99 S10 wont crank! Dash fully lit. No Crank! HELP!!!! - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

99 S10 wont crank! Dash fully lit. No Crank! HELP!!!!

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 2nd Gen Forums > S10 / Sonoma
New User? Register Forgot Password

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2011, 10:35 PM   #1

99 S10 wont crank! Dash fully lit. No Crank! HELP!!!!

Hello Guys and Gals!

I have a 1999 S10 4.3L with a 5 Speed.

For the last couple of weeks the truck was intermittent on wanting to turn over. I would pump my clutch, jiggle the key, bang a few things, try again and eventually it worked. However it slowly got worse and worse until finally did not want to turn over at all. Everything lights up perfectly on the dash but that last turn of the key, some lights go out as normal, no crank.

I am far from a mechanic, but I do have basic knowledge, trial and error skills and do ALLOT of reading on the internet including here of course!

Here is what I have tested so far:

Battery: Cleaned all connections and re-installed. The truck has lots of power though, lights etc.

Clutch Safety Switch: I pulled the switch off the rod under my dash, inspected it, all seems fine. I also disconnected the wire clip to it and tried to bridge the connections as a test. (Read that on here) No Luck. (I tried to bridge it based on the connections I saw that would close in the switch, I hope that was right)

Crank Fuse: I checked the crank fuse and it is fine.

Theories and possibilities:

Ignition Switch: Is it possible that my ignition switch is causing the problem? I am not sure how it works if you buy one to replace it. It is a separate addition to the existing barrel? or would I have get all new barrel and keys etc. (Is there a way to test to see if this is the fault?)