S-10 Forum banner

My first track day experience

5K views 21 replies 12 participants last post by  JustAnSS 
#1 ·
As a lot of you know I've been autocrossing my truck (non-competitively) for the last two years or so. I've always wanted to race on a full road course, but the cost and availability of open track days kinda of put me off. That is until this summer when SCCA started holding what they call 'Track Night in America' at a bunch of tracks including the one nearest to me, PIR. Basically you only pay $150 and get three 20 minutes sessions. You don't need to take any driving classes or have an instructor, just get in your vehicle and drive.

A little background info on my truck, it's '97 S10 SS with ZQ8 suspension. It's got a 2/3 drop, tall ball joints, and Spohn UCAs. The rest of the suspension is basically stock, although I've replaced all the steering components and most of the bushings in the suspension. I have C5 brakes up front and Blazer discs out back. Tires are 200TW Dunlop ZII SS, 245/45-17 all around.

My first session was kind of a bust. Since it was many people's first time ever on a track they were just cruising around it. There was also no passing allowed on this session so I was stuck behind all of them. I could have pitted in and let them get ahead, but I just decided to stick it out and get to learn the driving line.

The second session is where the fun started. I was the third one out, and the two cars in front of me just blasted off. I was able to pick up the pace this time and it was much more enjoyable. It took me no time at all to get comfortable on the track and get in a good 'zone'. I ended up lapping a Miata which is where I started this video.