Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to! - Page 3 - S-10 Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #101 of 234 Old 11-12-2005, 06:11 PM
Mechanical Mortician
 
toybreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Piti, Guam
Age: 43
Posts: 92

User is: toybreaker is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to toybreaker
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

yes $335

toybreaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 234 Old 01-09-2006, 10:21 PM
Registered User
 
99ExtremeSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 557

User is: 99ExtremeSS is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Got damn i'm glad i found this. You people are the sh*t.
99ExtremeSS is offline  
post #103 of 234 Old 01-11-2006, 03:59 PM
Mechanical Mortician
 
toybreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Piti, Guam
Age: 43
Posts: 92

User is: toybreaker is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to toybreaker
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by toybreaker
Heh My electrical woes went off the deep end. I still have intermittent blinking issues(pulled the directional fuse. Both flashers are new)
It seems i have a bad ground in either my dash harness or blinker switch wiring.
I have replaced the computers(the one under the dash and the one in the kick panel) since they are installed they are used and not returnable. Can anyone tell me where the grounds are for to the dash items?
I have removed cleaned and reattached the harness grounds under the hood.
I still have the a/c heater issue where when it runs all the dash goes dead except the tach when the hvac switch is anywhere but off.
And now it doesn't run at all. Turn the key on and get no fuel pump kick in or spark when cranking.

anyone?
Turns out the Black box attached to the ignition switch was shorted. I accidently gave it a whack when replacing the Multifunction with a known good one brought all the lights in the dash on again. So i have spent and obscene amount of money on stuff that didn't need to be replaced.
toybreaker is offline  
post #104 of 234 Old 01-14-2006, 06:14 AM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

I am so glad I found this just now. I broke mine off and the damn hazzard lights won't shut off. (I had to change the bulb for the high beam indicator, Tired of getting the high beams from other driver's because I forget to turn the damn things off)

I am so glad I'm not the only Dumbass that did this. I ordered the whole thing from the parts store. $245 I'm sure as hell not picking that thing up tomarrow. Off to the Dealer I go.

YOU ARE AWESOME!!!

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #105 of 234 Old 01-14-2006, 01:22 PM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Where did you find it on ebay? Yurns out I need the whole thing

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #106 of 234 Old 01-14-2006, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by firefighter_0029
Where did you find it on ebay? Yurns out I need the whole thing

How come you need the whole thing?

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #107 of 234 Old 01-15-2006, 12:45 AM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

I tried to take a pic to show you guys but I can't get a good angle on it. One of the little copper pieces in the inside of the hole where the hazzard button goes is broke. I don't have brake lights or turn signals?

If someone has one with a broken hazzard button I'll take it. I got the repair kit yesterday. Mine is also black instead of red.

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #108 of 234 Old 01-15-2006, 01:24 AM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Can you check for me if this is the same part # as a Silverado 95-98? GMPartsDirect says it is but the parts store says there 2 differant part #'s.

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #109 of 234 Old 01-18-2006, 02:18 AM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

I found out htey are the same. Escalades, Full Size trucks, and Astro Vans from 95-98 are the same as the S10, Jimmy, Sonoma, And Blazer 95-97.

If anyone needs a Hazzard Switch I have Red and Black. 2 of each. I'll sell them for $10 w/ Shipping.

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #110 of 234 Old 01-18-2006, 02:50 AM
Registered User
 
draggin350sonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lebanon, OH
Age: 37
Posts: 408

User is: draggin350sonoma is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by firefighter_0029
I found out htey are the same. Escalades, Full Size trucks, and Astro Vans from 95-98 are the same as the S10, Jimmy, Sonoma, And Blazer 95-97.

If anyone needs a Hazzard Switch I have Red and Black. 2 of each. I'll sell them for $10 w/ Shipping.

PM sent. Just broke mine 10 minutes ago


I just got my painless wiring harness in a few days ago and had all the signals and lights working and I broke it test fitting my custom dash. Thanks to the forum for saving me some cash!

Last edited by draggin350sonoma; 01-18-2006 at 02:52 AM.
draggin350sonoma is offline  
post #111 of 234 Old 01-21-2006, 08:48 PM
Deviant Kustomz Member
 
K-1HybridVorteX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 2

User is: K-1HybridVorteX is offline
Question Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

does anyone knows exactly how does the hazard switch work? what do I mean is that I broke mine and followed the steps on the forum on how to replace ..which worked great; however it always makes me wonder if the broken switch would have worked if I had super glued the red piece back on top of the switch ? no...if no why not? I looked at the broken switch vs the new switch and they look exactly the same as in where it broke, seems like some super heavy super glue would have done it

k1
K-1HybridVorteX is offline  
post #112 of 234 Old 01-28-2006, 10:46 AM
FloridaTruckScene.com
 
SaltyOnionBalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South Florida
Age: 29
Posts: 5,190

User is: SaltyOnionBalls is offline
Send a message via AIM to SaltyOnionBalls
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Mine is broken, but I dont got no screw driver or anything in it, its fine..

I cant see why the hazard switch would be screwin' up my brake lights..

Im going to replace it this weekend, thanks!

- Eddie (Formerly 96 Dime)
www.FloridaTruckScene.com
SaltyOnionBalls is offline  
post #113 of 234 Old 01-28-2006, 10:55 AM
FloridaTruckScene.com
 
SaltyOnionBalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South Florida
Age: 29
Posts: 5,190

User is: SaltyOnionBalls is offline
Send a message via AIM to SaltyOnionBalls
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Just called the dealer the switch is $24

- Eddie (Formerly 96 Dime)
www.FloridaTruckScene.com
SaltyOnionBalls is offline  
post #114 of 234 Old 01-28-2006, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

The reason the hazard switch and to an overall extention, the multifunction switch can cause brake light issues is because it's all tied into the same circuits. Going with just the hazard switch to start is far better than spending 250 on the multifunction switch... It's at least worth a shot.

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #115 of 234 Old 01-28-2006, 09:30 PM
FloridaTruckScene.com
 
SaltyOnionBalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South Florida
Age: 29
Posts: 5,190

User is: SaltyOnionBalls is offline
Send a message via AIM to SaltyOnionBalls
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Yeah I installed it today with no problem now I have to see if my brake light fails.. if it does its prolly my brake switch, i checked the fuse and the bulb and they are all fine..

anyone know how much a brake switch costs approx.?

- Eddie (Formerly 96 Dime)
www.FloridaTruckScene.com
SaltyOnionBalls is offline  
post #116 of 234 Old 02-02-2006, 03:21 PM
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6

User is: Benush is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Accept my thanks, too! Yesterday trying to reinstall the dash piece I broke the switch and found this fantastic fix! $16+ and a few minutes later, life is good Unlike some other post, the local Chevrolet shop didn't try to "upsell" me anything. They brought out the part and asked if that's what I needed and I was ready to roll.

Thanks again for the great pictures and inexpensive fix.
Benush is offline  
post #117 of 234 Old 02-07-2006, 07:15 PM
carries a gun at work
 
bill 4.3l 5spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bergen NY
Age: 34
Posts: 1,984

User is: bill 4.3l 5spd is offline
Send a message via AIM to bill 4.3l 5spd Send a message via Yahoo to bill 4.3l 5spd
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlith
The reason the hazard switch and to an overall extention, the multifunction switch can cause brake light issues is because it's all tied into the same circuits. Going with just the hazard switch to start is far better than spending 250 on the multifunction switch... It's at least worth a shot.

i had a problem on my wife's 97 blazer with the brake lights, both lower brake lights and the 4 ways didnt work either. but the 3rd brake light worked. i called a dealer w/ this part # and it turns out it was a recall for that problem on certain blazers jimmy's and envoys

hope that helps someone too

98 Reg Cab S10--5/6 drop, Street Scene valance, headers, hard tonnau, welded in Sir Mike's Rollpan, Goodmark Cowl hood, shaved doors/gate, leather blazer buckets.....pretty sure i missed a bunch.
bill 4.3l 5spd is offline  
post #118 of 234 Old 02-08-2006, 06:28 PM
What's in a name?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 311

User is: doc_rage is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Rlith! Thank you so damn much!

I broke the switch removing the bezel. I got as far as pulling the airbag, the column covers, etc and was ready to order a new turn signal assembly online, when I read this. Thanks again!

Just ordered it from gmpartsdirect.....crumbs, didn't realize it would take a week! Blah....guess I better be careful with the braking, etc.

1985 2.8L 4WD 5-spd Extended Cab (aka "Misery"): 48Kvolt Accel Coil, Accel 8mm spark plug wires, Taurus Electric Fan Conversion, 2.5" straight pipe from y-pipe into Flowmaster 40 series, 3" Body lift, Black spray paint paint-job....TOTALLED-March 17, 2004 by a 2000 F-150....but it totalled his too
1995 GMC Jimmy 4.3L (W) 4WD 2dr....(aka "Misery II", b/c Misery loves company)

Last edited by doc_rage; 02-08-2006 at 06:40 PM.
doc_rage is offline  
post #119 of 234 Old 02-26-2006, 05:07 PM
Registered User
 
rudefyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chillicothe/Athens, OH
Age: 31
Posts: 53

User is: rudefyet is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

pics no workie....anyone have this guide saved to their hd?

I NEED HELP!!!

1995 GMC Sonoma SLS - 4.3L 262ci 90ΒΊ V6 - New Venture Gear NV3500
rudefyet is offline  
post #120 of 234 Old 02-26-2006, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudefyet
pics no workie....anyone have this guide saved to their hd?

I NEED HELP!!!
Pics work again, forgot to move the directory over when we installed the new servers

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #121 of 234 Old 02-27-2006, 01:38 PM
Registered User
 
rudefyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chillicothe/Athens, OH
Age: 31
Posts: 53

User is: rudefyet is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

well i tried it, but the turn signal flasher won't shut off still with the new switch in, the hazards turn off fine though...

not sure what the hell to do, i'm really pissed off right now, cause i spent $21 only to end up breaking it again...

1995 GMC Sonoma SLS - 4.3L 262ci 90ΒΊ V6 - New Venture Gear NV3500
rudefyet is offline  
post #122 of 234 Old 03-01-2006, 04:09 PM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

I broke mine again too like a dumbass putting a new radio in yesterday.

Are you sure you have it in the whole way? Because you have to push it in pretty far.

Let me know. I think I still have another used assembly in the garage. I used it for awhile but It doesn't have Cruise. I'll look if you think you need it.

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD

Last edited by firefighter_0029; 03-01-2006 at 04:11 PM.
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #123 of 234 Old 03-01-2006, 04:56 PM
UNBANNED BITCHES!!
 
TnHombre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: fayetteville, TN
Age: 40
Posts: 2,007

User is: TnHombre is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

why/ HOW do you guys break these things?!?? i have remove my dash 20+ times at least and ive never broken mine........
TnHombre is offline  
post #124 of 234 Old 03-02-2006, 12:05 AM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

You have a Stick Don't you? I've taken the one out in my S-10 and it's easy. But with an automatic you have the stick on the column in the way.

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #125 of 234 Old 03-02-2006, 08:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jamestown, Oh
Age: 34
Posts: 46

User is: 3lue_by_u is offline
Send a message via AIM to 3lue_by_u
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Wow am I Glad I found this sticky. I was installing a radio and a friend of mine was helping me and he pulled the dash bezel and broke my switch. I couldnt get my flashers to turn off so I took a screwdriver and jammed the broke piece back in the whole and they finally stopped flashing but now I have no turn signals. I will definitely be ordering this part and hopefully I didnt mess it up too bad when I jammed the screwdriver in there. we will see.
3lue_by_u is offline  
post #126 of 234 Old 03-20-2006, 11:02 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12,179

User is: DevilDriver is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

added to how to section:
http://www.s10forum.com/how_to_broke..._switch_repair
DevilDriver is offline  
post #127 of 234 Old 03-27-2006, 12:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 20

User is: hermangarza is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

will this switch work on a 2000 blazer?

00 blazer 2dr 2wd ls
hermangarza is offline  
post #128 of 234 Old 03-27-2006, 08:12 AM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hermangarza
will this switch work on a 2000 blazer?
Yes, as the how-to clearly states, it's for 95 and up

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #129 of 234 Old 03-27-2006, 12:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 20

User is: hermangarza is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

ill i might as well pick one up.

00 blazer 2dr 2wd ls
hermangarza is offline  
post #130 of 234 Old 04-10-2006, 09:35 PM
Banned
 
pickardracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Two Rivers, WI
Posts: 25

User is: pickardracing is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Wow. Wish I wouldve known about this before i dropped 2 hundo on a new multi-switch just yesterday....

****.
pickardracing is offline  
post #131 of 234 Old 04-10-2006, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
need4speed2345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 34
Posts: 344

User is: need4speed2345 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

did mine and works FINE!

355 Chevy
407HP (flywheel)
431TQ (flywheel)
532HP (on Nitrous)
need4speed2345 is offline  
post #132 of 234 Old 04-15-2006, 11:32 AM
Honest Abe's Fab Shoppe
 
BlackEsDime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 31
Posts: 11,738

User is: BlackEsDime is offline
Send a message via AIM to BlackEsDime Send a message via MSN to BlackEsDime Send a message via Yahoo to BlackEsDime
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

wow, old thread... but EXTREMELY helpfull.

I actually broke it pulling the whole dash out, so i at least have a better excuse
BlackEsDime is offline  
post #133 of 234 Old 04-15-2006, 01:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 20

User is: hermangarza is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

mine works but as a i drive it sounds like if its on but its not just the sound.

00 blazer 2dr 2wd ls
hermangarza is offline  
post #134 of 234 Old 04-16-2006, 10:43 AM
S10 Junkie
 
firefighter_0029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 38
Posts: 198

User is: firefighter_0029 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Are you sure you have it in the whole way?

1998 GMC Sonoma 4X4
1991 Chevy S-10 Sport Iron Duke 5 Speed
1998 GMC Sonoma 4.3 2WD
firefighter_0029 is offline  
post #135 of 234 Old 04-16-2006, 12:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 29
Posts: 20

User is: hermangarza is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

i think so, the lights dont go on just the sound when its off. but if turn it on it work perfectly

00 blazer 2dr 2wd ls
hermangarza is offline  
post #136 of 234 Old 05-17-2006, 05:06 PM
Still 2 High
 
97sdime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Age: 30
Posts: 1,565

User is: 97sdime is offline
Send a message via AIM to 97sdime
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

I posted over 7 months ago that I was going to do this and i'm just now getting around to it... LOL
97sdime is offline  
post #137 of 234 Old 05-17-2006, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 97sdime
I posted over 7 months ago that I was going to do this and i'm just now getting around to it... LOL
Hehehe...

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #138 of 234 Old 05-27-2006, 11:11 PM
Mechanical Mortician
 
toybreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Piti, Guam
Age: 43
Posts: 92

User is: toybreaker is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to toybreaker
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hermangarza
i think so, the lights dont go on just the sound when its off. but if turn it on it work perfectly
I had that issue. My tail lights were blinking. No indication on the dash just the blinking sound.
toybreaker is offline  
post #139 of 234 Old 06-11-2006, 06:39 AM
Registered User
 
rudefyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chillicothe/Athens, OH
Age: 31
Posts: 53

User is: rudefyet is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by toybreaker
I had that issue. My tail lights were blinking. No indication on the dash just the blinking sound.
Same issue here when I replaced mine

Since my last post I just wedged down the new switch I broke w/ a screw

Haven't had a problem since, but then again, my hazards are definitely non-funtional, that and the screw probably damaged the multi-funtion unit, so when I want to fix it the right way, I'll have to spend a lot more cause of me being in a hurry...

1995 GMC Sonoma SLS - 4.3L 262ci 90ΒΊ V6 - New Venture Gear NV3500
rudefyet is offline  
post #140 of 234 Old 06-24-2006, 10:35 AM
Rabid-Viper06
 
Shrike505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Concord,North carolina
Age: 42
Posts: 12

User is: Shrike505 is offline
Send a message via MSN to Shrike505
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

i got a 96 blazer an the dealer looked it up an said thats not a recall for my truck but mine is still broke...the parts dept said they had to seel me the whole turn hazard switch.....Hell no Junk yard time

http://users.adelphia.net/~croane
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7.../Truck3002.jpg
1996 Blazer 4D LT
Mods -MSD Coil Pack & Module-Cold air Intake-Shorty Headers-Fender Flares-SEFI Mod-Dual Exhaust-3" DaynoMax Mufflers
Shrike505 is offline  
post #141 of 234 Old 06-24-2006, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike505
i got a 96 blazer an the dealer looked it up an said thats not a recall for my truck but mine is still broke...the parts dept said they had to seel me the whole turn hazard switch.....Hell no Junk yard time
You don't need the whole switch. Look at the part number that is at the top of the thread on the 1st page. That is all you would need and it's about 15 bux.

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #142 of 234 Old 07-13-2006, 12:58 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16

User is: zerbit13 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

i couldnt get a grip on it with the pliers. any tips
zerbit13 is offline  
post #143 of 234 Old 07-14-2006, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerbit13
i couldnt get a grip on it with the pliers. any tips
Curve the end of the needle nose..

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #144 of 234 Old 07-22-2006, 07:41 PM
Air ride equipped
 
miniblazinbmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft. Worth, TX
Age: 32
Posts: 453

User is: miniblazinbmx is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Broke the switch, ordered the part, got the part, greased and put it in, works like a charm. Thanks a lot guys!
miniblazinbmx is offline  
post #145 of 234 Old 07-23-2006, 01:20 AM
Mine Sweeper!
 
juddspaintballs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Union Bridge, MD
Age: 30
Posts: 6,512

User is: juddspaintballs is offline
Send a message via AIM to juddspaintballs
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

mine has been semi-broken for a year until yesterday. until then I had a twist tie holding the switch down (drilled a tiny hole in the steering column cover) but yesterday the switch finally came all the way off. I went to the close chevy dealer and the dumb parts guy said I had to buy the whole turn signal arm and switch along with it even though I could pull my old switch out. frustrated with the guy i went to the other dealership taking along the part number listed in the beginning of this thread. i got the part for $23.01 after tax, installed it in the parking lot and it works great.

Opinions are like assholes: everyone has one and they all stink.

My Audio Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by juddspaintballs
radio shack didn't have the pot i need and the guy there didn't know shit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Toad
i never bought pot at radio shack
juddspaintballs is offline  
post #146 of 234 Old 07-23-2006, 08:53 AM Thread Starter
Insane Network Engineer
 
rlith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 5,965

User is: rlith is offline
Send a message via AIM to rlith
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

You should have broght the switch over to the other parts guy and shoved it in his face..I would have.

See my ride at
http://www.pghconsulting.net/teal
and www.s10planet.com


Support Sattelite Radio! Goto www.siriusbackstage.com
rlith is offline  
post #147 of 234 Old 07-23-2006, 12:28 PM
Mine Sweeper!
 
juddspaintballs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Union Bridge, MD
Age: 30
Posts: 6,512

User is: juddspaintballs is offline
Send a message via AIM to juddspaintballs
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

I would have too but it was at home in the trash and I drove my parents grand cherokee over. I'll just keep using the other dealership now. I like it better, they have a much bigger parts dept.

Opinions are like assholes: everyone has one and they all stink.

My Audio Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by juddspaintballs
radio shack didn't have the pot i need and the guy there didn't know shit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Toad
i never bought pot at radio shack
juddspaintballs is offline  
post #148 of 234 Old 08-18-2006, 11:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1

User is: rammar1186 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

Where can I purchase this kit?
rammar1186 is offline  
post #149 of 234 Old 08-18-2006, 12:03 PM
Mine Sweeper!
 
juddspaintballs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Union Bridge, MD
Age: 30
Posts: 6,512

User is: juddspaintballs is offline
Send a message via AIM to juddspaintballs
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

any GM parts dealer. Most GM dealerships have a parts counter somewhere

Opinions are like assholes: everyone has one and they all stink.

My Audio Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by juddspaintballs
radio shack didn't have the pot i need and the guy there didn't know shit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Toad
i never bought pot at radio shack
juddspaintballs is offline  
post #150 of 234 Old 08-19-2006, 03:30 AM
Registered User
 
slammed_98s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 257

User is: slammed_98s10 is offline
Re: Broken Hazard Switch Repair How-to!

well ever since iv had my truck the hazard switch has been broke off. didnt really care until today... i found the switch in the dash somewhere and put it in teh whole adn pressed to see wat would happen. well my hazard lights came on. so i did it again adn it seemed to be workin fine... but like the dumb ass i am after reading this before i leave the switch in just settin there while im takein out the dash. well it hits it. i figured it would be fine since it was already broke off. but a itty bitty little screw fell out with it.. when that happened my hazard lights started blinking. i tryed to push in the hazard thingy again. but it didnt work.. so i just took out the hazard light fuse from under neith the hood.... well i thought it worked... but my speedometer does not work.. nor do my turn signals. and when i hit the breaks all my turnsignal lights and and such turn on... wat do i do... i dont like drivein like this.. cause one of my lights is out and its a pediddle every time hit teh break.. help.
slammed_98s10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome