XP Won't boot - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
Zr2USA = B_Rich
 
B_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iowa
Age: 28
Posts: 2,657

User is: B_Rich is offline
Send a message via AIM to B_Rich
XP Won't boot

When I came home from school yesterday, I obviously brought my laptop with me. When I turned it off at school, there was an option by the "turn off" button that said "turn off without installing updates" or you could just press the red button and it would turn off the updates.

I pressed the red button, so the updates were installed. The computer is now off and I'm on my way home.

I was still moving stuff into my truck so I just let it shut down, assuming that all went well. When I got home and tried to start up the computer, it wouldn't start. I mean, it would start, but XP wouldn't boot.

Here is a really short video of what it does.

What I've tried: Going into the boot menu (F12 as it boots up) and selecting the Internal HD. I've tried going into Setup (F2 as it starts) and changing some things around with the boot order (I've since changed everything back). I put in the reinstallation CD from my desktop just to see if it would do anything, and it did start up (the XP versions are different though, so I'm told from a friend who knows his stuff) so I didn't install it.

When the computer boots up, the CD drive makes a "tsk tsk" as if it were checking something. Weather it did that before all of this, I'm not sure, I never really noticed it.

Thanks for any and all help.


My Build Thread - Project: Zr2

4.3L H.O. AD244 Alternator upgrade for ~$80: Part 1 and Part 2 <- read both
B_Rich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 12:33 PM
peace and big boobs to u
 
phantom_mia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: soflo
Posts: 6,026

User is: phantom_mia is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

well if you changed your boot order (f2) then cd tsk tsk makes sense have you tried f8? and booting into safe mode?

mike
"primer express" 91 RCSB, 4.3 z, 3713 Edelbrock intake and headers, flowmaster exhaust, comp cams 266hr cam and roller tip rockers, ported heads, 3:08 rear. boss 338's 18x8 225/45/18 f 255/55/18 r
ADVANCED FORUM SEARCH
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/search.php

opinions expressed are my humble $.02 worth
phantom_mia is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 12:36 PM Thread Starter
Zr2USA = B_Rich
 
B_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iowa
Age: 28
Posts: 2,657

User is: B_Rich is offline
Send a message via AIM to B_Rich
Re: XP Won't boot

Right when I boot up the laptop I'll press F8 repeatedly but it doesn't work. The Dell screen will come up (all while I'm pressing F8) then it goes to the black screen with the cursor in the corner (still pressing F8) then after I hit F8 like 5 more times the computer starts beeping at me whenever I press a key on the keyboard.


My Build Thread - Project: Zr2

4.3L H.O. AD244 Alternator upgrade for ~$80: Part 1 and Part 2 <- read both
B_Rich is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
Zr2USA = B_Rich
 
B_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iowa
Age: 28
Posts: 2,657

User is: B_Rich is offline
Send a message via AIM to B_Rich
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom_mia View Post
well if you changed your boot order (f2) then cd tsk tsk makes sense have you tried f8? and booting into safe mode?
I just went into setup (F2) and pressed alt + F and defaulted everything, just in case there was something that I changed that would prevent me from booting up properly.

Still no luck though.

My Build Thread - Project: Zr2

4.3L H.O. AD244 Alternator upgrade for ~$80: Part 1 and Part 2 <- read both
B_Rich is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 01:59 PM
Registered User
 
SgtM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3,445

User is: SgtM is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

I think XP is hosed. Right before the Dell logo goes away, start pressing F8 repeatedly. See if that gets you to the option to boot to safe mode. If it does, try and boot to safe mode. That'll at least get us somewhere. If you can't even get into safe mode, then you're looking at reinstalling XP.
SgtM is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 04:00 PM
Banned
 
rmoore911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chillin' with uncle ruckus, no relation. . .
Age: 38
Posts: 7,398

User is: rmoore911 is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

probably going to need a fresh install, or check to see if you have a restore option. . .most factory built computers have a partition set up for a restore and an option to do that at boot up
rmoore911 is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 04:28 PM
Captain Obvious
 
Imperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 34
Posts: 19,349

User is: Imperial is offline
Send a message via AIM to Imperial
Re: XP Won't boot

If you have an actual XP install disk laying around you might want to give the setup a chance to try and repair the installation before you nuke it.

Ala boot from the XP cd, go into setup, select your partition/current XP installation, and it should ask you flat out if you want to try and repair it.
Imperial is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 04:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 27
Posts: 5

User is: szester is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Sounds like a dead hard drive to me. If it won't boot off the CD then it's the hard drive for sure. Might have a spare one around here if you need it, just need to know if its sata or ide. Prolly IDE but I would need to know for sure. Just pop the hard drive cover off and pull the drive.
szester is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 04:44 PM
Captain Obvious
 
Imperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 34
Posts: 19,349

User is: Imperial is offline
Send a message via AIM to Imperial
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by szester View Post
Sounds like a dead hard drive to me. If it won't boot off the CD then it's the hard drive for sure. Might have a spare one around here if you need it, just need to know if its sata or ide. Prolly IDE but I would need to know for sure. Just pop the hard drive cover off and pull the drive.
Bad HDD is a possibility but I wouldn't go that far just yet.

I would think if it was an actual HDD failure it'd just give him the ol' disk boot failure message; seems to me it's trying to access the boot information and the updates might've gibbed that portion of the install.
Imperial is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Zr2USA = B_Rich
 
B_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iowa
Age: 28
Posts: 2,657

User is: B_Rich is offline
Send a message via AIM to B_Rich
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by szester View Post
Sounds like a dead hard drive to me. If it won't boot off the CD then it's the hard drive for sure. Might have a spare one around here if you need it, just need to know if its sata or ide. Prolly IDE but I would need to know for sure. Just pop the hard drive cover off and pull the drive.

You're the 3rd person to tell me that haha.

*sigh*

Well I appreciate the replies everyone, but here is the story....

I brought the computer into Best Buy (keep your pants on....) and talked to Geek Squad about everything. I made sure that there wasn't gonna be a charge for them to look at my computer, which there wasn't. Before I went to best buy, I talked to a couple friends of mine that knew a thing or two about computers and they said it could be a bad hard drive. I REALLY didn't want to hear that, but it kind of made sense. When I got to best buy, they ran some type of geek squad software and it claimed that my hard drive was bad. ****. So they plug the hard drive into this machine thing to see if they can retrieve the data off of it. 30 minutes later I come back and they say they can get the data off of the hard drive, but they wanted $100 to do it, $150 if you didn't have your own external hard drive! Well I've come to find out with computers, is that there is virtually always a way around things.

I didn't think there was a way around this one though.

So.

I bought the hard drive (the bad one) 2 months ago, and they did kindly give me a new hard drive (I actually ended up paying $20 more for a 320, instead of getting the same 250 again) which I thought was cool since it was past the 30 days or whatever for returns. Kudos to Best Buy for that one.

So now I have a blank 320gig hard drive, but ISU gives out Windows 7 to their engineering students for free, so in the end, I kind of ended up making an upgrade, with the only loss being that I lost all of my stuff. There wasn't a whole lot to be lost anyway, but I guess it still kinda sucks.

I do appreciate everyone's advice though, so thanks

My Build Thread - Project: Zr2

4.3L H.O. AD244 Alternator upgrade for ~$80: Part 1 and Part 2 <- read both
B_Rich is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 07:00 PM
Registered User
 
SgtM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3,445

User is: SgtM is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

You got ****ed. I assume you don't have the drive anymore right?
SgtM is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 07:13 PM
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 33
Posts: 23,957

User is: DJDAudio is offline
Send a message via AIM to DJDAudio Send a message via Yahoo to DJDAudio
Re: XP Won't boot

you can get the data off that drive still like asked above do you still have it?

The opinions and views expressed in the above post are the intellectual property of DJDAudio. The above mentioned information shall also hold no legal binding against Doug DeHaven in the court of law.

---\\\CALCULATE Compressor fill time HERE ///---

QUOTE: (Kevdog00) "You sir are like the Einstein of Mini Truckin'! lol"
DJDAudio is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 07:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 10,898

User is: bg's is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Well at least you got it going..

Last edited by bg's; 10-10-2009 at 07:21 PM.
bg's is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 08:28 PM
peace and big boobs to u
 
phantom_mia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: soflo
Posts: 6,026

User is: phantom_mia is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

why couldn't they copy your stuff off the old drive and put it on the new one? must have been to complicated for the geeks

mike
"primer express" 91 RCSB, 4.3 z, 3713 Edelbrock intake and headers, flowmaster exhaust, comp cams 266hr cam and roller tip rockers, ported heads, 3:08 rear. boss 338's 18x8 225/45/18 f 255/55/18 r
ADVANCED FORUM SEARCH
http://www.s10forum.com/forum/search.php

opinions expressed are my humble $.02 worth
phantom_mia is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 08:33 PM
Captain Obvious
 
Imperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 34
Posts: 19,349

User is: Imperial is offline
Send a message via AIM to Imperial
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtM View Post
You got ****ed.
QFT - If THEY can retrieve the data I really doubt that drive is actually "bad".

You better still have that drive.
Imperial is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 08:33 PM
Captain Obvious
 
Imperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 34
Posts: 19,349

User is: Imperial is offline
Send a message via AIM to Imperial
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantom_mia View Post
why couldn't they copy your stuff off the old drive and put it on the new one? must have been to complicated for the geeks
Yeah, for 100-150 bucks I think is what he's getting at.
Imperial is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 10:21 PM Thread Starter
Zr2USA = B_Rich
 
B_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iowa
Age: 28
Posts: 2,657

User is: B_Rich is offline
Send a message via AIM to B_Rich
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtM View Post
You got ****ed. I assume you don't have the drive anymore right?
No I don't. I gave it back to them. I now look at this as a potential mistake, because all of my forum and facebook passwords are saved on there....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperial View Post
Yeah, for 100-150 bucks I think is what he's getting at.
Exactly. It wasn't worth $50 to me to get the info off of that hard drive. I've started over multiple times on this pos desktop that I've got, so I'm kind of used to it. Plus I feel like a complete computer nerd when I have like 367 things downloading and installing at once, all while surfing the forums, facebook, email and aim lol.

If all goes well I'll have Windows 7 installed by tonight.

My Build Thread - Project: Zr2

4.3L H.O. AD244 Alternator upgrade for ~$80: Part 1 and Part 2 <- read both
B_Rich is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 10-10-2009, 10:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 10,898

User is: bg's is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Ah well..When all else fails.

Recovery help
bg's is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 01:10 AM
Registered User
 
SgtM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3,445

User is: SgtM is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

I think they just wanted to sell you the new drive. If the old drive was spinning and they could read from it, it was still good. They may have found bad sectors, but unless that drive was clicking (and you would know if it was); it was still good. I effing hate geek squad!
SgtM is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 06:09 AM
It's our year!
 
LiquidFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 15,351

User is: LiquidFusion is offline
Send a message via AIM to LiquidFusion
Re: XP Won't boot

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/geek-squad-central/ for next time you run into a similar problem.

Andrew
LiquidFusion is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 10:04 AM
Registered User
 
VortecSonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fredericksburg,Va
Age: 29
Posts: 684

User is: VortecSonoma is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtM View Post
I think they just wanted to sell you the new drive. If the old drive was spinning and they could read from it, it was still good. They may have found bad sectors, but unless that drive was clicking (and you would know if it was); it was still good. I effing hate geek squad!

i agree, i've ran into some pretty shitty hard drives in my time, and really only had a hand full that i wasnt able to recover.100-150 for data recovery is a rip off i only charge around 20 depending on the type of media it goes on. i think that if you would have tried to reinstall install windows or repair windows it would have been fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZQ8 Blazer View Post
STFU and go take your Cialis grandpa
VortecSonoma is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 11:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 10,898

User is: bg's is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Perhaps the cost for this product has gone up, so those at Geek
had to move the cost onto the customer, though that seems
a bit rude...I mean after all, it should hurt as lil as possible.

bg's is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 02:06 PM
Bovine on NOS!!
 
Tuteuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cowtopia Prime, Ontario
Age: 51
Posts: 1,231

User is: Tuteuk is offline
Send a message via MSN to Tuteuk Send a message via Yahoo to Tuteuk
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtM View Post
I think they just wanted to sell you the new drive. If the old drive was spinning and they could read from it, it was still good. They may have found bad sectors, but unless that drive was clicking (and you would know if it was); it was still good. I effing hate geek squad!


I concur........

"98% of the world is made up of sheep. The other 2% is divided among wolves and sheep dogs.
Both are motivated to kill. The difference is, the sheep dog does it to protect the flock."


Tuteuk is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Zr2USA = B_Rich
 
B_Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iowa
Age: 28
Posts: 2,657

User is: B_Rich is offline
Send a message via AIM to B_Rich
Re: XP Won't boot

Just to let everyone know, Best Buy replaced the hard drive for free. I just ended up paying $20 more for a 320gig, instead of getting the same 250gig back that they would replace.

The only thing I'm down is the data that I lost (which wasn't a HUGE deal to me) and $20, but the $20 was for 70gigs more storage space.

My Build Thread - Project: Zr2

4.3L H.O. AD244 Alternator upgrade for ~$80: Part 1 and Part 2 <- read both

Last edited by B_Rich; 10-11-2009 at 05:13 PM.
B_Rich is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 10:23 PM
Registered User
 
SgtM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3,445

User is: SgtM is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

This is a perfect example of why you need a desktop and one of these. Assuming the drive is IDE and not SATA.
SgtM is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 10:36 PM
Registered User
 
VortecSonoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fredericksburg,Va
Age: 29
Posts: 684

User is: VortecSonoma is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by SgtM View Post
This is a perfect example of why you need a desktop and one of these. Assuming the drive is IDE and not SATA.

i've got 4 of them that i brought off of ebay from some seller in china

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZQ8 Blazer View Post
STFU and go take your Cialis grandpa
VortecSonoma is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 10-11-2009, 11:09 PM
Registered User
 
SgtM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 41
Posts: 3,445

User is: SgtM is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Worth their weight in gold eh?
SgtM is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 10-12-2009, 01:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 10,898

User is: bg's is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53...item45ee274e33

Oh I like. Are they avail for sata as well, I wonder ?
bg's is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 10-12-2009, 04:17 AM
~~<<' DRIVEN '>>~~
 
DJDAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 33
Posts: 23,957

User is: DJDAudio is offline
Send a message via AIM to DJDAudio Send a message via Yahoo to DJDAudio
Re: XP Won't boot

Dudes,

I bought this on ebay for $9.99 it is a life saver!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812232002

It will convert any drive IDE SATA laptop to USB it includes the power adapter as well.

Never need to open the computer.

The opinions and views expressed in the above post are the intellectual property of DJDAudio. The above mentioned information shall also hold no legal binding against Doug DeHaven in the court of law.

---\\\CALCULATE Compressor fill time HERE ///---

QUOTE: (Kevdog00) "You sir are like the Einstein of Mini Truckin'! lol"
DJDAudio is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 10-12-2009, 08:58 AM
Sneaky White Person
 
xJuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: TX
Age: 33
Posts: 9,766

User is: xJuice is offline
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJDAudio View Post
Dudes,

I bought this on ebay for $9.99 it is a life saver!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812232002

It will convert any drive IDE SATA laptop to USB it includes the power adapter as well.

Never need to open the computer.
I've got that exact one except it was rebranded as something else. Although I payed full price at Fry's b/c I was in a bind and absolutely needed it that day.

~JOSH~

The last time I had this much fun, I was driving the banana. Of course, back in my day we called it denting the bacon.

Last edited by xJuice; 10-12-2009 at 08:59 AM.
xJuice is offline  
post #31 of 31 Old 10-13-2009, 11:35 AM
Captain Obvious
 
Imperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Age: 34
Posts: 19,349

User is: Imperial is offline
Send a message via AIM to Imperial
Re: XP Won't boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJDAudio View Post
Dudes,

I bought this on ebay for $9.99 it is a life saver!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812232002

It will convert any drive IDE SATA laptop to USB it includes the power adapter as well.

Never need to open the computer.
Werd; I've lost two of the older IDE-only ones already

Last edited by Imperial; 10-13-2009 at 11:36 AM.
Imperial is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome