33s on as ZR2 - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

33s on as ZR2

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 2nd Gen Forums > ZR2 - BlaZeR2 - Highrider
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2009, 10:12 AM   #1
Game Pop. Control Agent
 
Tyhuck's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 917
Location: East, TX
User is: OffLine
33s on as ZR2

The Zr2 came stock with 31 so do you really need a 5" or 6" to fit 33"s under it? If the width is a problem, what about BFG 33x10.50-15s?
Old 02-11-2009, 10:15 AM   #2
94 S10 2.2 Power House
 
Perry 07's Avatar
 
Age: 25
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 523
Location: North Carolina
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

I dont know I know a my brother in law has 32s on a 15x10 and they rub so he trimmed his fenders but thats on a gmc sonoma 4x4.

Last edited by Perry 07; 02-11-2009 at 10:20 AM.
Old 02-11-2009, 12:19 PM   #3
Overhead Console Expert
 
Raven's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,884
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

they will rub...you will have to trim your flares
Old 02-11-2009, 12:37 PM   #4
Game Pop. Control Agent
 
Tyhuck's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 917
Location: East, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

Would the narrower 33x10.50 still rub, or is it just the diameter that makes it run no matter what the width?

How much trimming would be needed?

Would they fit with a lift any smaller than a 5" or 6"? (no body lift will ever touch this truck)

I dont mean to question the integrity or intelegence of anyone out there because you probably have way more experience than I do. I just want to get all my ducks in a row before I give up on the dream. I just like the look of 33"s but dont like having to jump upt to get in.
Old 02-11-2009, 03:31 PM   #5
Overhead Console Expert
 
Raven's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,884
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

they will with a major t-bar crank and shackles....but that will ruin your front suspension fast

go here...

www.zr2usa.com
Old 02-13-2009, 02:55 PM   #6
lets get hammered
 
s10sixteynine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,252
Location: anniston, al
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

body lift, shackels, and a slight t bar crank will get them under there easily
Old 02-13-2009, 03:04 PM   #7
Game Pop. Control Agent
 
Tyhuck's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 917
Location: East, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

I dont like body lifts. They just look funny with all that frame exposed.
Old 02-16-2009, 10:52 PM   #8
Banned
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,361
Location: warner robins, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

with a body lift, a minor t-bar crank, you can fit 33's under there just fine. under hard compression off-road you will scrub, just like stock zr2 with 31's scrubbed off roading. i remember seeing a stock zr2, with a 3" body lift, t-bar crank with 35's for sale on ebay one time.
Old 02-24-2009, 10:35 PM   #9
Registered User
 
rsmt blue dime's Avatar
 
Age: 23
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Rosemount, MN
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

i was wondering the same thing glad i found this tread!
Old 02-24-2009, 10:45 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

Won't shackles just raise the rear 2 in. HIGHER than the front? Or are there shackles for the front too?
Old 02-24-2009, 10:50 PM   #11
Game Pop. Control Agent
 
Tyhuck's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 917
Location: East, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

There are no shackles for the front because the front is IFS. Thats where the T-bar crank comes in.
Old 02-24-2009, 11:10 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

Well with the 1" or 1.5" T-bar crank, the front levels out with the rear, so putting shackles on the rear will then raise it past the front.

Even with a body lift, that would happen, right?

All this for a pick-up, by the way, sorry!
Old 02-25-2009, 01:47 AM   #13
**** New Jersey
 
Tim99Zr2's Avatar
 
Age: 26
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,321
Location: Reynoldsville, PA
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

i ran a 2" Bl and crankerd tbars. they fit but rubbed, rubbed BAD when wheeling. had to hack the shit out of my fenders and they still rubbed
Old 02-25-2009, 05:25 PM   #14
Game Pop. Control Agent
 
Tyhuck's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 917
Location: East, TX
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

Yeah if you put shackles on it and then crank the bars, it will make it set almost like the stock raked look, just 2" higher.

When I started this post I was hoping someone made a 3" or so lift for the ZR2. Im 6'2", so a 3" taller truck would not be an issue, but when you are talking 5" - 6", I really dont want to have to jump up to get in. Thats why I sold my Toyota after only 1 month. Not to mention Im a GM guy at heart anyway.

And before anyone says it, I will repeat my former statment. I dont do body lifts. Just dont like the look. No offence to anyone, thats just my $.02
Old 02-26-2009, 01:31 AM   #15
Banned
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,361
Location: warner robins, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: 33s on as ZR2

youll be able to fit a 33x10.50 on stock rims with just a t-bar crank up front to level the truck out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.