Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma - S-10 Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 04-29-2012, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 32

User is: envyrabid is offline
Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

I've got a 96 Sonoma with power-nothing. I was wondering if you guys have seen kits or something so I can make my windows power windows, and my locks too? Is this a dream or is it in the real of possibilities. I've searched ebay and it's just way too much for my technical ability. I've got a friend (mechanic) that'll install all this crap.. I just need to buy it first :/

envyrabid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 04-29-2012, 10:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Age: 28
Posts: 157

User is: Alan D Moore is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Search for the how to.
Alan D Moore is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 04-29-2012, 10:43 PM
Registered User
 
badmofo529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Flint, MI
Age: 24
Posts: 2,685

User is: badmofo529 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/search.php
badmofo529 is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 05-01-2012, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 32

User is: envyrabid is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Ya I tried that. No luck find it.. was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.
envyrabid is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 05-07-2012, 05:56 PM
Real Men Wear Bow Ties.
 
vinster888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nature Coast of Florida
Age: 44
Posts: 859

User is: vinster888 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Are you wanting a factory style appearance? If not, I used these locks, no switch necessary. They work off of the alarm, key, or the lever inside. These window kits should work as well. Switches are sold separately. Factory ones might work. I have not used these window kits but, I have gotten a lot of stuff from this seller.

'99 S10 LS Extended Cab 4.3L V6
vinster888 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 05-07-2012, 08:54 PM
Better post-em.
 
comics22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Middle of freakin IL
Posts: 10,920

User is: comics22 is offline
Send a message via AIM to comics22
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

^^^ neat sounding kit...

may be interesting as my s10 has no power anything but i did install a viper alarm with lock unlock buttons, they pretty easy to install?
comics22 is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 05-07-2012, 10:25 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 32

User is: envyrabid is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Wow, that looks great, AND affordable. I'm wondering if maybe I should just shave the door handles while I'm at it! Besides... it's getting painted soon anyway. (already working on the bed). Ideas?
envyrabid is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 05-08-2012, 07:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35
Posts: 1,160

User is: aaronajb1981 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Quote:
Originally Posted by comics22 View Post
^^^ neat sounding kit...

may be interesting as my s10 has no power anything but i did install a viper alarm with lock unlock buttons, they pretty easy to install?
depends on who you are asking. to an installer they area breeze. to others it may be a little tricky.

The problem with those aftermarket window kits is they come with little plastic gears that go over the sline shafts on the window cranks. they tend to strip out. eacy to break a tooth on the gear, then your sol and have to get a new kit.

The other way to do it and this is how i did, was to get the regulators and motors out of a dime/blazer and use those.
aaronajb1981 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 05-08-2012, 08:46 AM
Real Men Wear Bow Ties.
 
vinster888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nature Coast of Florida
Age: 44
Posts: 859

User is: vinster888 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Quote:
Originally Posted by comics22 View Post
^^^ neat sounding kit...

may be interesting as my s10 has no power anything but i did install a viper alarm with lock unlock buttons, they pretty easy to install?
I would say yes. The lock kits are pretty much plug and play. I have never used the window kits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronajb1981 View Post
The problem with those aftermarket window kits is they come with little plastic gears that go over the spline<sp> shafts on the window cranks. they tend to strip out. easy<sp> to break a tooth on the gear, then your sol and have to get a new kit.

The other way to do it and this is how i did, was to get the regulators and motors out of a dime/blazer and use those.
A very good suggestion. Factory parts are easier to come by in some areas more than others but, it could be done.

'99 S10 LS Extended Cab 4.3L V6
vinster888 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 05-08-2012, 04:32 PM
Better post-em.
 
comics22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Middle of freakin IL
Posts: 10,920

User is: comics22 is offline
Send a message via AIM to comics22
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

yea id leave windows alone but would like the power locks.
comics22 is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 05-09-2012, 07:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35
Posts: 1,160

User is: aaronajb1981 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

if you do the factory way its really easy on the winows. all you really have to do is pop the rivets, and unscrew the clips that holes the window to the regulator. wiring is no different that an aftermarket kit.
aaronajb1981 is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 05-10-2012, 08:54 PM
I'm "that guy"
 
forty6and2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Middle of Canada
Age: 40
Posts: 100

User is: forty6and2 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

i know its not a 96 but i just did it all to my 99.. got some doors from a wrecker,, added locks windows,, used all the existing wiring ,relay blocks ec... it wasnt too bad to do .. but YES definatly alot easier if you have some wiring experience.
forty6and2 is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 05-11-2012, 12:45 AM
Better post-em.
 
comics22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Middle of freakin IL
Posts: 10,920

User is: comics22 is offline
Send a message via AIM to comics22
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

oh ive got plenty of it, just wondering where i should do this and how long it usually takes.

now ive heard our trucks are kinda "prewired" for power stuff but not all the way out to the doors is that correct or?
comics22 is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 05-11-2012, 02:31 AM
I'm "that guy"
 
forty6and2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Middle of Canada
Age: 40
Posts: 100

User is: forty6and2 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

mine wasnt prewired for anything, other then when i added cruise.. plug n play..

the other stuff i had to weed thru the wires i needed, pulled the whole damn harness out too.. seems to me for mine anyways.. ive got a bundle of maybe 20 wires that run for the windows, locks and mirrors and a relay /circuit breaker box that was under the dash.. but i had to get the whole complete door because i needed the catch too . on the 99 style the locks are built into the catch.. took me about 6 hours to figure the wires out plug it all in , gut the doors and transfer it all over..
forty6and2 is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 05-11-2012, 09:10 PM
Real Men Wear Bow Ties.
 
vinster888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nature Coast of Florida
Age: 44
Posts: 859

User is: vinster888 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Thats why I like the prewired lock systems. Run the wires, loom them up, give power and ground, done. Mount the actuators and you have power locks. You can attach your negative pulse signal for alarm and switch or whatever else.

'99 S10 LS Extended Cab 4.3L V6
vinster888 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 05-12-2012, 02:02 AM
I'm "that guy"
 
forty6and2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Middle of Canada
Age: 40
Posts: 100

User is: forty6and2 is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinster888 View Post
Thats why I like the prewired lock systems. Run the wires, loom them up, give power and ground, done. Mount the actuators and you have power locks. You can attach your negative pulse signal for alarm and switch or whatever else.

fair enough, for me it was personal choice, i wanted factory options
forty6and2 is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 05-17-2012, 10:51 PM
SSRT-S10
 
my_nightmare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,131

User is: my_nightmare is offline
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

As for a factory style wire up...find a late 96-7 blazer or a 95-7 dime with power everything. I got wiring diagrams I did myself on a 95 s10 that shows all of what is what and how to get it 100 percent factory. My only probs where locating all the correct harness that would work..., converting a 4 door harness to a two door.., then wiring it into the 30 amp circuit breaker in the fuse box.

On mine.., the harnesses separate under the door panels near the upper hinges. It then separates again inside the truck up above the steering column where it bolts to firewall brace.

If your interested.., hit me up. I got pics and diagrams.
my_nightmare is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 05-18-2012, 09:15 AM
Electrical Mod
 
deathphoenix99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 26
Posts: 56,120

User is: deathphoenix99 is offline
Send a message via AIM to deathphoenix99
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

I installed factory components, but ran my own wiring for the harness.


2011 Silverado, 4.3 RCLB 61,xxx miles
1994 S10 160,XXX miles. Lifted 4/3
1985 Ramcharger Royal SE Prospector 440/727/NP203 (beach toy)
1982 Dodge W250 360/NP435/NP208 lifted on 36's, mud toy.
Wiring Diagrams and Misc. Repair
deathphoenix99 is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 05-23-2012, 04:10 PM
Got Art?
 
old_skool_noma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Athens, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 8,973

User is: old_skool_noma is offline
Send a message via AIM to old_skool_noma Send a message via MSN to old_skool_noma Send a message via Yahoo to old_skool_noma Send a message via Skype™ to old_skool_noma
Re: Can I install power windows/locks? 96 Sonoma

I did this on mine, I have 3 momentary toggle switches in the dash to opperate everything and it have a constant 12V coming to the switches so I can opperate the windows with or without the key on.

Heres the wiring diagram for the switches, it works the same for the locks too. I used factory window regulators/motors and factory power lock units.
The way this works is depending on which way you push the switch the power reverses and take it up or down so you cant take your power wires in both on the same side.


Brandon
Ω1996 Long Bed Sonoma Ω 98+ Bumper Ω W-VIN 4.3 Ω Floor Shift Ω Power Windows & LocksΩ

Longbed Director Anti-Bag Coalition"Bags are for groceries"

Ω Audio Build Ω Set Yo Gains Right Ω
old_skool_noma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome