c5 brakes - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

c5 brakes

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Engine and Drivetrain Tech > Wheels, Tires & Brakes
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2009, 09:48 PM   #1
Local Tech
 
ls1s10onair's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,096
Location: Emerson, NJ
User is: OffLine
c5 brakes

i know, i know..... my questions are a little different tho. so many companies say that the regular truck 2wd spindle is not strong enough for the c5 conversion, so they want me to get blazer spindles to modify. who has them on truck spindles, and have you had problems? also, any tips/ advice? where did you get ur parts from, and what did you get specifically?
Old 06-20-2009, 01:20 AM   #2
LSX LUV Owner
 
Wicked Mayhem's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 18,683
Location: The Garage
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

bad 94 is the only person that comes to mind.. theres several threads on here bout people doing the conversion. dont know how many have driven on them.. but i dont see why they wouldnt be strong enough.
Old 06-20-2009, 08:49 AM   #3
Local Tech
 
ls1s10onair's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,096
Location: Emerson, NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

thats basically what i thought, but ive spoken to 2 companies offering a kit, but both told me they wont make one for the spindle with single piston calipers
Old 06-20-2009, 09:28 AM   #4
brakes hate me
 
1BadElky's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,720
Location: Albany, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

flynbye.com
Old 06-20-2009, 09:34 AM   #5
brakes hate me
 
1BadElky's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,720
Location: Albany, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

but i am stronglt opposed to using truck spindles and machining a hub when blazer spindles are readily available. the machined down rotor can crack (mine are craked). and truck spindles will widen the track width. you could use the billet hubs from kore3. but at that price, you might as well use blazer spindles.

bottom line: Blazer spindles are more expensive... but these are brakes we're talking about. how important is your life?
Old 06-20-2009, 09:48 AM   #6
Local Tech
 
ls1s10onair's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,096
Location: Emerson, NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

ive gone to flynbye .com, but there descriptions are vague.... thats why i wanted to see who bought what from where
Old 06-20-2009, 02:49 PM   #7
LSX LUV Owner
 
Wicked Mayhem's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 18,683
Location: The Garage
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

personally i wouldnt ever do a brake upgrade on s10 spindles.. i love sealed hubs, easier to deal with IMO
Old 06-21-2009, 01:15 AM   #8
'01 Noma
 
shift220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 569
Location: St. Albert, AB
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Machining down 1 piece hubs/rotors is not unique to us s10 guys (the few that have). Do you have pictures of your cracked hubs 1BadElky? Were they stock rotors to begin with?

Not making a kit because the stock spindle uses a single piston caliper is a poor excuse for not doing the math. If I recall correctly, the area of the piston is actually not much less the dual piston caliper used on Blazers.
Old 06-21-2009, 01:17 AM   #9
'01 Noma
 
shift220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 569
Location: St. Albert, AB
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Quote: Originally Posted by Wicked Mayhem
personally i wouldnt ever do a brake upgrade on s10 spindles.. i love sealed hubs, easier to deal with IMO
Easier sure but quite a bit more expensive and not serviceable. Seems like they don't last as long either?
Old 06-21-2009, 01:23 AM   #10
LSX LUV Owner
 
Wicked Mayhem's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 18,683
Location: The Garage
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Quote: Originally Posted by shift220
Easier sure but quite a bit more expensive and not serviceable. Seems like they don't last as long either?
dunno.. i would rather not mess with the bearings. id rather shell out the money for a new hub then pack em n shit.. im lazy.

gotta pay to play.
Old 06-21-2009, 11:39 AM   #11
brakes hate me
 
1BadElky's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,720
Location: Albany, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Quote: Originally Posted by shift220
Machining down 1 piece hubs/rotors is not unique to us s10 guys (the few that have). Do you have pictures of your cracked hubs 1BadElky? Were they stock rotors to begin with?
It's not unique to us I know. there are alot of camaro and Chevelle guys doing it too. But those guys don't have sealed hub spindles available to just bolt on like S-series and G-body guys do.

if you were to use the billet hubs offered by kore3.com, I don't think cracking would be an issue, but if you can afford those, you can afford to use blazer spindles(and maintian your track width, which may be important if you have bags). yes, mine were machined down rotors though. I'll upload a pic tonight.

kore3 hubs: http://www.kore3.com/proddetail.php?prod=10075

Last edited by 1BadElky; 06-21-2009 at 11:40 AM.
Old 06-21-2009, 02:28 PM   #12
Customz
 
C-DUB's Avatar
 
Age: 29
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 131
Location: Langley, BC
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Unless my machined rotors are different then everybody elses, I don't see how mine will ever crack.

Mine still have a lip around the edge, that is probably 1/8" - 3/16" thick and about 1.25" deep.

Old 06-21-2009, 05:22 PM   #13
'01 Noma
 
shift220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 569
Location: St. Albert, AB
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Here is how I did mine. I wanted all the extra weight off the hub. I can't see these cracking either. Looks like the small amount of material as the Kore3 Hubs and those are aluminum.
Old 06-21-2009, 05:23 PM   #14
'01 Noma
 
shift220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 569
Location: St. Albert, AB
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Old 06-22-2009, 11:34 AM   #15
Registered User
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 288
Location: Bloomington MN
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

I have the rotor turned down setup with modified spindles

http://www.s10forum.com/forum/f14/c5...-setup-385015/

I modeled all this stuff up in solidworks and I work at a place that designs and manufactures suspension testing machines. There I had an engineer at run a FEA on it. Just to make sure it worked and nothing would break.

ls1s10onair pm me if you have ne questions!
Old 06-22-2009, 04:47 PM   #16
Local Tech
 
ls1s10onair's Avatar
 
Age: 31
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5,096
Location: Emerson, NJ
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

thanks, man! that was really helpful... hopefully i can get this done soon, but im probably opening my new shop in the next month, so money is tight
Old 06-23-2009, 11:37 PM   #17
brakes hate me
 
1BadElky's Avatar
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,720
Location: Albany, GA
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

here's the crack in mine. never used.



Old 06-24-2009, 04:20 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 288
Location: Bloomington MN
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

the knurled part of the stud must have been bigger than the factory ones. I also left the flange on the outer edge of the hub for more strength. I believe I also had to drill out the holes in the hub like 8 thousanths
Old 06-28-2009, 02:09 AM   #19
'01 Noma
 
shift220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 569
Location: St. Albert, AB
User is: OffLine
Re: c5 brakes

Looks like you machined your hubs down a little closer to the studs. I would guess so that they fit into the C5 rotor?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.