Temp Gauge Not Working - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 02-03-2007, 12:32 PM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Temp Gauge Not Working

Ok i have a 1997 extra cab 4.3 auto , and for some reason my temp gauge just dont work , it stay at the bottom after doing some research i learned that it could be the temp gauge sender so i installed that this morning and still nothing ...


anyone have any ideas ?????

I got to have my temp gauge and dont want a aftermarket one !!!

spitnhard79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 02-03-2007, 03:38 PM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

are ur connections at the back of the cluster intact?

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 02-03-2007, 03:46 PM
drop and dragg
 
sonoma99beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: mineral springs, AR/ shreveport, LA
Age: 29
Posts: 681

User is: sonoma99beast is offline
Send a message via Yahoo to sonoma99beast
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

does your heater work? does it blow really hot? mine temp gauge wouldnt move and my heat wouldnt work and all i had to do was replace the thermostat it was stuck wide open



www.cardomain.com/ride/2471279

lookin for a 99+ gmc jimmy front bumper cover pm me if you have one
sonoma99beast is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 02-03-2007, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonoma99beast View Post
does your heater work? does it blow really hot? mine temp gauge wouldnt move and my heat wouldnt work and all i had to do was replace the thermostat it was stuck wide open

I could see how that wouldnt let the heater get very hot but make the thermostat not even move , No Way the thermostat only holds back the water untill the engine reach's whatever temp thermostat it is , even if it was stuck open it would heat up to 170 180 which should would show on the temp gauge ...


I am about to give up and take it to my mechanic ,
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 02-03-2007, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoWheelJay View Post
are ur connections at the back of the cluster intact?


Which cluster ???
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 02-03-2007, 06:35 PM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

how many gauge clusters do u have? im just saying, at the back of the gauge cluster, are any connections missing... if youve pulled it out before or anything, its possible a wire/connection was missed.

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 02-03-2007, 07:17 PM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

nope never been touched , also i changed the temp gauge sender today and before i replaced i grounded out the plug and the gauge jumped so i know its hooked up !!
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 01:00 AM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

You know what i just noticed that the temp gauge only goes up two small lines after 100 even when ran for a hour+ im lost for stuff to try , where is the thermostst located ???

I know on most cars its located on the manifold under the main radiator hose , is this where this one is at ????

I looked and it looks like it could be electronic and i have a 4.3...
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 02:11 AM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

when you look at the top//front of the motor, the radiater hose comes up, and then goes down into where the intake manifold is. That hose connects to the water outlet, and you have to unbolt it to get to the thermostat.

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 09:58 AM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

will i need to buy a new gasket ??
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 04:26 PM
Registered User
 
radarblue95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Jaffrey NH
Age: 32
Posts: 3,789

User is: radarblue95 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

ye sit comes with the thermo

radarblue95 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 05:43 PM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

^ actually no it does not
the therm gasket will come with it (an o-ring typ)
however you need the water outlet gasket (also known as housing seal), which is a seperate part number.

THM 540099 $11.99 is the thermostat you need (the good one, not the cheap econemy version) the o-ring type gasket is included.
NGA 31273 $1.99 is the housing seal (water outlet gasket) that you will need.
both are napa part numbers and online prices, your local retailer may have a better/worse price

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil

Last edited by TwoWheelJay; 02-04-2007 at 05:46 PM.
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 09:19 PM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

if the thermostat was removed , the gauge should still move up to almost 200 once hot right .?/??? My problem is my gauge barley moves once warm , seriously it moves to small lines and thats it....
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

well with no thermostat it would take a long ass time to warm up, and depending on the temp outside, i dont know if it would get up to 200, cuz your fan would still come on probably.

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 02-04-2007, 10:21 PM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

here in FL its 80degrees in the days and even after driving for a hour it still wont move past the 2nd little line .......


and what do you mean fan would still come on , the fan is always on !!!
It is connected to the belt , or do these engines (4.3) also have electric fans as well....??
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 02-05-2007, 01:33 AM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

oh ya, sorry i kinda blanked on that. Mines got an e-fan so im used to it having an on and off point.

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 02-05-2007, 07:28 AM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

no problem i just spoke to the original owner of the truck and he said he changed the water pump about a year ago and before that it worked perfect ...????
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 02-05-2007, 09:14 AM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

i dont think the water pump would directy affect the reading on the temp gauge, unless it wasnt working, in which case the truck would overheat/

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 02-05-2007, 09:42 AM
B4U Task Force
 
Rhotpursuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spanaway, Wa
Posts: 11,247

User is: Rhotpursuit is online now
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoWheelJay View Post
how many gauge clusters do u have? im just saying, at the back of the gauge cluster, are any connections missing... if youve pulled it out before or anything, its possible a wire/connection was missed.

The entire cluster has one connection that is stationary. It's either connected or not. Of course if the cluster is seated in place it would be connected.

U.S.C.G. "So others may live"

Apple Red 96 SS
Rhotpursuit is online now  
post #20 of 22 Old 02-05-2007, 10:22 AM
Registered User
 
TwoWheelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 30
Posts: 869

User is: TwoWheelJay is offline
Send a message via AIM to TwoWheelJay
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhotpursuit View Post
The entire cluster has one connection that is stationary. It's either connected or not. Of course if the cluster is seated in place it would be connected.
^^mine wanted to pull out with my cluster, not stay stationary..weird

02 Blazer Xtreme Blk/Blk


94 xcab **SOLD** re-7/re-8/sd flame bridge/viar 380/york 209/2 5 gal/custom swirlies/20% tint/ tweed interior/
pioneer hu/alpine, jl audio speakers/alpine , zapco amps/ kicker cvr 15's/7" in dash/ps2/e-fan/msd box/msd coil
TwoWheelJay is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 02-05-2007, 07:19 PM Thread Starter
Kryp Toker
 
spitnhard79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Da Field , FL
Age: 37
Posts: 359

User is: spitnhard79 is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by spitnhard79 View Post
no problem i just spoke to the original owner of the truck and he said he changed the water pump about a year ago and before that it worked perfect ...????

He said he replaced the water pump b/c it was running hot !! LOL
You only replace the water pump when it leaks ..... The mechanic probably just pulled the thermostat and said he replaced the water pump b/c the pump does not look new !!! This guy i bought the car from was a Total Duck !!!

My next step in the process of elimination is the thermostat so i will update ....
I wanted to do it tonight but i got off of work late and it was already dark out !!!
Hopefully 2morro night ....
spitnhard79 is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 02-06-2007, 03:54 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tunica Resorts
Age: 41
Posts: 252

User is: cobra22nd is offline
Re: Temp Gauge Not Working

I have the same problem. I am switching the thermostat next week to see if that works. I thought about doing the sending unit, but that looks like a real PITA. Was it?
cobra22nd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome