Changed fuel pump, now gas gauge doesn't work??? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-24-2010, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 28
Posts: 3

User is: jboudreaux is offline
Changed fuel pump, now gas gauge doesn't work???

Hello everyone,

I own a 1996 s10 4.3l with 183,000 miles.

Recently the fuel pump went out and my father and I replaced it. Upon replacing it (3 times to find one that wasn't defective) we blew two relays. The relays were replaced, and all connections on the harness were checked with a light tester to make sure they all had juice. After all the connections looked good, everything was put back together to find that the gas gauge doesn't work anymore. It has buried itself to the extreme right (full) position. We are wondering if anyone has any insight as to why this may be.

Wondering if anyone can help with this?

Thanks in advance.

jboudreaux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-25-2010, 06:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 110

User is: bentele is offline
Re: Changed fuel pump, now gas gauge doesn't work???

When the gauge is pinned to the right (over full) there is an open circuit between the gauge and the sender. If it worked before the new pump then either the connection at the new pump is bad or the new sender is bad. The sender is extremely fragile, if the float had gotten cocked it may have bent the contacts on the card. Most likely you will have to pull the tank again and check it.

Ben
bentele is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-25-2010, 10:41 AM
Sold :'(
 
s10xtremist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: State Capitol Raceway, Louisiana
Age: 34
Posts: 7,489

User is: s10xtremist is offline
Garage
Re: Changed fuel pump, now gas gauge doesn't work???

...Or a ground wire is off somewhere.
s10xtremist is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 07-25-2010, 12:22 PM
forum idiot
 
orangesonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indian Trail, NC
Age: 38
Posts: 49,675

User is: orangesonoma is offline
Re: Changed fuel pump, now gas gauge doesn't work???

i say check the float in the tank...remove pump and plug it all up and move the float and see if it changes on the dash


Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote

Brian
orangesonoma is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-25-2010, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 28
Posts: 3

User is: jboudreaux is offline
Re: Changed fuel pump, now gas gauge doesn't work???

Thank y'all for the responses. Pump will be removed this week and checked.
jboudreaux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome