S-10 Forum banner

jdrinkard's sfbd attempt

19K views 250 replies 27 participants last post by  mhilt13 
#1 ·
I'm a fairly new member on this site, but I have kept up with it for some time now using it as a ref guide for many of the projects that I have worked on. I have been working on dimes for years now but this is my first attempt at a sfbd, and I am doing it on my personal truck.

I wanted to start a thread on it sooner but I have talked myself out of it everytime. I'm actually a few months into this project already, but just recently got enough free time and funding to get back to work on it.

I mainly wanted to make a thread on the build to try and get a little insight on things I need to do and also things I may miss doing along the way. I'm not the best fabricator by any means but I like to think that I get by with what tools and skills that I do have.

Any suggestions or questions are welcome, thats what I am looking for is some help along the way. Any negative input please keep to yourself as I do not care for negative opions of my work, insight on a better way however is what I am looking for sometimes.

I will post some pics of before the start and of me starting the project to get this caught up to where the build currently is. Thanks in advance for any help or advice offered

See less See more
#12 ·
it started out not being as extensive as it has turned out to be is why i didnt just run the rails all the way to the back half, when i got into it i wanted to make sure it would hold up if i decided to drop the LS in it later down the road.

however i did upgrade some of the linkage set up in the rear and did away with the bag over axle

#14 ·
You do really nice work.
What size are the new wheels? You should be able to sell off the xtreme body work really easy

#15 ·
Any negative input please keep to yourself as I do not care for negative opions of my work, insight on a better way however is what I am looking for sometimes.