S-10 Forum banner

97 s10 hid conversion

21K views 60 replies 4 participants last post by  jstn2661 
#1 ·
alright so im new at this whole forum thing but ive got a question. I have a 97 S10 with of course the sealed beam headlights but i want to get HID's. So what entails coverting them. Do i need to buy 4x6 headlights and just buy an HID kit or is there more too it than that.. new harnesses or whtever please let me know

#29 ·
My HID's heat up in a matter of a few seconds.

I don't know what you're askin in the above post.

All you need for HID's are.

4x6 H4 Conversion Housing.
H4 HID (Hi/low setup)

Those two items have everything you need to swap to HID's including the relay harness. However, your stock pigtails for the lights are different from the H4 bulbs. So you will have to splice either a new h4 pigtail on the passenger side or just splice the wires together and be done with it. I spliced my wires, but I'm good with electrical.

#31 ·
Sorry, I'm not trying to confuse you, but the stock housings on our truck have a different pigtail that connects to them. h4 bulbs have a simliar pigtail, but the connectors are different, meaning you can either buy a h4 pigtail from an autoparts store, or just cut the connector off on the passenger side and solder the wires or crimp them together. Btw, with the relay pack, you only need to do this on the passenger side, since it's closest to the battery. The rest of the wiring comes with the HID's. If you need to, I can try to get pics of my mounting and everything another day.

#32 ·
pictureswould help alot and how much would it be for the different pigtails that i need, or the connectors. also the reason why i weanted to buy that heavy duty harness because i wanted to run it staright from the battery and not to the switch since it will draw too much and dim my lights

#33 ·