S-10 Forum banner

Das Red Baron

33K views 271 replies 20 participants last post by  EUNOS96 
#1 ·
Well I made some build threads in the past and every time I've had a project it was doubling as my daily driver. The story doesn't differ much with this new(to me) truck, but I at least have several other reliable modes of transport so that I can give this one the attention it deserves. I'm completely new to the S10/Sonoma crowd as of 7/18/2013 when I purchased this little fixer, but i plan to make a pretty unique and head turning sports truck out of her.

She's a 1998 GMC Sonoma SLS 4.3L Vortec V6 with the NV3500 5-speed, Single cab stepside. It was precisely what I wanted, searched far and wide and the only variable I was willing to negotiate was whether it were a GMC or an S10. I always liked the bigger grill opening on the GMC.

I live in the small beach tourism town of Laguna Beach, California. As you'd imagine these probably aren't the car of choice among the rich and snooty locals out here, unlike myself who owns a house with peeling paint, a garage full of noisy tools, and a corner plot typically surrounded by track cars or obnoxious vehicles alike. We've been marked the black sheep on the block for our motorsports addiction and general lack of f*cks given.

Needless to say, I traveled about 150 miles out to pick this thing up in the middle of meth-city Coachella, CA. It was an interesting ride out there, and the destination was a scene out of Breaking Bad with bagged Cheyennes creeping by, bald mexicans eyeballing us white boys, and the guy selling the thing didn't even speak english. His girlfriend had to do all the translating right down to the haggling. I ended up grabbing it for $2700 which I think is a bit for a fixer, but considering I was about to drop $6200 on an Xtreme and I hated the body kit, I think I can happily invest the extra 3k into making this thing pretty bitchin.