Adding factory keyless entry to your 1st gen S-Series - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Adding factory keyless entry to your 1st gen S-Series

Go Back   S-10 Forum > General Tech > Electrical / Lighting
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2009, 11:54 PM   #1
It's a drag being me
 
AustinBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 213
Location: Austin, Texas
User is: OffLine
Cool Adding factory keyless entry to your 1st gen S-Series

This is an ongoing project in my how-to series on adding factory options my truck that it either didn't come with or never had. This is mostly for guys like Golana and myself. LOL! As well as Syclone owners that want to use stock parts.

Difficulty: 5/10 (10 hardest)

This is a how-to on installing FACTORY keyless entry in your 1st gen S-series that has power locks.

Install at your own risk as this involves a little wiring work.

Hate having aftermarket keyless remotes? Truck never came with factory keyless and you want to keep stock appearances? This is for you! I will install a GM Goodwrench alarm system next.

What you will need:

1. factory keyless remote module with some wiring and connector (located under center console usually) and remote(s). Or you can use the module from many GM cars of the '90s, I know W bodies (Grand Prix, Cutlass, Regal, Lumina) from 1990-1996 use the same module.
2: length of wire. 18 gauge will be fine.
3. phillips screwdriver.
4. largish flat blade screwdriver
5. T15 Torx
6. wire cutters/strippers
7. 7 mm (9/32) socket and ratchet or nut driver
8. spade connector
9. soldering iron and solder
10. Shrinkwrap or electrical tape
11. beer (optional)

Here is a pic of the power lock module for reference, I got mine out of a 1993 Jimmy thanks to the 4WDFactory. (Thanks 4wdjoey!)



First thing to do figure out where to mount the module. I put mine under the passenger seat. Just a couple of small screws to keep it bolted to the floor. I removed the center consoles to run the wiring as well.

Then unbolt the covers underneath the driver's side of the dash.




Locate the power lock relay, it is just above the accelerator pedal.



You will need to remove the driver's door panel and driver's kick panel as well.

Here's the wiring for the RKE module:

Pin A: Orange/Black wire - Hot at all times. I went to the left side of the fuse box with this.
Pin B: Tan wire - Driver's power lock solenoid. I went along the door wiring to the solenoid and tied it to the tan wire.
Pin C: Purple wire - pin 4 of the ALDL connector.
Pin D: Orange/Black wire - Hot at all times. I tied this in with the other O/B wire at pin A.
Pin E: Black wire - ground. I ran this to an existing ground on the steering column, I also ran another wire from this to pin 8 of the ALDL connector.
Pin F: Lt. blue wire - lock switch. I ran this to the lt. blue wire on the power lock relay.
Pin G: black wire - unlock switch. I ran this to the black wire on the power lock relay.

Programming your RKE remotes:

Find the data line connector.

It is located under dashboard on driver's side of vehicle.

The top row of pins reads left to right and are numbered 1 through 8.

Locate pins 4 and 8.

If you have metal contacts in pins 4 and 8 then you have keyless entry.

Connect pin 4 to pin 8 with a jumper wire.

The door locks should lock and unlock to signify entering of programming mode.

Now press and hold both the LOCK and UNLOCK buttons on your remote until the door locks lock and unlock.

Repeat for each transmitter to be programmed.

When finished remove the jumper wire from the data line connector.

Tie the wires up out of the way and replace all panels. And you're done!

I will add to this later when I install the factory alarm system.
Old 07-26-2009, 01:50 AM   #2
It's a drag being me
 
AustinBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 213
Location: Austin, Texas
User is: OffLine
Re: Adding factory keyless entry to your 1st gen S-Series

For ****'s sake...I just learned this won't work on most 2 doors...
Old 08-21-2011, 09:56 AM   #3
Registered User
 
24digger's Avatar
 
Age: 50
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,608
Location: Central Indiana
User is: OffLine
Re: Adding factory keyless entry to your 1st gen S-Series

I know this is old, but trying to get this to work.

Has anyone been successful?

I have picked up a blazer relay, still no luck in getting it to work. I also read that it may be required to change the lock switch. Hoping this is not the case.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.