2 wheel to 4 wheel drive. - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

2 wheel to 4 wheel drive.

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Suspension Tech > Steering & General Suspension
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2005, 05:37 PM   #1
Big Block's are Bad Ass!!

User is: OffLine
2 wheel to 4 wheel drive.

I have a'98 S10 and was toying around with the idea of converting it to 4 wheel drive. Is the frame the same on a 2 wheel drive as a 4 wheel drive truck? If I was to find a used axle and spring set up, would it bolt up to my frame. I relize I might have to change the idler and pitman arm also. The trans. or gear box can come later. I'm a diesel truck mechanic so I'm not new to suspension issues. I'm Just wondering if anyone has done this before.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2005, 06:19 PM   #2
Phoenix

Re: 2 wheel to 4 wheel drive.

Way more work than it is worth, find a 4x4 frame if that is what you want.
The 2x is a compleatly different front suspension, mounting points, mounts for the front diff. type of front springs ( yours are coil, 4x is torsion ) actually the frame from the cowl forward is compleatly different.
Old 05-17-2005, 06:19 PM   #3
Master Shake

Well, the "easiest" way to make a 2wd S-10 into a 4wd using other 4wd S-10 parts is gonna be to swap frames. See, the whole front half of the frame for a 4wd S-10 is totally different; suspension mounting points, crossmember design, etc. So simply getting a 4wd S-10 T-case and front diff isn't gonna work without tons of fabbing work.

If you could find a 4wd chassis and running gear of the same body configuration, it would work and you'd just have to swap over the front clip, cab, box, etc from your truck.