Speaker size question - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Speaker size question

Go Back   S-10 Forum > General Tech > Sound and Security
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2008, 11:05 PM   #1

Speaker size question

Hi, well I am new to the forum so to get things started, Hello All

Well the reason i am here is because i recently inherited a 1996 GMC Sonoma from my deceased father. I was wondering if anyone knows the sizes of the speakers in the truck so that i can look for some online.

Also could you recommend some subwoffers and speaker brands or what your setup is and i can base my decision off that. The truck is a 96 gmc sonoma ext cab 2wd 5speed manual. Im only 15 so im new to customizing trucks since this will be my first
Old 10-09-2008, 11:19 PM   #2
GM junkie

User is: OffLine
Re: Speaker size question

Being as your truck is an extended cab you can have a couple speaker configurations. If your truck does not have the third door then your front speakers are going to be the ones in the door which are 6.5", the grilles in the dash shouldn't have anything in them. Your rear speakers are in the pillars next to the back window which are 4x10's. You can put 4x6 speakers in your dash grilles if you want but you will have to run your own wires.

If you do have the third door then your front speakers are in the dash grilles and are 4x6's. The 6.5" door speakers are setup as the rears.
Old 10-10-2008, 11:22 PM   #3

Thanks for the response , mine has no 3rd door, so thanks for the info
Old 10-10-2008, 11:26 PM   #4
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!

6.5s are in the door, however depending on options...you may have 4x6s in the das as well. you have to watch mounting depth in your dash if you have them. Most aftermarket speakers will need a little tweeking to fit on the drivers side...