Temp Gauge Not Working - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Temp Gauge Not Working

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 2nd Gen Forums > S10 / Sonoma
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2007, 12:32 PM   #1
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Temp Gauge Not Working

Ok i have a 1997 extra cab 4.3 auto , and for some reason my temp gauge just dont work , it stay at the bottom after doing some research i learned that it could be the temp gauge sender so i installed that this morning and still nothing ...


anyone have any ideas ?????

I got to have my temp gauge and dont want a aftermarket one !!!
Old 02-03-2007, 03:38 PM   #2
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

are ur connections at the back of the cluster intact?
Old 02-03-2007, 03:46 PM   #3
drop and dragg
 
sonoma99beast's Avatar
 
Age: 27
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 681
Location: mineral springs, AR/ shreveport, LA
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

does your heater work? does it blow really hot? mine temp gauge wouldnt move and my heat wouldnt work and all i had to do was replace the thermostat it was stuck wide open
Old 02-03-2007, 05:42 PM   #4
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote: Originally Posted by sonoma99beast
does your heater work? does it blow really hot? mine temp gauge wouldnt move and my heat wouldnt work and all i had to do was replace the thermostat it was stuck wide open

I could see how that wouldnt let the heater get very hot but make the thermostat not even move , No Way the thermostat only holds back the water untill the engine reach's whatever temp thermostat it is , even if it was stuck open it would heat up to 170 180 which should would show on the temp gauge ...


I am about to give up and take it to my mechanic ,
Old 02-03-2007, 05:43 PM   #5
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote: Originally Posted by TwoWheelJay
are ur connections at the back of the cluster intact?


Which cluster ???
Old 02-03-2007, 06:35 PM   #6
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

how many gauge clusters do u have? im just saying, at the back of the gauge cluster, are any connections missing... if youve pulled it out before or anything, its possible a wire/connection was missed.
Old 02-03-2007, 07:17 PM   #7
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

nope never been touched , also i changed the temp gauge sender today and before i replaced i grounded out the plug and the gauge jumped so i know its hooked up !!
Old 02-04-2007, 01:00 AM   #8
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

You know what i just noticed that the temp gauge only goes up two small lines after 100 even when ran for a hour+ im lost for stuff to try , where is the thermostst located ???

I know on most cars its located on the manifold under the main radiator hose , is this where this one is at ????

I looked and it looks like it could be electronic and i have a 4.3...
Old 02-04-2007, 02:11 AM   #9
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

when you look at the top//front of the motor, the radiater hose comes up, and then goes down into where the intake manifold is. That hose connects to the water outlet, and you have to unbolt it to get to the thermostat.
Old 02-04-2007, 09:58 AM   #10
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

will i need to buy a new gasket ??
Old 02-04-2007, 04:26 PM   #11
Registered User
 
radarblue95's Avatar
 
Age: 30
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,789
Location: Jaffrey NH
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

ye sit comes with the thermo
Old 02-04-2007, 05:43 PM   #12
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

^ actually no it does not
the therm gasket will come with it (an o-ring typ)
however you need the water outlet gasket (also known as housing seal), which is a seperate part number.

THM 540099 $11.99 is the thermostat you need (the good one, not the cheap econemy version) the o-ring type gasket is included.
NGA 31273 $1.99 is the housing seal (water outlet gasket) that you will need.
both are napa part numbers and online prices, your local retailer may have a better/worse price

Last edited by TwoWheelJay; 02-04-2007 at 05:46 PM.
Old 02-04-2007, 09:19 PM   #13
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

if the thermostat was removed , the gauge should still move up to almost 200 once hot right .?/??? My problem is my gauge barley moves once warm , seriously it moves to small lines and thats it....
Old 02-04-2007, 10:06 PM   #14
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

well with no thermostat it would take a long ass time to warm up, and depending on the temp outside, i dont know if it would get up to 200, cuz your fan would still come on probably.
Old 02-04-2007, 10:21 PM   #15
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

here in FL its 80degrees in the days and even after driving for a hour it still wont move past the 2nd little line .......


and what do you mean fan would still come on , the fan is always on !!!
It is connected to the belt , or do these engines (4.3) also have electric fans as well....??
Old 02-05-2007, 01:33 AM   #16
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

oh ya, sorry i kinda blanked on that. Mines got an e-fan so im used to it having an on and off point.
Old 02-05-2007, 07:28 AM   #17
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

no problem i just spoke to the original owner of the truck and he said he changed the water pump about a year ago and before that it worked perfect ...????
Old 02-05-2007, 09:14 AM   #18
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

i dont think the water pump would directy affect the reading on the temp gauge, unless it wasnt working, in which case the truck would overheat/
Old 02-05-2007, 09:42 AM   #19
Ticket Magnet
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 8,037
Location: Spanaway, Wa
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote: Originally Posted by TwoWheelJay
how many gauge clusters do u have? im just saying, at the back of the gauge cluster, are any connections missing... if youve pulled it out before or anything, its possible a wire/connection was missed.

The entire cluster has one connection that is stationary. It's either connected or not. Of course if the cluster is seated in place it would be connected.
Old 02-05-2007, 10:22 AM   #20
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Age: 28
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 869
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote: Originally Posted by Rhotpursuit
The entire cluster has one connection that is stationary. It's either connected or not. Of course if the cluster is seated in place it would be connected.
^^mine wanted to pull out with my cluster, not stay stationary..weird
Old 02-05-2007, 07:19 PM   #21
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Age: 35
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 359
Location: Da Field , FL
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote: Originally Posted by spitnhard79
no problem i just spoke to the original owner of the truck and he said he changed the water pump about a year ago and before that it worked perfect ...????

He said he replaced the water pump b/c it was running hot !! LOL
You only replace the water pump when it leaks ..... The mechanic probably just pulled the thermostat and said he replaced the water pump b/c the pump does not look new !!! This guy i bought the car from was a Total Duck !!!

My next step in the process of elimination is the thermostat so i will update ....
I wanted to do it tonight but i got off of work late and it was already dark out !!!
Hopefully 2morro night ....
Old 02-06-2007, 03:54 PM   #22
Banned
 
Age: 39
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 252
Location: Tunica Resorts
User is: OffLine
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

I have the same problem. I am switching the thermostat next week to see if that works. I thought about doing the sending unit, but that looks like a real PITA. Was it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.