Propane powered forklift - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
CRMW70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: WPB, Florida
Age: 35
Posts: 423

User is: CRMW70 is offline
Send a message via AIM to CRMW70
Propane powered forklift

So at work we have this propane powered forklift. It is a Yale, with a 4cyl engine. We had the tank refilled and now it is running like shit. Is there such a thing as stale propane? It takes a little longer to start and won't hold an idle. Idles real rough and can smell unburnt propane out of the exhaust.

Anyone know what's up?

1994 (1st gen) Chevrolet Blazer Tahoe LT 2WD 4DR 4.3L "W"
Mostly stock, , K & N drop in w/ hack job, Autometer gauge pod Trans temp / Fuel pressure, Dynomax Cat back, and a Flux capacitor.
CRMW70 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 06:36 PM
Dangerous
 
86MCSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Age: 33
Posts: 5,658

User is: 86MCSS is offline
Re: Propane powered forklift

Vacuum leak on the engine? It could be many things. Propane , heck any forklifts are usually not well taken care of and serviced as often as they should be.
86MCSS is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 06:48 PM
Registered User
 
lilredxtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Corning NY
Age: 34
Posts: 3,131

User is: lilredxtreme is offline
Send a message via AIM to lilredxtreme
Re: Propane powered forklift

sounds like its leaking and not getting as much to the motor as it should......

lilredxtreme is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 06:50 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
CRMW70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: WPB, Florida
Age: 35
Posts: 423

User is: CRMW70 is offline
Send a message via AIM to CRMW70
Re: Propane powered forklift

Yeah I know. It has 13,000 hours on it and who knows what kind of service it gets. Tipping the scales at 7400lbs doesn't make it easy to move around.


I am thinking of a basic tune up, plugs wires, cap, rotor.... But where do you get that stuff?

1994 (1st gen) Chevrolet Blazer Tahoe LT 2WD 4DR 4.3L "W"
Mostly stock, , K & N drop in w/ hack job, Autometer gauge pod Trans temp / Fuel pressure, Dynomax Cat back, and a Flux capacitor.
CRMW70 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 06:52 PM
Mmmm Tire smoke.
 
indigo s10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: southern illinois
Age: 37
Posts: 1,195

User is: indigo s10 is offline
Re: Propane powered forklift

Moisture build up. When I was in high school, I worked at a grocery store that had a propane floor buffer I ran on Saturday night. When I put a new tank on, the carb would freeze up. The compressed LP is so cold it would freeze the H2O vapor in the air and the buffer would die. Try letting a little of the pressure off the tank and see if that helps.

03 ZQ8 W/ 4.3
indigo s10 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 07:08 PM
Yes, those are my feet
 
Web-Foot Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Marion, AR... again...
Age: 42
Posts: 625

User is: Web-Foot Freak is offline
Re: Propane powered forklift

Quote:
Originally Posted by indigo s10
Try letting a little of the pressure off the tank and see if that helps.
bad idea, as soon as you let a little LP out, the remaining liquid in the tank will vaporize keeping it at the same pressure. oh, and LP fumes attract bugs

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRMW70
We had the tank refilled and now it is running like shit. Is there such a thing as stale propane? It takes a little longer to start and won't hold an idle. Idles real rough and can smell unburnt propane out of the exhaust.
2 questions: 1) did the running rough problem happen as soon as you put the refilled tank on there, or did it happen a day or two later? 2) was it running just fine before you put the new tank on?

I probably should have asked that in reverse order, oh well...

To answer your question, there's really not stale LP gas, but there are different grades. Yales come off the same production lines the Hysters I work on do. And the Hysters are supposed to use HD-5 grade fuel. Now with 13K hrs on the dial, I'm sure a tune-up wouldn't hurt. If you can get me a serial number, and a model number I can get you the part #'s you need

Rick

14 Town & Country
10 Town & Country
95 s10 (needs motor)
13 Felt Z100 (w/aerobars)

Last edited by Web-Foot Freak; 05-11-2006 at 07:10 PM.
Web-Foot Freak is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 07:14 PM
Registered User
 
lilredxtreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Corning NY
Age: 34
Posts: 3,131

User is: lilredxtreme is offline
Send a message via AIM to lilredxtreme
Re: Propane powered forklift

Quote:
Originally Posted by Web-Foot Freak
bad idea, as soon as you let a little LP out, the remaining liquid in the tank will vaporize keeping it at the same pressure. oh, and LP fumes attract bugs



2 questions: 1) did the running rough problem happen as soon as you put the refilled tank on there, or did it happen a day or two later? 2) was it running just fine before you put the new tank on?

I probably should have asked that in reverse order, oh well...

To answer your question, there's really not stale LP gas, but there are different grades. Yales come off the same production lines the Hysters I work on do. And the Hysters are supposed to use HD-5 grade fuel. Now with 13K hrs on the dial, I'm sure a tune-up wouldn't hurt. If you can get me a serial number, and a model number I can get you the part #'s you need

Rick
sorry to whore but DAMN!!! WTF happened to your feet?

lilredxtreme is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 07:17 PM
Yes, those are my feet
 
Web-Foot Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Marion, AR... again...
Age: 42
Posts: 625

User is: Web-Foot Freak is offline
Re: Propane powered forklift

birth

14 Town & Country
10 Town & Country
95 s10 (needs motor)
13 Felt Z100 (w/aerobars)
Web-Foot Freak is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 07:30 PM
VVVthat thing is deadVVV
 
NeverEnough188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 30
Posts: 4,182

User is: NeverEnough188 is offline
Re: Propane powered forklift

birth is a bitch aint it? gettin the um,bilical cord wrapped around your neck aint cool either. Zamboni's run on propane too. they are a blast to drive!

-Travis-
03 zq8 xcab 5/5 drop and some other goodies
NeverEnough188 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 07:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NEPA
Age: 62
Posts: 7,334

User is: poconojoe is offline
Re: Propane powered forklift

Try another tank of propane, I've seen them get air in it and it make the fork lift run crappy.
If your tank has a top you can convert to fit your grill, try using it on your grill. If the grill doesn't stay lite, the propane is bad.
poconojoe is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 08:43 PM
I still watch cartoons!
 
zoideraserb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Springfield, Oh
Age: 28
Posts: 996

User is: zoideraserb is offline
Send a message via AIM to zoideraserb Send a message via MSN to zoideraserb Send a message via Yahoo to zoideraserb
Re: Propane powered forklift

yea, we had hyster 30s at my old work... i guess they were in need of a tune up because they would die unless you revved them till they warmed up when you started them lol.. so sad that my brother was the head of maintenace huh?

-Gear

Quote:
A recent study shows that 92% of all teenagers converted to emo/punk etc. Put this in your sig if you're one of the 8% who stayed gangsta as shit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dngrous_dime View Post
Don't be a pussy, use her parent's bed...... If the mom walks in, just say "Hi, you're next!"
zoideraserb is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-11-2006, 09:06 PM
Vandelay Industries
 
cruisinlows10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: virginia
Age: 35
Posts: 5,914

User is: cruisinlows10 is offline
Re: Propane powered forklift

I operate forklifts alot at my job. The #1 thing that comes to my mind in your case is moisture buildup. Does it take forever to start and then when it does you have to hold the gas pedal down to keep it running good? And you asked where you get parts. All of our yale lifts have madza 2.2's in them. Even our old yales had mazda motors. Not sure i the old ones are 2.2's or a different engine but i know its a mazda motor. We just got 4 brand new lifts at work and they are NICE. We still have a couple old yales too. Anyhoo, Our forklifts are serviced by a yale authorized rep. Dougherty Truck Equipment Service or something close to that and there is a lift that needs some adjusting and the rep should be there tomorrow if he is i will ask where they get their parts.
cruisinlows10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome