Adding Freon to a Chevy S10 - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

Adding Freon to a Chevy S10

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 2nd Gen Forums > S10 / Sonoma
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2011, 06:47 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Location:
User is: OffLine
Adding Freon to a Chevy S10

For quite some time my truck has been blowing cold air and occasionally it would get a little warm then revert back to cold. Very inconsistantly consistant!!

So I figured that I was low on freon. So I drained the existing freon to emptuy in so I can put fresh freon back in the truck. When I drained it, I had no moisture of any kind come out. It was only air. Not sure if that was normal or not.

So I started the truck, put the air on low, and put the gauge/freon on the low side of the line. started filling. The compressor would kick on, the PSI level would drop, and after 2-3 seconds, the compressor would kick off. It did this over and over. When the compressor kicked off, the PSI level would sky rocket into the RED. When the compressor was on, the PSI would be in the green.

So I dont have much time to get an accurate reading of the PSI. I haven't even used half the can of freon. So it feels like I'm not getting anywhere. So I took the level that it was showing and put the cap back on. I turned the air on faster and it is blowing nothing but HOT AIR. there is not one bit of cold anywhere in these vents. no matter if i turn the air on 1/2/3 or 4. Its HOT!!

Am I not doing something right when filling it with freon?

With summer upon us, I NEED this cold air to be working. Can anyone help?
Old 06-09-2011, 08:15 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Age: 57
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 741
Location: Southern California
User is: OffLine
Re: Adding Freon to a Chevy S10

You had 2 choices. One choice was to top it off using the proper pressures for high and low. The second choice was evacuate the system by pulling a vacuum ( and properly catching the freon) wait the appropriate time, then add oil if necessary and then charge the system. That is a simple explination of what should have been done. You skipped a couple of steps and now have air in the system. It is never going to work properly untill you vacuum the system down and check for leaks. It sucks but you have no choice.
Old 06-09-2011, 08:36 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Adding Freon to a Chevy S10

thank you for the response nstoolman1, let me explain something real quick. I am also posting a link to the photos of the area........maybe I did it incorrectly!!!

When I bought the can of freon from the auto part store. the guy told me to drain the existing stuff out. I didn't know any better. I was assuming since he told me where it was and how to do it, that it was the correct way.

anyways, when i drained "whatever" it was, it was only air. no liquid of any type came out. I couldnt feel anything except "wind". I was expecting to see some type of liquid or colored air but had no such luck.

I do not have a gauge to measure the high side. I only have the gauge on the can of freon that hooks to the low side. if that is indeed what i hooked to.

http://s804.photobucket.com/albums/yy32 ... %20Photos/

What did I "drain"? If I have to vacuum the system, How do I do this? Whats the cost to do it or have it done? Is it something that a Car Mechanic has to do?

the photos you will see have some text written on them. The location that says LOW SIDE, was the spot that the auto parts store guy said to remove the cap and drain. was this the right spot?
Old 06-10-2011, 08:46 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Age: 36
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 26
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Adding Freon to a Chevy S10

OK, I ran in to an old friend today that just happened to have his own used car lot where he also has his own car garage. So I was explaining all my issues to him.

He pulled up a wiring diagram which laid out the battery all the way back to the cluster in the dashboard. After looking at the engine and taking voltage measurements he was able to trace it back to the CLUSTER being the issue. So I at least figured out what the real problem was. I realize I spent wasted $135 but I was intending on having to spend a lot more money to have the truck diagnosed this week at the dealership. So at least we narrowed that down. Nothing to be highly concerned about at the moment. So all is well.

Next thing. I explained the whole A/C issue. He started my truck up, and threw his freon/gauge on and started to fill the system from the same location I was. So the auto parts guy didn't lie about that part. So even though I released all this air out of the system (which could have been freon, and I didn't know it) he at first thought he was going to have to revac the system. he started filling the freon and the compressor was staying on longer and longer...............eventually my truck's A/C was running and blowing COLD air. I'm not sure what he did differently than I, but his freon worked. All is back to normal.

I drove the truck home with the air on and all seemed well.

So it sounded like I may have dodged a bullet.....for now.......

Light is now off for whatever reason and the air is once again cold.

What lesson have I learned? Start off by getting car looked at by a mechanic and not assume I can be a rent-a-cop. Can cost me more in the long run!!!!
Old 06-11-2011, 12:08 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 350
Location:
User is: OffLine
Re: Adding Freon to a Chevy S10

I just topped mine off a few days ago myself because it would blow somewhat cold and then warm. I probably bought the same stuff as you also it comes in a bluish can and says synthetic r134a and cools up to 18% better yada yada yada and has a gauge on it.

I did not drain any old freon out, I hooked the hose up to the low side it is the only fitting the hose will hook to. I turned the AC on high then I turned the valve all the way down to puncture it open and then turned it all the way back to let the freon out. I shook the can a few times and turned it upside down and within 2 minutes literally the can was empty and my AC is blowing colder than it ever has.

That is all I did and it was easy, I never recharged one before but I did a little homework before I did it and things went flawlessly...next time you take on a project don't listen to the Autozone guy, do your own research and follow what the majority of people tell you is the correct way of doing something.

This is the R134A I used.
Old 06-11-2011, 07:26 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Age: 57
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 741
Location: Southern California
User is: OffLine
Re: Adding Freon to a Chevy S10

Vent from low side you should get gas. Vent from high side you could (most likely) get a gasseous liquid combo. Possible frost bite if your skin gets exposed to it. Venting from either side can also loose some oil. Glad it worked out for you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.