Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 11-03-2007, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 314

User is: OhhWatALoser is offline
Send a message via AIM to OhhWatALoser
Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

ok friends car, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D powering a 4 ohm dvc 10 inch kicker L7. it was wired for 2 ohms.

it plays fine until he turns it up loud then almost everytime instantly goes into protection mode, but when its low volume, its fine.

tired versious test, disconnecting the sub and rca and just running the amp works fine, running the sub on my amp, works fine, my amp running the sub, works fine.

i have a audiobahn intake amp, 400x2 @ 2ohm (<---and why does it underline that) and a kicker 10 inch L5, wired for 2 ohms.

only thing i can think is when his sub hits, a loose wire of some sort inside the amp is shorting out. cuz his amp powered my sub fine, (just ran a wire from his car to mine, mayb it wasn't shaking the amp enough) and my amp powered his sub just fine, so i think that rules out any problem with his sub.

any ideas, insight, tests, anything?

i was gonna try putting his amp physically in my car and seeing if that will set it off into protection mode. if thats the case, guess ill be opening the amp up.

link to amp specs.... http://www.maxxsonics.net/manuals/hi...500D-2200D.pdf

any help will be appreciated

OhhWatALoser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 11-03-2007, 05:16 PM
My mirror hates my sub
 
Speedy2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clermont,IN
Age: 27
Posts: 9,469

User is: Speedy2222 is offline
Send a message via AIM to Speedy2222 Send a message via MSN to Speedy2222 Send a message via Yahoo to Speedy2222
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

bad ground most likely.. where is it grounded?

-Speedy

97 s10 - Audioque SDC2.5 15 3.5cu 34 hz


Speedy2222 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 11-03-2007, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 314

User is: OhhWatALoser is offline
Send a message via AIM to OhhWatALoser
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy2222 View Post
bad ground most likely.. where is it grounded?

floor board, it worked fine for i don't know how long, ground never changed, ill check it tho.

why would a bad ground throw it into protection rather than just turn it off completly?
OhhWatALoser is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 11-03-2007, 05:19 PM
My mirror hates my sub
 
Speedy2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clermont,IN
Age: 27
Posts: 9,469

User is: Speedy2222 is offline
Send a message via AIM to Speedy2222 Send a message via MSN to Speedy2222 Send a message via Yahoo to Speedy2222
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

because it is protecting the amp..

is it on bare metal??

-Speedy

97 s10 - Audioque SDC2.5 15 3.5cu 34 hz


Speedy2222 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 11-03-2007, 06:28 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 314

User is: OhhWatALoser is offline
Send a message via AIM to OhhWatALoser
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy2222 View Post
because it is protecting the amp..

is it on bare metal??
yes

whats it protecting it from?
OhhWatALoser is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 11-03-2007, 06:33 PM
It's a Blue thing...
 
♠ lυε ♠'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ♠5★3★0♠
Age: 31
Posts: 12,411

User is: ♠ lυε ♠ is offline
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote:
Originally Posted by OhhWatALoser View Post
yes

whats it protecting it from?

From low voltage due to a bad ground.

-Jay

♠♣NEW CALIFORNIA S10 FORUM♣♠
www.WaylayedInc.com
♠|♦ '97 Noma Bagged DD ♣|♦ '98 S-10 4.3l Static 5/5 ♦|♣
WANTED: '55-'57 CHEVY BIG WINDOW PICKUP
♠ lυε ♠ is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 11-03-2007, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 314

User is: OhhWatALoser is offline
Send a message via AIM to OhhWatALoser
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Blue View Post
From low voltage due to a bad ground.
oh no? and this hurts the amp how? im not understanding the theory behind this.

but ill still check the ground, just trying to understand this
OhhWatALoser is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 11-04-2007, 12:23 AM
Mine Sweeper!
 
juddspaintballs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Union Bridge, MD
Age: 30
Posts: 6,512

User is: juddspaintballs is offline
Send a message via AIM to juddspaintballs
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

change his fuses too, don't just visually inspect them. sounds weird but i had a main fuse problem once that it would allow 12v through but as soon as the amp starting drawing a little bit of power from it, it wouldn't allow enough current through and the amp went into protection very quickly. could be that with the amp wired that way it's just trying to draw too much power through a bad fuse that didn't blow.

Opinions are like assholes: everyone has one and they all stink.

My Audio Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by juddspaintballs
radio shack didn't have the pot i need and the guy there didn't know shit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Toad
i never bought pot at radio shack
juddspaintballs is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 11-04-2007, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 314

User is: OhhWatALoser is offline
Send a message via AIM to OhhWatALoser
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote:
Originally Posted by juddspaintballs View Post
change his fuses too, don't just visually inspect them. sounds weird but i had a main fuse problem once that it would allow 12v through but as soon as the amp starting drawing a little bit of power from it, it wouldn't allow enough current through and the amp went into protection very quickly. could be that with the amp wired that way it's just trying to draw too much power through a bad fuse that didn't blow.
strange, if he has any extras, i guess ill try it.
OhhWatALoser is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 11-04-2007, 10:57 AM
Registered User
 
skinnyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MD
Age: 36
Posts: 3,135

User is: skinnyg is offline
Send a message via AIM to skinnyg Send a message via MSN to skinnyg Send a message via Yahoo to skinnyg
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

gain too high and bass boost maxed out

Quote:
Originally Posted by platour22 View Post
How is 4 18s more cone area than 8 12s.
8X12=96
4X18=72
lol
skinnyg is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 11-04-2007, 11:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 236

User is: gmcjimmy96 is offline
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

whats is the size of the box for the speaker the amp is pushing. My friend had a box that was to small, and it kept going into protection mode and burning up the fuse every time he turned it up to loud. We built a new box...and it all worked fine
gmcjimmy96 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 11-04-2007, 09:29 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 314

User is: OhhWatALoser is offline
Send a message via AIM to OhhWatALoser
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

well its the amp thats messed in case anyone was wondering, i can just hit it with my hand and throw it into protect, i opened it up, can't find anything, blew it out, still same shit, guess its just garbage
OhhWatALoser is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 11-05-2007, 07:14 AM
My mirror hates my sub
 
Speedy2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Clermont,IN
Age: 27
Posts: 9,469

User is: Speedy2222 is offline
Send a message via AIM to Speedy2222 Send a message via MSN to Speedy2222 Send a message via Yahoo to Speedy2222
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

i'll take it off your hands.. let me know

-Speedy

97 s10 - Audioque SDC2.5 15 3.5cu 34 hz


Speedy2222 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome