99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working... - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Question 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

I just bought a 99 Blazer the other day. I knew it had an issue with the 4x4 before I bought it.

The lights on the 4x4 buttons will light up (for the quick diagnostic test) and then go out (and remain out) completely. I can NOT activate the 4x4 functions at all using the 4x4 buttons.

The Service 4WD light illuminates after driving about (5) miles or so.

I took it to a local reputable tranny mechanic who then pulled the codes. He got a Code B2725 which mentioned something about a Switch.

The mechanic was able to manipulate the transfer case into and out of 4x4 via the Code Scanner (pretty cool I thought!). So I know that the 4x4 components (actuator, encoder, motor and TCCM) are all working.

He said it most likely is a bad 4x4 Switch. He did mention that his scanner "should" have only been able to manipulate the Auto-Track (NP8) transfer case and not the NP1 transfer case. (Not certain his reasoning though....).

He was questioning whether or not someone "may" have installed the wrong switch. ???? Maybe installed this (3) button switch instead of the (4) button switch.

Now, he crawled under the truck and verified that it does in fact have an NP236 (NP1) transfer case underneath it.

However, the Codes in the glove box do NOT show NP1. There only is an NP8 showing.

He mentioned it would be a significant under taking to change from a NP8 back down to an NP1. Different case sizes as well as different driveshaft lengths etc... So, that would NOT be likely a person changed from stock. ??

I'm thinking about just buying a new (3) button switch and see what happens ??

Ideas ???

LabRat116 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Exclamation Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

According to my research, this is the switch the NVG236 or 236GM NP8 transfer case should have on the dash.



The PO swapped in a 3 button switch in my Blazer.
LabRat116 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Exclamation Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

More research reveals that the 236 transfer case IS actually a NP8 !!
LabRat116 is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 08-20-2009, 09:35 PM
Dain Bramaged
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 126

User is: b1lk1 is offline
Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Yes, the NP8 is most definitely the 236 case, that is what my truck has. They require the 4 button controller.
b1lk1 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 08-20-2009, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Question Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Yes, the NP8 is most definitely the 236 case, that is what my truck has. They require the 4 button controller.
Yea, I just received and installed a new 4 button controller this afternoon.

The 4x4 is now working! However, the Auto 4WD button stays lit up in every mode. ???

Yes, I did pull the 4x4 10 amp fuse and the ATC fuse (for 3 minutes) BEFORE I installed the new 4 button controller.

What would make the Auto 4WD button stay lit up ??
LabRat116 is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 08-21-2009, 07:51 AM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Question Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Anybody ??
LabRat116 is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 08-21-2009, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Question Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

No decent mechanics on here ????
LabRat116 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 08-21-2009, 12:25 PM
Dain Bramaged
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 126

User is: b1lk1 is offline
Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

You need to get a Tech capable scanner and get in there and look for codes.
b1lk1 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 08-21-2009, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Question Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
You need to get a Tech capable scanner and get in there and look for codes.
Already done.

Auto 4WD still on.

Is this perhaps normal ??
LabRat116 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 08-21-2009, 08:47 PM
Dain Bramaged
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 126

User is: b1lk1 is offline
Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

No it is not, I have the same setup on my truck and the light is in the 2WD position unless I change it to something else. I will see if AllData has any suggestions and post back.
b1lk1 is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 08-21-2009, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Thumbs up Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I will see if AllData has any suggestions and post back.
I appreciate it.
LabRat116 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 08-22-2009, 10:42 PM
Dain Bramaged
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 126

User is: b1lk1 is offline
Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

I cannot find anything in AllData as to this issue. To me it sounds like a possible switch issue (did you get a used one?) or a wiring issue. I can state for a fact that my 236 cased 4 button 4X4 only lights up the mode that the transfer case is in. The only time my Auto 4WD light is on is when I select that mode. WHen I select any other mode that light does go out.
b1lk1 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 08-23-2009, 04:56 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Arrow Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I cannot find anything in AllData as to this issue. To me it sounds like a possible switch issue (did you get a used one?) or a wiring issue. I can state for a fact that my 236 cased 4 button 4X4 only lights up the mode that the transfer case is in. The only time my Auto 4WD light is on is when I select that mode. WHen I select any other mode that light does go out.
Thanks for checking.

Would you happen to have the schematics for the TCCM circuit for a 99 Blazer ? If so, could you Email me a set ? -->> Katmandu@woh.rr.com


I have them for an 03 Blazer but it doesn't have Auto 4WD.

The (4) button switch I just installed is New.

I do have a used TCCM here that I'm going to try out soon. I'll post up the results.
LabRat116 is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 08-23-2009, 09:31 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Exclamation Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_BigBadWolf View Post
The (4) button switch I just installed is New.

I do have a used TCCM here that I'm going to try out soon. I'll post up the results.
Well, the Service 4WD light came on and now it will not go into 4HI.

The used TCCM I have here was the wrong one.

I will get the Codes read tomorrow.
LabRat116 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 08-24-2009, 09:03 AM
Dain Bramaged
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 126

User is: b1lk1 is offline
Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

I sent you the diagrams I could find, let me know if they got through.
b1lk1 is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 08-24-2009, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Thumbs up Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I sent you the diagrams I could find, let me know if they got through.
Got them. Much appreciated!

Now, if someone can help me pinpoint the problem.

Last edited by LabRat116; 08-24-2009 at 01:07 PM.
LabRat116 is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 08-25-2009, 01:49 AM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Thumbs down Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Still getting B2725.
LabRat116 is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 08-26-2009, 12:39 PM
Dain Bramaged
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 126

User is: b1lk1 is offline
Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

I just sent you the troubleshooting flow chart. I saved it as a Word document so if you can't read it let me know and I will save it as PDF.
b1lk1 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 08-27-2009, 08:31 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Thumbs up Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I just sent you the troubleshooting flow chart. I saved it as a Word document so if you can't read it let me know and I will save it as PDF.
Thank you Sir!
LabRat116 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 08-30-2009, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
GO STEELERS !!!
 
LabRat116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 347

User is: LabRat116 is offline
Thumbs up Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LabRat116 View Post
Still getting B2725.
Turns out the Transfer Case Control Module was bad.

I put in another one (same #) and all the 4x4 problems disappeared!
LabRat116 is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 09-09-2009, 09:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 39
Posts: 1

User is: marshallb is offline
Re: 99 Blazer 4x4 Not Working...

b1lk1, would that flowchart be the same for a 94 S10 4x4? I need to troubleshoot a similar problem. The lights in my switch will not light with out a lot of prodding. I am thinking new switch but? Also why do you need to take the fuse out is there a capacitor issue or somthing?
marshallb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome