks Tools and Parts required: Parts: GM Hazard switch repair Kit part # 15174447 Tools: Needle Nose Pliers The hazard Switch kit will come with a small tube of dialectric grease. Smear this on the entire thing before installation.
Old 03-27-2006, 03:41 PM   #2
Registered User
 
phillipthe2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 71
Location: Mount Dora, FL
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Wow, that little repair kit just saved me about $140, Thougth I was gonna have to buy a whole new turn signal assembly.
Old 04-04-2006, 09:58 PM   #3
DrC
learn to die...to live
 
DrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Baja
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

yea, thanks for the guide, I went and ordered one...9 bux for the part, 9 bux for S/H...

kickass!
Old 04-05-2006, 10:07 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 181
Location: Weatherford Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

dang it... wish i would've known about that about 2 years ago... took it to the dealership to get it fixed so no telling how much they charged me for that....
Old 04-05-2006, 07:44 PM   #5
It always works out!!!!!
 
98jdstepside's Avatar
 
Age: 46
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Florida 33950
User is: OffLine
Thanks For The Post

Works Like A Charm
Old 04-24-2006, 11:51 AM   #6
Registered User
 
s10racer4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 421
Location: Washington
User is: OffLine
ha ha boy doesnt that look familiar... but mine has a screw in it... and probably messed up other things in the process
Old 04-24-2006, 07:07 PM   #7
Check your ground
 
556mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 30,829
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by s10racer4
ha ha boy doesnt that look familiar... but mine has a screw in it... and probably messed up other things in the process
same here on my 96.
Old 05-31-2006, 11:19 AM   #8
Registered User
 
blackbutterfly's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Hey!! Does anyone know if its a different part for a blazer? I have a 96.
Old 05-31-2006, 11:24 AM   #9
Honest Abe's Fab Shoppe
 
BlackEsDime's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11,738
Location: Orlando, FL
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

i'm pretty sure its the same part for all 2nd gen trucks and blazers
Old 06-08-2006, 03:04 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Eroq's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 50
Location: Hartland, MI
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by inprogress10
same here on my 96.
haha yup did the same thing here. works like a charm!
Old 06-20-2006, 09:44 PM   #11
If it don't lay why play?
 
Nvious Kreationz's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,428
Location: Frederick Md in the shop
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by Eroq
haha yup did the same thing here. works like a charm!
holy shit this is going to save me some money THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 06-21-2006, 09:42 PM   #12
If it don't lay why play?
 
Nvious Kreationz's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,428
Location: Frederick Md in the shop
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

I did it today cost me $11.18 at the local dealer and took 7 min to install
I drove around with packing tape wrapped around my steering column for 2 months holding the switch down because I wasn't paying for a new multi switch!!!!

Last edited by Nvious Kreationz; 06-21-2006 at 09:55 PM.
Old 07-27-2006, 03:15 AM   #13
freak
 
Jesster's Avatar
 
Age: 43
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 69
Location: Maui
User is: OffLine
damn

wish i would have saw this a week ago. the whole turn switch and everything costs about 500.00 and the dealership was more.
Old 07-27-2006, 01:44 PM   #14
freak
 
Jesster's Avatar
 
Age: 43
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 69
Location: Maui
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

anyone know where to get that repair kit from?
Old 07-27-2006, 06:14 PM   #15
carries a gun at work
 
bill 4.3l 5spd's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,984
Location: Bergen NY
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

dealer
Old 03-01-2007, 07:46 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

i was wondering where to get the repair kit because i need one asap
Old 03-02-2007, 02:05 PM   #17
freak
 
Jesster's Avatar
 
Age: 43
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 69
Location: Maui
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

you get the kit from the chevy dealer, they might try to say you have to buy the whole thing but that is not true there is just a kit with the button. the dealer knows it
Old 03-02-2007, 02:15 PM   #18
If it don't lay why play?
 
Nvious Kreationz's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,428
Location: Frederick Md in the shop
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Read the thread you just posted in ALL you need to know including part #
Old 03-02-2007, 06:43 PM   #19
freak
 
Jesster's Avatar
 
Age: 43
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 69
Location: Maui
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

GM Hazard switch repair Kit part # 15174447
Old 03-17-2007, 09:16 PM   #20
Registered User
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 490
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Thank you for the write up!

I just bought an S10 and the prev owner included the $100+ turn signal lever with the truck. This write up saved me the time of having to dis-assemble the column. I just took apart the lever, grabbed the hazard switch, and now I can swap in in, in a matter of a few minutes.

I guess if that works then I can sell the rest of the lever to someone with another problem
Old 03-19-2007, 05:16 AM   #21
Outta my mind
 
$nowman's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,289
Location: St. Aug, Florida
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

i broke switch #2 tonight taking off my dash peice, damn no tilt steering wheel!

going to the dealer tomorrow



with the hazards on!
Old 03-23-2007, 08:04 AM   #22
Registered User
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 490
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by $nowman
i broke switch #2 tonight taking off my dash peice, damn no tilt steering wheel!

going to the dealer tomorrow



with the hazards on!


Maybe let the air out of one of your tires
Old 04-03-2007, 02:36 PM   #23
Registered User
 
Age: 43
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Thumbs up Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

I didn't use packing tape. Somehow I was able to jimmy one of those sunglasses screwdrivers into the hole to hold it down. My first day on this forum and already it's saving me money.How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair-broken-hazard.jpg
Old 07-05-2007, 01:20 AM   #24
Barack Obama for Prez
 
ricky96's Avatar
 
Age: 22
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 65
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

hey anyone know if the local napa or advanced auto parts will have this or is it a dealer part?
Old 07-05-2007, 11:26 AM   #25
If it don't lay why play?
 
Nvious Kreationz's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,428
Location: Frederick Md in the shop
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by ricky96
hey anyone know if the local napa or advanced auto parts will have this or is it a dealer part?
Not NAPA thats where I work and couldn't come up with one I tried crossing the GM number
Old 07-14-2007, 02:17 AM   #26
Registered User
 
epiphaknee's Avatar
 
Age: 47
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 152
Location: Medina, WA
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

This is such a GREAT post!!! I have almost fainted each time with the price of the new part and the labor required to fix this little GM curiosity. I can't wait to order and get those needle nose pliers out.

Thanks Again -
Old 07-17-2007, 01:55 AM   #27
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Ok so i have a 1997 s10 extended cap and i couldn't pull the piece out of my console... so i just gorilla glued it! lol this no tilt sucks!
Old 10-02-2007, 04:33 PM   #28
Registered User
 
S10SittnonDUBS's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 342
Location: Cloud 9
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Thats a booger of a repair had the same thing happen to my 95 Dime.
Old 10-04-2007, 10:38 AM   #29
Registered User
 
tigmaned's Avatar
 
Age: 50
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 109
Location: Maryland
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

same repair for a 2001 s-dime too?
Old 10-04-2007, 09:04 PM   #30
Registered User
 
capspauld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 943
Location: Waterdown, Ontario
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Think so Ed. It says it applies to all 95+ so should be good for you
Old 10-05-2007, 11:36 PM   #31
Registered User
 
gump2388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 254
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

haah i fixed mine. mine broke one day and i stuck some jb weld in there and them suckers aint flashed since. i love that stuff.
Old 10-16-2007, 09:41 AM   #32
Registered User
 
Age: 47
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Location:
User is: OffLine
Thumbs up Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by capspauld
Think so Ed. It says it applies to all 95+ so should be good for you
That switch kit worked for me on a 2000 C3500HD chassis cab. The electric trailer brake controller stopped working. It wasn't getting a signal yet brakes and hazards worked. If I pushed on hazard switch sideways, brake controller then worked. We use hazards all day sometimes and brake/turn and hazards all go thru turn signal/hazard switch. When I removed it I could see the bottom contact was jammed and had no spring tension. I did remove the dashbezel. steering wheel and bottom cover. I removed top cover bolts so I could rotate it out of the way so I could insert small screwdriver to remove switch. I did't want to do it blind and possibly damage the turn signal switch. next one will probably do the same way

Thx for info
Old 10-26-2007, 07:06 PM   #33
Registered User
 
Mrpotatohead922's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Location: Ocala, Fl
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

where do you buy it at?
Old 10-26-2007, 09:36 PM   #34
Registered User
 
capspauld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 943
Location: Waterdown, Ontario
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by Mrpotatohead922
where do you buy it at?
Go to a dealer and ask for the repair kit #15174447
Old 10-30-2007, 05:36 PM   #35
Registered User
 
Age: 52
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by inprogress10
same here on my 96.
can i use this on a 2001 blazer
Old 07-14-2008, 03:43 PM   #36
Registered User
 
KILLBOY POWERHEAD's Avatar

 
Age: 43
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 998
Location: Maryland
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

has anyone with a 96 done this succesfully ? looks like 99 and up on gms
parts list ?????
Old 07-14-2008, 03:47 PM   #37
If it don't lay why play?
 
Nvious Kreationz's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,428
Location: Frederick Md in the shop
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by KILLBOY POWERHEAD
has anyone with a 96 done this succesfully ? looks like 99 and up on gms
parts list ?????
i did a 95 and 97
Old 07-14-2008, 05:34 PM   #38
Panda s10 driving mofo.
 
PandaS10's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,592
Location: Birmingham/Anniston Al.
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by KILLBOY POWERHEAD
has anyone with a 96 done this succesfully ? looks like 99 and up on gms
parts list ?????
it shows up as a 98^ piece because its black instead of red. thats when they changed. looks better imo.
Old 07-15-2008, 07:33 AM   #39
Registered User
 
KILLBOY POWERHEAD's Avatar

 
Age: 43
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 998
Location: Maryland
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

yes it does work , although mine was broken off even , i used a pick to push the moving part of the switch down and put the pick into the side of the plastick, on another note , i work at a dealer and we dont list the kit for 95-98 , but shows ya what gm knows
Old 07-16-2008, 11:57 AM   #40
Get in,sit down,hold on
 
BossHoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 157
Location: Southern Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by 97dimedrop
it shows up as a 98^ piece because its black instead of red. thats when they changed. looks better imo.

To all that's interested,here's the kit... I got it for my
96 Sonoma
Attached Thumbnails
How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair-picture-015.jpg  
Old 07-25-2008, 05:39 PM   #41
Registered User
 
MTchevyS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 850
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Are there supposed to be pictures on this thread, because for some reason I can't see any of them if there are. I may send my turn switch assembly back if I can see how to do it clearly on here. Thanks...
Old 07-25-2008, 05:54 PM   #42
Ticket Magnet
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8,239
Location: Spanaway, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by KILLBOY POWERHEAD
has anyone with a 96 done this succesfully ? looks like 99 and up on gms
parts list ?????
I did mine a few weeks ago... I was prepared tho...already had the part...
Old 07-25-2008, 06:00 PM   #43
Check your ground
 
556mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 30,829
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

ive had mine sitting in my room for years havent touched it lol. is it hard to put in?
Old 07-25-2008, 06:03 PM   #44
Ticket Magnet
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8,239
Location: Spanaway, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by lowcherrydime
ive had mine sitting in my room for years havent touched it lol. is it hard to put in?
Nah...but take a close look at the replacement. There is a little tang on one side..you'll need to nudge the original away from that side and get hold of it with some needle nose pliers.
Old 07-25-2008, 06:07 PM   #45
Check your ground
 
556mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 30,829
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

cool thanks.
Old 07-25-2008, 06:28 PM   #46
Registered User
 
MTchevyS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 850
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by Rhotpursuit
I did mine a few weeks ago... I was prepared tho...already had the part...
I wish you had pictures!
Mine is cracked pretty low at the bottom, but I assume this replacement piece will do the trick?
Old 07-25-2008, 08:49 PM   #47
Ticket Magnet
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8,239
Location: Spanaway, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by MTchevyS10
I wish you had pictures!
Mine is cracked pretty low at the bottom, but I assume this replacement piece will do the trick?

It will..there is a sticky around here somewhere I think...it has pics..
Old 07-29-2008, 11:48 PM   #48
Registered User
 
MTchevyS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 850
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Short of chiseling the thing out, I cannot get the broken piece to come out for some reason....
Old 07-30-2008, 12:02 AM   #49
Ticket Magnet
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8,239
Location: Spanaway, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

Quote: Originally Posted by MTchevyS10
Short of chiseling the thing out, I cannot get the broken piece to come out for some reason....
It's the little tang that's holding it up...look at the replacement to see which side it's on. I ended up breaking the side on the old one...just be careful not the break the housing it sits in...
Old 07-30-2008, 01:30 AM   #50
Useless posting member
 
Wrkn prgs's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 10,827
Location: Conover, Oh
User is: OffLine
Re: How to Broken Hazard Switch Repair

just did mine today. I Didn't search, and was gonna replace my whole turn signal switch when I found this thread. Too bad I already had my steering wheel and everything off

But oh well. Guess it's off to the junkyard to find a leather wrapped steering wheel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.