High beam problem - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

High beam problem

Go Back   S-10 Forum > General Tech > Electrical / Lighting
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2004, 10:33 PM   #1
S10 Crazy
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 105
Location: Southern Cali
User is: OffLine
High beam problem

My drivers side high beam is not working. I have checked the bulb, which is fine and there is no fuse that I can find that is blown. I don't know what is wrong or what else to check. Anyone have any suggestions.

Its a 2001 4.3

Thanks
Old 04-17-2004, 10:53 PM   #2
Registered Stepsider!!!!!
 
minilowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
Location: Minneola, FL
User is: OffLine
Re: High beam problem

Did you pull the DRL relay?, if you did one of the high beams won't work I don't remember which one, I haven't used my high beams since I installed the H.I.D.'s
Old 04-17-2004, 10:58 PM   #3
S10 Crazy
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 105
Location: Southern Cali
User is: OffLine
Re: High beam problem

the DRL Relay is inside the fuse box in the engine compartment, correct? If so my headlight stopped working before I pulled it.
Old 04-18-2004, 06:49 AM   #4
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,965
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
User is: OffLine
Re: High beam problem

Quote: Originally Posted by afboomers
the DRL Relay is inside the fuse box in the engine compartment, correct? If so my headlight stopped working before I pulled it.
Pull the grounds on both sides, clean them up with sand paper, do the same with where they attach to, if that doesn't work, have the bulbs tested...Though I suspect it's mnore the bulb than ground because your low beams are working..
Old 04-18-2004, 11:38 PM   #5
S10 Crazy
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 105
Location: Southern Cali
User is: OffLine
Re: High beam problem

I will give it a try but I have already switched my high beam bulbs and they both work.
Old 05-06-2004, 11:02 AM   #6
S10 Crazy
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 105
Location: Southern Cali
User is: OffLine
Re: High beam problem

If my problem is with the DRL Relay how do I fix that. Do I just have to buy a new one.
Old 05-06-2004, 12:14 PM   #7
Registered Stepsider!!!!!
 
minilowz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
Location: Minneola, FL
User is: OffLine
Re: High beam problem

Yes or, for testing purposes you can pull one of the other relays in the box to try it out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.