Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!! - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 2nd Gen Forums > ZR2 - BlaZeR2 - Highrider
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2009, 07:36 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Belvitucky IL (belvidere)
User is: OffLine
Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

Hey guys
I just picked up an 03 ZR2 and i went to go take it for its first off road adventure and i found out the 4 wheel drive wont engage!!! The transfer case engages like its supposed to but the front end still free wheels. Am i missing a motor or a vacuum line some where? hopefully some one had the same problem and can point me in the right direction. Thanks

Old 04-12-2009, 07:53 PM   #2
Game Pop. Control Agent
 
Tyhuck's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 917
Location: East, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

I think everyone has had this problem or knows someone who has. First thing to do is check the actuator under the battery tray. If thats still good, then it gould be a vac. line so give em all a check. If thats not it, then check the cable that engages the front diff. It may be frozen. It could be a number of things but I would check the actuator first. That was the problem I had. But, after i replaced it I am still haveing vacuum problems. so I will try to find out how to fix that in my own thread.
Old 04-12-2009, 08:24 PM   #3
Overhead Console Expert
 
Raven's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,884
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

yes check your vacuum actuator under your battery. if its bad then your front differential will not engage.
Old 04-12-2009, 10:30 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Belvitucky IL (belvidere)
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

thanks guys ill give it a look and let ya know
Old 04-13-2009, 10:20 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Belvitucky IL (belvidere)
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

i found the problem. one of the three vaccum lines melted through and thats why the front axle wont engage
Old 04-15-2009, 05:23 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Belvitucky IL (belvidere)
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

still no luck any other thoughts?
Old 04-15-2009, 09:43 PM   #7
Game Pop. Control Agent
 
Tyhuck's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 917
Location: East, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

Im at a loss. Im also in the process of tracking down a leak but my 4wd is working OK (knock on wood).
Old 04-15-2009, 10:31 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Belvitucky IL (belvidere)
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

could the encoder motor be bad? there isnt any vacuum anywhere in the 4wd system thats my next thought cause i ran a good line to the actuator under the batt tray and it pulled in fine
Old 04-15-2009, 11:41 PM   #9
Overhead Console Expert
 
Raven's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,884
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

might be...just hit the 4hi/4lo button it neutral and listen for the transfer case to switch. if it doesn't....then that's most likley your problem.
Old 04-16-2009, 07:40 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Belvitucky IL (belvidere)
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

it switches ok. the lo range engages on the rear axle without any problems.
Old 04-17-2009, 05:31 PM   #11
Overhead Console Expert
 
Raven's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,884
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

did you replace the vacuum actuator?
or did you just replace the vac line?
i would venture to guess that your vacuum actuator is bad.
Old 04-20-2009, 08:06 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Belvitucky IL (belvidere)
User is: OffLine
Re: Front axle wont engage in 4hi or 4lo... HELP!!

i finally broke down and conned my bro who is a mechanic to look at it and one of the fittings was clogged. go figure
thanks a lot tho guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.