Subs constantly rumble? - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Subs constantly rumble?

Go Back   S-10 Forum > General Tech > Sound and Security
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2011, 01:05 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Location:
User is: OffLine
Subs constantly rumble?

Hi, i have two 15 inch kicker cvrs hooked up to a 3200w power acoustik amp.. and when the volumes down all the way, the subs rumble? and when i turn the volume knob from 0 to 1 or vise versa, the subs hit like a pop sound almost? i changed my ground numerous times to different locations, and still hasnt helped, anyone have any ideas? i dont wanna blow my subs or amp..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2011, 01:50 PM   #2
Mr. SQ
 
bobditts's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,302
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

have you tried different RCAs? are you using a converter?
Old 01-17-2011, 03:32 PM   #3
My mirror hates my sub
 
Speedy2222's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,449
Location: Noblesville,in
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

shitty amp?
Old 01-17-2011, 05:45 PM   #4
Registered User
 
badmofo529's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,685
Location: Flint, MI
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

shitty subs?
Old 01-17-2011, 06:21 PM   #5
No longer a pizza tech.
 
90blueS10's Avatar
 
Age: 22
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12,167
Location: Topeka
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

Feedback.
Old 01-20-2011, 07:18 PM   #6
NOS make light brighter!
 
danssoslow's Avatar
 
Age: 39
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,480
Location: Louisville, KY
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

High noise floor, gains turned way up. Turn your gains down and see if it goes away.
Old 01-20-2011, 09:26 PM   #7
Slowly but eventually
 
98lowerednewproje's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,814
Location: AR
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

I don't know alot about these things, but maybe you have your power wire running right next to your RCA's? I have heard it creates a noise in the subs? I might be wrong about that though.
Old 01-26-2011, 02:46 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 21
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

I used to have a power acoustik amp in my 64 impala. Only way I could listen to it was to keep the gain almost all the way down. Not sure if it was because the amp was junk or if that was how it needed to be set to work with my head unit. Was loud enough to get me a $500 fine for noise polution. Still I think these amps are overrated. The one I had used 4x20amp fuses. There is no way it could make 2000 watts if amps x volts= watts. basically you get what you pay for. I think my amp was hundred something new.
Old 01-31-2011, 08:17 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Age: 21
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

I was having the same thing, my friend said to check all the connections especially the ground he said there is something in the amp that makes it do that for protection or something?
Old 02-04-2011, 11:33 PM   #10
working at 145bpm
 
DaRkCyDe's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,025
Location: Carmi, IL
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

feedback from a connection somewhere, id start with running a different set of rca's outside the vehicle, if that doesnt work, switch with a different amp, and if still does it, then you may want to try to ground your rca's.. you can find info on that at www.realmofexcursion.com if you search, sometimes cd players have faulty points at the rca internals
Old 02-09-2011, 10:40 PM   #11
Registered User
 
CincyTrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 143
Location: Cincinnati, oh
User is: OffLine
Re: Subs constantly rumble?

Rca outputs in cd player going out. Very common in pioneers.

Edit: Guy above me said the same thing, didnt see it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.