3800 series 2 engine swap - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

3800 series 2 engine swap

Go Back   S-10 Forum > OT Forums > Off-Topic
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2004, 03:43 PM   #1
2.2 drifter
 
pewter00's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,908
Location: Aberdeen SD
User is: OffLine
3800 series 2 engine swap

has anyone ever hear of anyone doing this, i am trying to find a supercharged 3.8 out of a 98+ buick/pontiac then do the 5 speed out of a firebird or camaro. i think it would be awsome because you could run a small pully around for 12+ lbs of boost and you would still get good gas millage with 250+ hp. i really want to do it and i cant find anyone that has done it yet?
Old 11-20-2004, 03:58 PM   #2
Mine's Longer than yours.
 
DblPrkd's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,828
Location: Ontario
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Haven't heard of anyone doing it, but if u do it. I WANT TO SEE!!!
Old 11-20-2004, 04:12 PM   #3
bitch
 
LaynLo's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,900
Location: Statesville, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

60v6, will not bolt to a t56 with out a custom bellhousing. and FYI those s/c 3.8 are slow.
Old 11-20-2004, 04:15 PM   #4
Project: Sabriel
 
MuddyS10's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,507
Location: WV
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

T56 is the 6 speed, he said 5 speed. that was standard on all f-body non-LS1 cars, itll bolt up like stock, cuz thats how it came.
Old 11-20-2004, 04:16 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Age: 61
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,255
Location: NEPA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Look on some of the Fiero forums, those guys put them in to Fieros all the time. Your idea will work except, the starter is on the wrong side and you have to fabricate motor mounts. The starter issue should be easily curible, by drilling the block on the opposite side or finding a 60 degree bellhousing with the opposite side starter pocket, I think some of the jeeps had them. you might also have to use a S10 trans, since the F-body mounts the shifter about 8" further back and it would end up too far back to shift easily. i'm pretty sure this has been done, if not by a member on this forum, it was by one on another forum.
Old 11-20-2004, 04:32 PM   #6
bitch
 
LaynLo's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 7,900
Location: Statesville, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Quote: Originally Posted by MuddyS10
T56 is the 6 speed, he said 5 speed. that was standard on all f-body non-LS1 cars, itll bolt up like stock, cuz thats how it came.
doh good catch
Old 11-20-2004, 05:59 PM   #7
PJB
Hyundai Owner
 
PJB's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,281
Location: Rotterdam, NY (Albany area)
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Quote: Originally Posted by LaynLo17
60v6, will not bolt to a t56 with out a custom bellhousing. and FYI those s/c 3.8 are slow.
Im pretty sure 3800's are 60* motors. I think theyre 90* motors.
Old 11-20-2004, 06:05 PM   #8
Xtreme Dreams..
 
99xtreme's Avatar
 
Age: 37
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,943
Location: Bensalem, PA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

http://www.gmv6.org/ Here ya go... It isn't supercharged or a series II. but it is a 3800

Last edited by 99xtreme; 11-20-2004 at 06:07 PM.
Old 11-20-2004, 06:10 PM   #9
PJB
Hyundai Owner
 
PJB's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,281
Location: Rotterdam, NY (Albany area)
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Honestly it would just be easier to buy a supercharger for a 4.3.
Old 11-20-2004, 08:17 PM   #10
Never Finished
 
Xtreme03's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,599
Location: Clinton / Knoxville, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Quote: Originally Posted by LaynLo17
60v6, will not bolt to a t56 with out a custom bellhousing. and FYI those s/c 3.8 are slow.
heh...I don't know what you're talking about, but the s/c 3.8s are quick, and would be even faster in a RWD platform mated to a 5-speed due to less power lost through the drivetrain. Plus, the fuel injection system would be alot more conducive for making power.


Sounds like a great idea to me!

Last edited by Xtreme03; 11-20-2004 at 08:18 PM.
Old 11-20-2004, 08:19 PM   #11
Registered User
 
dansellbuddy's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,055
Location: dayton oh
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

i dont know how much power is lost through a transverse motor and tranny setup, but the longer the driveshaft, the more power you lose.
Old 11-20-2004, 08:23 PM   #12
Stepsider
 
Slacker's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,002
Location: Windsor, Ontario
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Quote: Originally Posted by dansellbuddy
i dont know how much power is lost through a transverse motor and tranny setup, but the longer the driveshaft, the more power you lose.
Wha? Why would a longer driveshaft make you loose power? I can see if it's more then once piece, but I can't see it mattering on a 1 piece driveshaft.
Old 11-20-2004, 08:31 PM   #13
Registered User
 
dansellbuddy's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,055
Location: dayton oh
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

erm, maybe it was torque.
i've heard it somewhere. just the more you have to twist, the less power gets there. heard it somewhere, maybe someone else can back up what i've heard. it makes sense if you think about it (least to me it does)
Old 11-20-2004, 08:42 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Eric85's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,316
Location: Illinois
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

hate to burst your bubble but if your going with the supercharger good luck getting an intake on it. The way they are setup the supercharger inlet for the intake points right at your firewall.
Old 11-20-2004, 10:03 PM   #15
Never Finished
 
Xtreme03's Avatar
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,599
Location: Clinton / Knoxville, TN
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Quote: Originally Posted by Eric85
hate to burst your bubble but if your going with the supercharger good luck getting an intake on it. The way they are setup the supercharger inlet for the intake points right at your firewall.
Well...it would look weird, but maybe it could be done

hmm...who needs a firewall anyway! :sawzall:
Old 11-21-2004, 12:16 AM   #16
Registered User
 
Age: 61
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7,255
Location: NEPA
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Quote: Originally Posted by Eric85
hate to burst your bubble but if your going with the supercharger good luck getting an intake on it. The way they are setup the supercharger inlet for the intake points right at your firewall.
They make a 90 degree adapter to take care of this issue. Also from what I've read it's a 90 degree motor, with a 60 degree narrow bellhousing pattern. Too bad it, it didn't have a 90 degree bell pattern, I could see big block swaps in to FWD GM car, using the transaxle.

Check out these thread, they cover a lot of the issue, with swapping these motors.
http://www.l67swap.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=330
Old 11-21-2004, 12:29 AM   #17
2.2 drifter
 
pewter00's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,908
Location: Aberdeen SD
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

i figured i would have to modify the firewall with it, but also i think i will just use my stock tranny and put a build kit in it because you can find a belhousing to fit onto it easly enough and then i wouldnt have to bother with shortning the driveshaft and other b.s. i'll have to look around for the 90 degree piece for it.
Old 11-21-2004, 02:55 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Eric85's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,316
Location: Illinois
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

but why would you go and mess up your firewall JUST for a v6?
Old 11-21-2004, 03:12 PM   #19
Project: Sabriel
 
MuddyS10's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,507
Location: WV
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Turbo Trans Am/Buick Grand National has a V6 I wouldn't mind messing up a firewall to use.
Old 11-21-2004, 09:07 PM   #20
Registered User
 
Eric85's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,316
Location: Illinois
User is: OffLine
Re: 3800 series 2 engine swap

Quote: Originally Posted by MuddyS10
Turbo Trans Am/Buick Grand National has a V6 I wouldn't mind messing up a firewall to use.
but with those you dont have to mess up the firewall.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.