Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Go Back   S-10 Forum > General Tech > Sound and Security
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2007, 05:11 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
User is: OffLine
Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

ok friends car, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D powering a 4 ohm dvc 10 inch kicker L7. it was wired for 2 ohms.

it plays fine until he turns it up loud then almost everytime instantly goes into protection mode, but when its low volume, its fine.

tired versious test, disconnecting the sub and rca and just running the amp works fine, running the sub on my amp, works fine, my amp running the sub, works fine.

i have a audiobahn intake amp, 400x2 @ 2ohm (<---and why does it underline that) and a kicker 10 inch L5, wired for 2 ohms.

only thing i can think is when his sub hits, a loose wire of some sort inside the amp is shorting out. cuz his amp powered my sub fine, (just ran a wire from his car to mine, mayb it wasn't shaking the amp enough) and my amp powered his sub just fine, so i think that rules out any problem with his sub.

any ideas, insight, tests, anything?

i was gonna try putting his amp physically in my car and seeing if that will set it off into protection mode. if thats the case, guess ill be opening the amp up.

link to amp specs.... http://www.maxxsonics.net/manuals/hi...500D-2200D.pdf

any help will be appreciated
Old 11-03-2007, 05:16 PM   #2
My mirror hates my sub
 
Speedy2222's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,447
Location: Noblesville,in
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

bad ground most likely.. where is it grounded?
Old 11-03-2007, 05:18 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote: Originally Posted by Speedy2222
bad ground most likely.. where is it grounded?

floor board, it worked fine for i don't know how long, ground never changed, ill check it tho.

why would a bad ground throw it into protection rather than just turn it off completly?
Old 11-03-2007, 05:19 PM   #4
My mirror hates my sub
 
Speedy2222's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,447
Location: Noblesville,in
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

because it is protecting the amp..

is it on bare metal??
Old 11-03-2007, 06:28 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote: Originally Posted by Speedy2222
because it is protecting the amp..

is it on bare metal??
yes

whats it protecting it from?
Old 11-03-2007, 06:33 PM   #6
It's a Blue thing...
 
♠ ▀lυε ♠'s Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 12,410
Location: ♠5★3★0♠
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote: Originally Posted by OhhWatALoser
yes

whats it protecting it from?

From low voltage due to a bad ground.
Old 11-03-2007, 10:18 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote: Originally Posted by Mr Blue
From low voltage due to a bad ground.
oh no? and this hurts the amp how? im not understanding the theory behind this.

but ill still check the ground, just trying to understand this
Old 11-04-2007, 12:23 AM   #8
Mine Sweeper!
 
juddspaintballs's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,512
Location: Union Bridge, MD
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

change his fuses too, don't just visually inspect them. sounds weird but i had a main fuse problem once that it would allow 12v through but as soon as the amp starting drawing a little bit of power from it, it wouldn't allow enough current through and the amp went into protection very quickly. could be that with the amp wired that way it's just trying to draw too much power through a bad fuse that didn't blow.
Old 11-04-2007, 09:08 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

Quote: Originally Posted by juddspaintballs
change his fuses too, don't just visually inspect them. sounds weird but i had a main fuse problem once that it would allow 12v through but as soon as the amp starting drawing a little bit of power from it, it wouldn't allow enough current through and the amp went into protection very quickly. could be that with the amp wired that way it's just trying to draw too much power through a bad fuse that didn't blow.
strange, if he has any extras, i guess ill try it.
Old 11-04-2007, 10:57 AM   #10
Registered User
 
skinnyg's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,135
Location: MD
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

gain too high and bass boost maxed out
Old 11-04-2007, 11:09 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 236
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

whats is the size of the box for the speaker the amp is pushing. My friend had a box that was to small, and it kept going into protection mode and burning up the fuse every time he turned it up to loud. We built a new box...and it all worked fine
Old 11-04-2007, 09:29 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 314
Location: Detroit Area, Michigan
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

well its the amp thats messed in case anyone was wondering, i can just hit it with my hand and throw it into protect, i opened it up, can't find anything, blew it out, still same shit, guess its just garbage
Old 11-05-2007, 07:14 AM   #13
My mirror hates my sub
 
Speedy2222's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9,447
Location: Noblesville,in
User is: OffLine
Re: Protection mode...this ones got me stumped, Hifonics Brutus BX1000D

i'll take it off your hands.. let me know
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin┬« Copyright ┬ę2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.