amp has power but subs wont bump - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-24-2011, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: canada
Age: 23
Posts: 5

User is: StealthyPotatoe is offline
amp has power but subs wont bump

hi. i just got a new system for my 2000 s10, i got a 1000 watt pyle driver amp with 150 watts rms and 2 10" clifford design dual voice coil subs both at 150 watt rms. i have a 4 gauge wiring kit and i connected the ground straight the the chassis. i have 12 gauge speaker wires aswell. my amp turns on but when i turn my music up the subs dont hit hard. its not the box because i no i sealled it completly and its not the subs because i hooked both of them up to my friends system (he had a different amp) and they sounded great. they were working yesterday and the sounded great but i went to invert the one sub today and then they both are not working. what i would like to no is it the amp that is pooched or does my truck not have enough juice to power it. my buddy is giving me his power cap to see if that will work tomorrow but in the mean time if anyone has any suggestions as to y my subs arent bumping please let me no. thanks

StealthyPotatoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-24-2011, 10:24 AM
Registered User
 
Twitch23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rapid City, SD
Age: 33
Posts: 29

User is: Twitch23 is offline
Re: amp has power but subs wont bump

Sounds like the power is there through the lines, but pyle has always been as it's named, a pyle. Try and hook up only one sub at a time to make sure they are both working correctly and the amp can even push them. I've seen amps bridged unable to push subs.
Twitch23 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-24-2011, 10:44 AM
Is that Home Brew?!?
 
thunder94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwestern Michigan
Age: 44
Posts: 2,240

User is: thunder94 is offline
Re: amp has power but subs wont bump

So to get this right you're 1000w Pyle amp is 150W rms? Why do cheap amp companies still feel the need to do this? (end rant).

I need more info here, that Pyle amp, class D mono? or stereo 2 channel? The subs are dual voice coils, but what ohm each? Have you had the woofers out of the box recently? Sounds like a phase problem to me. Double check your speaker wire connections. Make sure your positives and negatives are all correct.

thunder94 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-24-2011, 10:48 AM
always something new
 
S10dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sacramento,Ca.
Age: 63
Posts: 54,068

User is: S10dude is offline
Re: amp has power but subs wont bump

sounds like a wiring mix-up if they were working fine till you unwired/rewired one of them

this will get more response .......in the sound and security section

All truck pics
http://s93.photobucket.com/user/sdim...?sort=3&page=1.........


Marc .........."01" ExCab 2.2 - 5sp ......On Air......
.......... 2014 Harley Street Glide Special
S10dude is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 10-24-2011, 01:38 PM
where da white women at?
 
NJtruckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montague, NJ
Age: 22
Posts: 446

User is: NJtruckin is offline
Re: amp has power but subs wont bump

the problem is PYLE! they make crap subs, crap amps, crap everything. spend the money for a real amp. cheap, good amps can be had for $50-150.

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/produ...mplifiers.aspx

Louis~
2000 blazer. -bone stock, 80k miles.

1996 Sonoma 2wd 5 speed. LOTS of good stuff. RIP

94 Ram 2500 CTD. lots of go fast goodies ;D
NJtruckin is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-24-2011, 11:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered Users
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: canada
Age: 23
Posts: 5

User is: StealthyPotatoe is offline
Re: amp has power but subs wont bump

thanks for the help. i wired the one sub up to the amp and it sounds ok. i think im just going to get rid of this system and get a new one. any suggestions on what amps and subs i should get. i want it to be really bassy if that helps any
StealthyPotatoe is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 10-25-2011, 01:56 AM
Vig Pimpin
 
viggy58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Age: 33
Posts: 739

User is: viggy58 is offline
Re: amp has power but subs wont bump

what do you mean "one sub is inverted" if you mean one is mounted facing in, and one mounted out, you will have phase cancellation issues. is it a mono amp? also are you how are you wiring the voice coils. ie, what is your total resistance on the subs. If your trying to run at 1 or 2 ohms, you may have blown an output transistor on the amp.

___________________________________________
2001 Blazer
4.3L 5 speed manual trans, 2wd
180k miles
ALL STOCK!

Profile Baja amp, 100w x4
Sony Xplod 1000w x1
Alpine type R 12in. sub
viggy58 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome