Self Dimming Welding Helmet. - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Self Dimming Welding Helmet.

Go Back   S-10 Forum > OT Forums > Fabricators Forum
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2008, 05:27 PM   #1
The Deftones

User is: OffLine
Self Dimming Welding Helmet.

Like ive said in other Threads, Im a begginer welder and the thing I find that kind of gets me is when your first making the tack weld and you have to tilt your helmet down I always seem to inch over my hand without realizing it and miss the spot that I want to tack. Because I seem to do that, DO you guys think A self Dimming Helmet would work good for my case, I figure I would since I would have to Try and keep my hand in one place while tilting the helmet. What has been your guyes experience with this. Should I just man up and spend the extra money one the self dimming helmet or just learn to keep my hand in one place?
Old 06-21-2008, 05:43 PM   #2

Re: Self Dimming Welding Helmet.

i do like the auto darkening helmets they are great, but another thing when i am welding i always like to have a solid rest on something to keep my arm stable. Or just loosen the two side knobs on your helmet and jerk your head to flip it down
Old 06-21-2008, 06:10 PM   #3
s-series #2?

self dimming ftw
Old 06-21-2008, 06:16 PM   #4
This season SUCKS.

Quote: Originally Posted by LowboyTrucks
i do like the auto darkening helmets they are great, but another thing when i am welding i always like to have a solid rest on something to keep my arm stable. Or just loosen the two side knobs on your helmet and jerk your head to flip it down
Problem with that, is that it falls when you don't want it to... I use a Harbor Freight auto-dimmer, and it's always worked great...