How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion - S-10 Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 51 Old 06-19-2008, 10:58 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Delta, BC
Age: 34
Posts: 114

User is: Azzurri is offline
How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

This applies to 98-02 S-Series with the factory 1.5 Din head unit. I'd seen a few pics of this done but never really a thorough step-by-step description of the process, so I thought I'd throw this together for anyone interested. This actually isn't that difficult at all, there's minimal cutting involved, you just gotta have a little patience.


Materials Needed
- '03 and up Dash Bezel
- Metra '99-'03 GM Multi-kit (Any GM double din mounting kit should work though) Side Note: I'm told Schosche makes an S-Series double din kit that should bolt right up, maybe someone can confirm this?
- 5 minute epoxy glue
- A dremel, or your cutting tool of choice

First of all, a comparison shot of the two different bezels, the top one is the guy you're looking for. Snap one up if you see it cause they can be tough to find!



Now, once you've got everything out, you're going to need to do a little trimming. On top, you'll need to take about a quarter inch out of the plastic support piece, and then while I didn't get a great shot of it, you'll need to trim off the piece that supports the factory head unit. This will give you enough clearance to fit your double din unit.



As it turns out, I took off waaay more than I needed to up top, but you get the idea. Now you're gonna have to fab up your own mounting brackets, so grab some masking tape, then take some time popping the new bezel on and off to figure out exactly where you want everything to sit. It'll make it easier to get some measurements that way too.



Now, you're gonna need to modify you're mounting kit a bit, you'll see what needs to be trimmed off when you test fit it. Then you'll need to fab up some ears where the kit will mount to the dash. I just cut up some extra pieces that came with the kit, but I'd reccommend using something a little bigger, as the pieces I used left you VERY little room to work with as you can see. This is also where your epoxy glue (or any high strength adhesive) comes in to play. This part will be holding a fair bit of weight, so don't be afraid to go nuts with it.




And there she is! I wasn't totally loving how little the left side screw was holding, so I popped in a self tapping screw just for extra support. I'll probably go back and re-do that part later.



Before:


And After! It looks a little crooked because I didn't have the bezel totally buttoned up yet, but you get the idea.



Overall, I'm very happy with how this turned out, looks much more factory than a single din unit with a bunch of plastic around it, plus I love my D3!!
Enjoy!


Last edited by Azzurri; 06-19-2008 at 10:59 PM.
Azzurri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 51 Old 06-19-2008, 11:08 PM
The other "BODY" man
 
BobOnAir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Age: 40
Posts: 6,277

User is: BobOnAir is offline
Send a message via AIM to BobOnAir Send a message via MSN to BobOnAir
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

What's a D3?

Looks good btw!

<< Licenced Autobody & Collision guy*>>
S-10 Project
Sonoma Project.

* Money doesn't make me happy. It's the things I buy with money that make me happy *
BobOnAir is offline  
post #3 of 51 Old 06-20-2008, 12:18 AM
NO REGRETS
 
purplepassion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mt. Washington, KY
Age: 28
Posts: 12,381

User is: purplepassion is offline
Send a message via AIM to purplepassion
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

it's a pioneer D3 headunit

*NR* Alvey
2002 Blazer - SFBD on 20s
purplepassion is offline  
post #4 of 51 Old 06-20-2008, 12:19 AM
Panda s10 driving mofo.
 
PandaS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Birmingham/Anniston Al.
Age: 27
Posts: 1,592

User is: PandaS10 is offline
Send a message via AIM to PandaS10 Send a message via Yahoo to PandaS10
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

the unit is a pioneer avic d3

deactivate your door switch here> http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f62/ho...switch-352477/
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnyg View Post
me too, girls are like your shit wangs im like yea, then we secks, and she is like well ok, his car wangs
Quote:
Originally Posted by danssoslow View Post
You are a buff sumbioch, PandaS10! I'll hang your picture in front of my weight bench, as a goal of achievement for myself! Thanks!
Official member of the "Anti-Bags Coalition for a Better America!!!"
PandaS10 is offline  
post #5 of 51 Old 06-21-2008, 12:31 AM
Square Body Owner
 
-Giggles-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: St. louis MO
Posts: 680

User is: -Giggles- is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

i instal theses all the the time at work,we had to cut 1/4" out of an 06 f150 today to get one to fit,there sweet but sometimes the work to get it there isnt work it imo
-Giggles- is offline  
post #6 of 51 Old 06-21-2008, 03:11 AM
Registered User
 
SgtM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3,445

User is: SgtM is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

A friend of mine just got that same head unit installed in an 08 Accord. I want one.
SgtM is offline  
post #7 of 51 Old 06-21-2008, 03:55 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Delta, BC
Age: 34
Posts: 114

User is: Azzurri is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

For the money, they're a wicked deal for the amount of features you get with them. Anything else with GPS seems to almost always be $1k and up
Azzurri is offline  
post #8 of 51 Old 06-22-2008, 07:28 PM
Registered User
 
SlamBlackSdime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Jersey
Age: 28
Posts: 1,161

User is: SlamBlackSdime is offline
Send a message via AIM to SlamBlackSdime
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

got mine in nyc for 600$ with 2 year warranty in my colorado, great hu...nice write up now i can do it in my s10..thanks and good job
SlamBlackSdime is offline  
post #9 of 51 Old 06-22-2008, 07:38 PM
Can I get a hot tub?
 
Big_Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hampton, VA
Age: 27
Posts: 2,676

User is: Big_Bake is offline
Send a message via AIM to Big_Bake
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

nice little how to. i have an 02 with a double din panasonic in it, no mods lol

02 Sonoma. Full SD suspension rollin 20's.
Quote:
Originally Posted by derricklane72 View Post
relocated mine to my extra parts corner of my garage.

Project Standard Issue

Big_Bake is offline  
post #10 of 51 Old 06-22-2008, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Delta, BC
Age: 34
Posts: 114

User is: Azzurri is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Bake View Post
nice little how to. i have an 02 with a double din panasonic in it, no mods lol
I guess they switched halfway through the model year. Some of the '02s have it, some don't.
Azzurri is offline  
post #11 of 51 Old 06-24-2008, 12:11 AM
tuckin' fx4
 
zachmartin83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: western ky
Age: 26
Posts: 3,886

User is: zachmartin83 is offline
Send a message via AIM to zachmartin83
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

cool writeup i put one in mine back at the beginning of the year and i am going to have to redo it. it bounces around too much


98 sonoma
zachmartin83 is offline  
post #12 of 51 Old 06-25-2008, 12:51 AM
Registered User
 
travisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Batavia, NY
Age: 30
Posts: 402

User is: travisn is offline
Send a message via AIM to travisn
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzurri View Post
I guess they switched halfway through the model year. Some of the '02s have it, some don't.
yea i was thinkin the same thing, my 02 has the dd one.

i need a project s10 like i need a hole in the head
travisn is offline  
post #13 of 51 Old 06-27-2008, 07:14 PM
Can I get a hot tub?
 
Big_Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hampton, VA
Age: 27
Posts: 2,676

User is: Big_Bake is offline
Send a message via AIM to Big_Bake
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azzurri View Post
I guess they switched halfway through the model year. Some of the '02s have it, some don't.

yeah i read the mid 02's and 03's had them. i was being sarcastic. i'm really happy my truck is one that came stock with double din. when i got the install kit i told him i needed the double din for 02 and he was like "are you sure" like i didn't know what i was talking about. i was like yeah it came stock with the rds radio. he just gave me this dumbfounded look. came outta the back with the right kit and sold it to me. that prick still won't hire me and i've been applying for about 3 years. he even told me he had openings, then he jsut loses my application. anyways, back on topic. lol

02 Sonoma. Full SD suspension rollin 20's.
Quote:
Originally Posted by derricklane72 View Post
relocated mine to my extra parts corner of my garage.

Project Standard Issue

Big_Bake is offline  
post #14 of 51 Old 07-15-2008, 07:47 PM
97 ext. cab 2.2 ls
 
frgarcia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island
Age: 32
Posts: 15

User is: frgarcia is offline
Send a message via AIM to frgarcia
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

anyone put a double din in a 94-97 dash?
frgarcia is offline  
post #15 of 51 Old 07-16-2008, 11:01 AM
Registered User
 
AwesomeO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Port Allen, Lousiana
Posts: 193

User is: AwesomeO is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by frgarcia View Post
anyone put a double din in a 94-97 dash?
yes. i did i will post some pics
AwesomeO is offline  
post #16 of 51 Old 08-31-2008, 09:52 PM
Registered User
 
folsom25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: evansville, indiana
Age: 33
Posts: 20

User is: folsom25 is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to folsom25
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

has anyone put a double din in a first gen yet
folsom25 is offline  
post #17 of 51 Old 09-11-2008, 10:54 PM
Registered User
 
B.K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North GA
Age: 31
Posts: 317

User is: B.K. is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

So no mods to the A/C controls?
B.K. is offline  
post #18 of 51 Old 11-13-2008, 04:23 PM
Say lowered d
 
loweredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Iowa
Age: 37
Posts: 1,398

User is: loweredd is offline
Send a message via MSN to loweredd
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Bumping this up for a guy that was looking today.


I was told these brackets work fine with no modding needed.

http://cgi.ebay.com/2004-Chevrolet-S...QQcmdZViewItem

79 Chevy Impala LS1/4L60E - Green with Green Interior
85 Caprice LT1/4L60E - Vogtland springs - 18" TT2s
98 4dr 2wd Blazer - Blue/Silver - 5/6 drop
99 Chevy Crew Cab Dually - Bagged - White with ugly blue flames
loweredd is offline  
post #19 of 51 Old 11-17-2008, 12:02 AM
Registered User
 
jwood562's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Age: 35
Posts: 595

User is: jwood562 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by loweredd View Post
Bumping this up for a guy that was looking today.


I was told these brackets work fine with no modding needed.

http://cgi.ebay.com/2004-Chevrolet-S...QQcmdZViewItem

I doubt they would work. they might but I only say this because I have tried 3 different gm double DIN kits, universal and vehicle specific kits. Some were close but the holes never lined up and I just had to drill my own holes. no biggie. it just took a few tries to get the radio completly centered.
jwood562 is offline  
post #20 of 51 Old 02-01-2009, 03:23 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15

User is: stevehelmuth is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

I have a 96 Chevy S10 SS and i was wondering if my Avic D3 would fit....i just bought the truck and picking it up in a couple days and i was wondering if anyone knew if the truck has a 1.5 din or a double din. If it has a 1.5 din then what bezel do i need, and what installation kit do i need to make my avic d3 fit in the truck.
stevehelmuth is offline  
post #21 of 51 Old 02-01-2009, 08:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: attleboro, ma
Age: 38
Posts: 1,083

User is: MARS2878 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by kronicking1 View Post
yes. i did i will post some pics
still waiting for picson the 94-97 double din install
MARS2878 is offline  
post #22 of 51 Old 02-01-2009, 08:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: attleboro, ma
Age: 38
Posts: 1,083

User is: MARS2878 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by folsom25 View Post
has anyone put a double din in a first gen yet

x2
MARS2878 is offline  
post #23 of 51 Old 02-01-2009, 09:02 PM
CDN 2WD 2Gen 4-Door!
 
K Dawg ONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Age: 34
Posts: 2,814

User is: K Dawg ONE is offline
Send a message via MSN to K Dawg ONE
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARS2878 View Post
still waiting for picson the 94-97 double din install
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f27/my...a-96-a-361110/

Kris Creed | Sales & Leasing Manager | Gus Revenberg Chevrolet-Buick-GMC | Windsor, ON | 800-291-1117 x177

[NEW PROJECT] 99 GMC Sierra Reg Cab Stepside 2WD
[*SOLD*] 95 GMC Jimmy 2WD 4 Door
[DAILY] 01 Chevrolet Tahoe LS 4x4
[DEMO] 12 GMC Terrain SLE-2
K Dawg ONE is offline  
post #24 of 51 Old 02-01-2009, 11:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: attleboro, ma
Age: 38
Posts: 1,083

User is: MARS2878 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

thanks
MARS2878 is offline  
post #25 of 51 Old 02-01-2009, 11:55 PM
Useless posting member
 
Wrkn prgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Conover, Oh
Age: 27
Posts: 10,828

User is: Wrkn prgs is offline
Send a message via AIM to Wrkn prgs Send a message via MSN to Wrkn prgs Send a message via Yahoo to Wrkn prgs
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

looks awesome
Wrkn prgs is offline  
post #26 of 51 Old 04-07-2009, 04:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 31
Posts: 1

User is: reckless59 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

what is the part number on the dash bezel
reckless59 is offline  
post #27 of 51 Old 04-07-2009, 10:34 AM
rolling work in progress
 
Mr.woodscrewsNbondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nlr ar
Age: 25
Posts: 2,087

User is: Mr.woodscrewsNbondo is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

kenwood head units are smaller so you dont even have to cut any plastic out of the dash just move the a/c control down like half a inch

and you can use you 1.5 din bezel you just gotta cut the trim between the radio and a/c control

but the rest is the same




this is my 1.5 din bezel

Last edited by Mr.woodscrewsNbondo; 04-07-2009 at 10:38 AM.
Mr.woodscrewsNbondo is offline  
post #28 of 51 Old 05-02-2009, 10:38 PM
Registered User
 
low sonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17

User is: low sonoma is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Just out of curiosity, would I be able to fit a double din in my 03 sonoma? It really does not look like I could. Just wondering.
low sonoma is offline  
post #29 of 51 Old 05-02-2009, 11:25 PM
rolling work in progress
 
Mr.woodscrewsNbondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nlr ar
Age: 25
Posts: 2,087

User is: Mr.woodscrewsNbondo is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

^^^yes your factory radio is a double din
Mr.woodscrewsNbondo is offline  
post #30 of 51 Old 05-02-2009, 11:46 PM
Registered User
 
low sonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17

User is: low sonoma is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin42069 View Post
^^^yes your factory radio is a double din
Thanks. I just wasn't a 100% sure.
low sonoma is offline  
post #31 of 51 Old 05-04-2009, 06:00 PM
Registered User
 
low sonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17

User is: low sonoma is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

If I already have a double din, is it recommended that I buy a METRA kit when trying to install an aftermarket double din unit? Or would I be ok with out one?
low sonoma is offline  
post #32 of 51 Old 09-07-2009, 11:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Age: 30
Posts: 2

User is: xkwizit04 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

I have an '02, but I'm not sure if I have the double din. Is there an easy way to tell? Anybody got the measurements? Thanks
xkwizit04 is offline  
post #33 of 51 Old 09-12-2009, 01:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 1

User is: DPOG_FLACP is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Im Looking into getting a double din but have a 1.5 din set up. i was going to buy a double din bezel online but it shows it only fits 02 and up an i have an 01 would it work in my truck?
DPOG_FLACP is offline  
post #34 of 51 Old 09-12-2009, 11:38 PM
88 S10 Owner
 
tyhodge07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 30
Posts: 317

User is: tyhodge07 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustin42069 View Post
kenwood head units are smaller so you dont even have to cut any plastic out of the dash just move the a/c control down like half a inch

and you can use you 1.5 din bezel you just gotta cut the trim between the radio and a/c control

but the rest is the same




this is my 1.5 din bezel
i like how u did the flash drive.. looks cool
tyhodge07 is offline  
post #35 of 51 Old 12-24-2009, 09:53 PM
Used to Lay body on 26's
 
MCarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Beaufort, SC
Age: 31
Posts: 3,199

User is: MCarmer is offline
Send a message via AIM to MCarmer
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

I know im bringing this back from the grave BUT there is nothing out there that i can find about my current question here on S10Forum or google or anywhere else.

Azzurri, you have a PM, its about the same thing im listing below. I see you havent been online in a while, so im posting this on the thread relating to it, and to your pm box.

I know this sounds weird but how about switching from the RDS style (double din 02+ S10) bezel to one of the NON RDS (1.5 DIN 98-02)???

THE REASON:
My wifes 02 S10 truck was broken into and the thief cracked the dash bezel, we are looking for the exact bezel(02+ DOUBLE DIN RDS STYLE) and cannot find it. BUT we are able to find a TON of these NON RDS 1.5 DIN 98-02 style dash bezels.

DEALERSHIP PRICE IS 369$+
ONLINE NON RDS STYLE PRICE IS ALOT CHEAPER.

We have an aftermarket cd player in her truck now and dont plan on ever going back to the factory radio ever again, or going to a DOUBLE DIN player.

Would i be fine getting one of the NON RDS(98-02 1.5 DIN)dash bezels, and a new dash mounting kit(98-02 S10 Metra) to center it into the receiver hole on that NON RDS bezel?

Thanks very much gents/ladies.
Mike

The Avys gone and Im just drivin a 01 Highlander V6 22's and 2 15's boomin daily!
OLD AVY PICS/MOVIES DRAGGIN:http://s127.photobucket.com/albums/p...r84/?start=all
CLICK FOR THE VIDEO
MCarmer is offline  
post #36 of 51 Old 12-25-2009, 01:41 AM
Used to Lay body on 26's
 
MCarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Beaufort, SC
Age: 31
Posts: 3,199

User is: MCarmer is offline
Send a message via AIM to MCarmer
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

just wanted to say merry christmas to all...

The Avys gone and Im just drivin a 01 Highlander V6 22's and 2 15's boomin daily!
OLD AVY PICS/MOVIES DRAGGIN:http://s127.photobucket.com/albums/p...r84/?start=all
CLICK FOR THE VIDEO
MCarmer is offline  
post #37 of 51 Old 12-28-2009, 11:22 PM
Used to Lay body on 26's
 
MCarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Beaufort, SC
Age: 31
Posts: 3,199

User is: MCarmer is offline
Send a message via AIM to MCarmer
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Anyone?

The Avys gone and Im just drivin a 01 Highlander V6 22's and 2 15's boomin daily!
OLD AVY PICS/MOVIES DRAGGIN:http://s127.photobucket.com/albums/p...r84/?start=all
CLICK FOR THE VIDEO
MCarmer is offline  
post #38 of 51 Old 07-08-2010, 10:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: manitoba
Posts: 6

User is: blazed16 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Saw this thread last summer then couldn't find a metra kit and gave up and used my normal din dash on my 2001 blazer.Well this summer decided i want it to look good and got a double din from dealer.Now i just have to find the metra kit.My question is do i use the plastic frame that goes around the dvd double din and then use the metra kit or do i not use the platic fram for the player ?
let me know thanks alot

Looking for a ram air or cowl hood.
Push/bull bar..
A few off road lights.
Items are for a 01 blazer.
blazed16 is offline  
post #39 of 51 Old 05-19-2011, 05:10 PM
Registered User
 
BATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 360

User is: BATMAN is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

If I buy just the Double DIN dash and take it to a professional stereo install shop would I still need to get the bracket and hardware or should they have some sorta kit that would work?
BATMAN is offline  
post #40 of 51 Old 11-06-2012, 07:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1

User is: hboss2192 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Hi all,

I just purchased a double din dash bezel for my 2002 s-10 ZR2 and i am going to install a Kenwood DNX7190HD. With that said, do i have also have to buy a radio mount to install the radio or can i use whats in the box? does anyone have any recommendation of a good radio mount to use? thanks everyone for there input!
hboss2192 is offline  
post #41 of 51 Old 01-01-2013, 11:32 PM
Registered User
 
svmcgover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Age: 27
Posts: 1,387

User is: svmcgover is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

bumpity bump bump because this was an awesome write up. thanks for helping me out three years later OP

svmcgover is offline  
post #42 of 51 Old 01-28-2013, 09:29 AM
Jimmyfied
 
Drain Bamaged's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N.E. Ohio
Age: 35
Posts: 1,518

User is: Drain Bamaged is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Thank you for this again it me as well
Drain Bamaged is offline  
post #43 of 51 Old 03-12-2013, 06:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 366

User is: mecanicman is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Just wanted to say thanks for info, followed this and just got my own installed and love it.

mecanicman is offline  
post #44 of 51 Old 05-24-2013, 02:47 AM
Registered User
 
TFS355S10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Misery
Posts: 332

User is: TFS355S10 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

svmcgover, mecanicman,
What head unit do you guys have? I want to get a DD unit sometime in the near future and I really want one with a volumn knob, I hate buttons for the volumn... LOL

mecanicman, I can see yours is a Clarion and obviously has GPS capability. Does it have a usb port or sd card port? sd card slot seems to be outdated these days, but I kinda like it better than the usb... LOL

Is everybody still using the Metra '99-'03 GM Multi-kit for this or is there another kit by now?
TFS355S10 is offline  
post #45 of 51 Old 05-24-2013, 07:52 AM
Registered User
 
svmcgover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Age: 27
Posts: 1,387

User is: svmcgover is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

sony 601xav-bt here. only it doesn't have hard keys for the seek/step up buttons. not an issue for me because I have steering wheel controls, but it's annoying without them
svmcgover is offline  
post #46 of 51 Old 05-31-2013, 07:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 366

User is: mecanicman is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Clarion nx501. Has both sd and usb, maps are on sd card so the gps sd must be in for it to work.
mecanicman is offline  
post #47 of 51 Old 09-06-2013, 05:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Age: 25
Posts: 27

User is: Averymon is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

Could someone give me the mesurements of the prior to 2002.5 bezel it looks like I have the 03 , but not sure
Averymon is offline  
post #48 of 51 Old 09-06-2013, 09:21 AM
Jimmyfied
 
Drain Bamaged's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N.E. Ohio
Age: 35
Posts: 1,518

User is: Drain Bamaged is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

ill go out to my shop in a bit

My Build Thread Clicky!

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f30/ge...5/#post8576993


Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro Ten View Post
its worst than you think. no wounder why we all get a bad name.
Drain Bamaged is offline  
post #49 of 51 Old 04-16-2014, 09:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Age: 26
Posts: 23

User is: chevyboy_0 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

I've been working on getting my Double Din setup put in thanks to this great write up. But can some one clarify which GM Multi kit I need? I'm having trouble finding the right one.

2000 S10 - 2.2, Auto, 120,000miles, regular cab, short box, 16x7 American racing wheels. Pioneer AVH-X3500BHS, Polk Audio DB461, DB651, Polk Audio DB840 Kicker CX300.4, Kicker CX300.1 Soon to be pre-runner.
1970 Chevelle - 350/TH350, lowered 2".
1954 Willy's CJ3B - 2.2/3spd, All Original.

Quote:
I usually associate "Hippies" and "Greenies", with California and their attempt to make our cars fart rainbows and bunnies.
chevyboy_0 is offline  
post #50 of 51 Old 04-16-2014, 03:01 PM
Registered User
 
TFS355S10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Misery
Posts: 332

User is: TFS355S10 is offline
Re: How-To: 2nd Gen 1.5 Din to Double Din Head Unit Conversion

I never did find a kit that actually worked for mine. I ended up using the inner trim piece out of one of the kits and then building my own mounts. Just used a couple small pieces of aluminum angle, or steel, I can't remember which now.
TFS355S10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome