np 233 to np 231 t case swap - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Suspension Tech > Liftin' It > 4wd SFA
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2010, 10:00 AM   #1
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
np 233 to np 231 t case swap

i have been reading though all the old build threads and really cant find what i need. i have a 2000 blazer with the 233c t case. I rencently picked up a 231c from a 95 blazer. Both trucks are second gen and both has the same vss sensor. I have read through baggys thread that he couldnt get the tranny to shift in low range. I know he was looking for a pin to ground out but i couldnt find an answer if he ever did. Do i need to do this? Im assuming that having the correct t case would eliminate this. Do you guys have any specifics or how to's?
Old 03-08-2010, 10:05 AM   #2
Registered User
 
96superflow's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,563
Location: Holly Springs, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

^ I think that was for his electric shift one. With the manual shift case you should have no problems shifting it into low range. The most difficult part will probably be finding the console for for the manual shift. That one is cable shifted correct? I think it would be a simple swap in, and just make sure the cable is free of any kinks and what not.
Old 03-08-2010, 10:21 AM   #3
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

i have the console. the problem he has was with the tranny shifting. Like the computer didnt know the truck was in low range.
Old 03-08-2010, 11:06 AM   #4
Spark Plugs Are Overrated
 
DieselS10's Avatar
 
Age: 40
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,814
Location: Chelsea, OK
User is: Online
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

It is kind of a pain, but when mine had a '95 TBI350/4L60E, I used my old 207 for the mechanical speedo and I just drilled and tapped the aluminum adapter/spacer that was between the tranny/transfer and mounted the sensor there then added the 40 tooth ring to the outside of the transfers input gear. Located there it doesn't know or care if it's high or low.

There is probably a simpler solution, but that works if you caan't find one. It's in a friends truck, I can get a pic if you would like.
Old 03-08-2010, 11:29 AM   #5
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

my new transfer case has the vss on it. I do remember reading somewhere that there is a pin that i have to ground out or something. The new transfer case is a second gen case. I have heard its because the tranny is computer controlled and based on speed.
Old 03-08-2010, 03:20 PM   #6
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

GOT IT! I did another search through baggy's thread and pulled the link from txzr2.com. I read how to use the pcm ground wire and use the stock shifter swicth to trip the tranny into the low range shift table.
Old 03-08-2010, 04:35 PM   #7
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

here is the direct link to the thread with the swap.

http://txzr2.com/board/showthread.ph...highlight=swap
Old 03-08-2010, 06:14 PM   #8
Registered User
 
MuddyJimmy's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 111
Location: St Louis, MO
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Where did you find a manual shift 4x4 console? I am SAS a 98 2wd Blazer and am looking into options for the manual 241 case shifter. Right now my plan was to use an factory auto trans floor shifter with a modified cable set up.
Old 03-08-2010, 06:18 PM   #9
Registered User
 
nyteRyda's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 734
Location: Kingston Pa
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Old 03-08-2010, 10:55 PM   #10
Spark Plugs Are Overrated
 
DieselS10's Avatar
 
Age: 40
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,814
Location: Chelsea, OK
User is: Online
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Glad you found it.
Old 03-09-2010, 06:33 AM   #11
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

i found my stuff in a junkyard. out of the 23 s trucks there was one with the floorshift. they ran from 94-97 in the trucks and 95-97 in the blazers.
Old 03-09-2010, 07:51 AM   #12
Registered User
 
96superflow's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3,563
Location: Holly Springs, NC
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

^ we owned one for a short while. Should have kept it, one of those rare things...
Old 03-09-2010, 08:11 AM   #13
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

same here i had a 94 gmc sonoma that had it. now i hate myself for getting rid of that truck.
Old 03-09-2010, 12:13 PM   #14
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Quote: Originally Posted by nyteRyda

i havent even rebuilt the case yet so relax. if you cant tell by my build i like to have every aspect of a swap figured out before i complete it. I will not rush somethign that i do drive on the street. lol
Old 03-09-2010, 12:34 PM   #15
Registered User
 
wrekd's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,296
Location: Sugar Notch, PA
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

I have 1 truck that I know of around here with a manual shift console. I'm not telling anyone though
Old 03-09-2010, 12:48 PM   #16
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

grab it if you can now. they are so hard to come by and easy to swap in. i hcecked out my floorboards and it has all the indentations where i need to drill for bolts and the hole for the shifter cable.
Old 03-09-2010, 01:08 PM   #17
Registered User
 
wrekd's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,296
Location: Sugar Notch, PA
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Yeah I'll probably grab it one of these days before they end up crushing it. If I don't use it I'm sure I won't have any problems selling it. What do I get?? Just the shifter, cable, and console, right??
Old 03-09-2010, 01:21 PM   #18
Registered User
 
BillaksBlazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 971
Location: Parma, ohio
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

yes. the shifter comes in a gate that is bolted to the floor. the trucks had a stand alone counsol because most had a 60/40 split bench. the blazers had a full counsol. i would grab the tcase also if you can. It most likely has the stronger planitary gears and the wide chain. Also make sure you grab the shifter handle. Gm has discontinued these parts so none are avaible at the dealer. Save them from the crusher. I was reading that just the counsol sells for over 200 to the right people.
Old 03-09-2010, 01:44 PM   #19
Registered User
 
wrekd's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,296
Location: Sugar Notch, PA
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

I'm not gonna bother with the t-case. I'll go grab the console and shifter setup though. I'm about 95% sure I'm not gonna use it, but I'll get it and sell it to someone who needs it.
Old 03-10-2010, 01:45 PM   #20
Registered User
 
MuddyJimmy's Avatar
 
Age: 33
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 111
Location: St Louis, MO
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Quote: Originally Posted by wrekd
I'm not gonna bother with the t-case. I'll go grab the console and shifter setup though. I'm about 95% sure I'm not gonna use it, but I'll get it and sell it to someone who needs it.
I would be interested in buying it if you don't use it. Let me know because I am starting my swap soon.
Old 03-12-2011, 04:42 PM   #21
Registered User
 
Age: 39
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Hi Guys, I'm new here; n last year i saved a 99 ZR2 Blazer n restore it interior, heater, a/c n some body work n i installed the 4X4 Posi-Lok cable; but now i'm having problems w/ the T-case, so i want to swap the 231C case keeping the planetary n chain from my 233; but i was reading how hard is to get console n shifter lever; so i'm wondering if some ever used a XJ Cherokee linkage n shifter lever from the 231J T-case?? How about the console??.

Regards,
G.A.
Mexicali,Baja; Mexico
Old 03-12-2011, 09:20 PM   #22
Registered User
 
98-ZR2's Avatar
 
Age: 22
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,118
Location: Cobden, Ontario, Canada
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

chevy np 231 is cable shifted IIRC, i thought the holes where already there u just gotta punch them out once again.....IIRC
Old 03-15-2011, 08:39 PM   #23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Location: east bay, CA
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Maybe a shifter from a first gen 4x4. The 94- 97 console won't fit without trimming the front anyway and you lose the shift indicator. Mounting the shifter to the floor is the easiest part.

I cut up a console just for the part that bulges out and covers the shifter oh well was going to be crushed soon at the junkyard anyways..lol

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f221/t...onsole-464224/
Old 03-17-2011, 11:05 AM   #24
Registered User
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,119
Location: Janesville
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Quote: Originally Posted by BillaksBlazer
i have been reading though all the old build threads and really cant find what i need. i have a 2000 blazer with the 233c t case. I rencently picked up a 231c from a 95 blazer. Both trucks are second gen and both has the same vss sensor. I have read through baggys thread that he couldnt get the tranny to shift in low range. I know he was looking for a pin to ground out but i couldnt find an answer if he ever did. Do i need to do this? Im assuming that having the correct t case would eliminate this. Do you guys have any specifics or how to's?

If I understand this right by changing the t-case to a 231 from a 233 then the trans wont shit when in "4low" , If so I might know why. With the 233 theres a 4low wire going from the 4wd module to the ECM which controls the trans. In trucks with a 231 the "4low" wire from the ECM goes to the 4wd Indicator switch.

96+ auto w/233


96+ auto w/ 231



Since the 231 isn't operated by the computer then the system has no way to know its even in 4low, thats why in the 231 schematic theres a 4low wire on the 4wd indicator lights.

I think this info might help a little bit.
Old 09-18-2012, 06:25 PM   #25
Registered User
 
wildcatkit52's Avatar
 
Age: 37
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Russellville, AR
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

I'm looking for that hard to find console and shifter if anyone runs across one!
Old 09-18-2012, 07:22 PM   #26
Registered User
 
crewcab rabbit's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4,397
Location: OREGON, MCMINNVILLE
User is: Online
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

i find them all the time what color are you looking for
Old 09-18-2012, 07:42 PM   #27
Spark Plugs Are Overrated
 
DieselS10's Avatar
 
Age: 40
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,814
Location: Chelsea, OK
User is: Online
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Really?

I'm needing the shifter and cable assembly.
I'd sure be willing to pay you for it and your trouble if you came across one, well two since he already spoke for one.
Old 09-18-2012, 10:07 PM   #28
Registered User
 
Age: 32
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,119
Location: Janesville
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Quote: Originally Posted by contact420
If I understand this right by changing the t-case to a 231 from a 233 then the trans wont shit when in "4low" , If so I might know why. With the 233 theres a 4low wire going from the 4wd module to the ECM which controls the trans. In trucks with a 231 the "4low" wire from the ECM goes to the 4wd Indicator switch.

96+ auto w/233


96+ auto w/ 231



Since the 231 isn't operated by the computer then the system has no way to know its even in 4low, thats why in the 231 schematic theres a 4low wire on the 4wd indicator lights.

I think this info might help a little bit.


WOW, I cant believe I posted this and it helped. lol
Old 09-19-2012, 03:29 PM   #29
Registered User
 
wildcatkit52's Avatar
 
Age: 37
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Russellville, AR
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

I'll take any color if that's all there is! LOL! Prefer black though. I just stuck the 241 in a few minutes ago and it'll stay in 2 wheel until I get linkage and get the rear gears changed. I need to go look at the couple places around here again too. Maybe one has turned up in the last month.
Old 09-19-2012, 04:04 PM   #30
Electrical Mod
 
deathphoenix99's Avatar

 
Age: 24
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 53,602
Location: Houston, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

I've had a total of 3 full shift consoles and 3 short consoles in the past 2 years. I now only have the full console that is in my s10, but they are out there, just not easy to find.
Old 10-08-2012, 05:34 PM   #31
Registered User
 
wildcatkit52's Avatar
 
Age: 37
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Russellville, AR
User is: OffLine
Re: np 233 to np 231 t case swap

Got the Blazer rolling with the 241. Still need front drive shaft in, the console and linkage, and finish the wiring for 4Lo shifting. I guess there are different ones for trucks with bench seats... I don't want that one. Need one with the full console to replace the Blazer's stock one. My factory console is Black or Ebony I think. Kinda like having a hunting project going!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.