97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses? - S-10 Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-18-2007, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19

User is: press1280 is offline
97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

My 97 has blown about 4 fuses thus far for the 4X4. Problem is,when you put a new fuse in,everything works fine for a little while(like maybe a few days). It's the next time you go to use it after you haven't for a while that you find it's blown. Is it the actuator or some kind of electrical issue?

press1280 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-18-2007, 03:25 PM
Mine Sweeper!
 
juddspaintballs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Union Bridge, MD
Age: 31
Posts: 6,512

User is: juddspaintballs is offline
Send a message via AIM to juddspaintballs
Re: 97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

is it a push button 4wd or a lever you hafto actuate?

Opinions are like assholes: everyone has one and they all stink.

My Audio Build Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by juddspaintballs
radio shack didn't have the pot i need and the guy there didn't know shit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Toad
i never bought pot at radio shack
juddspaintballs is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-18-2007, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19

User is: press1280 is offline
Re: 97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

Quote:
Originally Posted by juddspaintballs View Post
is it a push button 4wd or a lever you hafto actuate?
It's a push button
press1280 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-09-2007, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19

User is: press1280 is offline
Question Re: 97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

Been gone for a few weeks. It happened again the other day when it snowed. Tried to get 4 HI and the 4HI button flashed a few times then nothing.Did it again,same thing-flashed then nothing. Then tried it again,just a click. Checked fuse,its blown.Put in a new fuse-went right to 4 HI like its supposed to. Nobody's had a similiar problem?
press1280 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-19-2007, 02:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Age: 36
Posts: 30

User is: djturnz is offline
Re: 97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

Mine does that too, except the fuse is fine, unless there is another fuse.

I actually parked mine (technically my wife did it because it's hers) with 4lo engaged. It sat for a week until I drove it again and it didn't want to come out of 4 lo for about 15-20 minutes of driving, then I got it into 2HI and now 4lo and 4hi don't seem to work. Sometimes the 2hi button is lit up, sometimes not. Sometimes when I push the 4hi button they all flash and go right back to 2hi, sometimes nothing happens and it just stays in 2hi.
djturnz is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-23-2007, 02:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Walton Beach
Age: 36
Posts: 165

User is: FLcruising is offline
Re: 97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

I had a problem with the 4wd computer connector corroding. I would hear constant relay clicking as I was driving, and the 4wd lights would flash. Took me a while to figure out where the computer was at. Once I did, I took it out and noticed corrosion on the terminal connector. Wire brushed and greased them, and haven't had a problem since.

Point being, corroded terminal may be your culprit too.

Aaron
'00 Blazer 4x4
FLcruising is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-07-2007, 05:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 30

User is: xAnarChisTx is offline
Re: 97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

I am having the same problem. Every time I hit 4HI, the light on the button and my cluster and interior lights go out as well, all because it blew the fuse out.

I keep researching that it might be the front axle actuator, or maybe a short in the line somewhere.

What someone told me: buy a circuit breaker for it.
xAnarChisTx is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 05-05-2007, 10:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Age: 56
Posts: 22

User is: oilyted is offline
Re: 97 Blazer-4wd blowing fuses?

I had the same thing happen to my 96 Jimmy. It was the encoder motor. It is on the transfer case and it actualy shifts the case when you push the button. the dealer wanted 500.00 plus labor. I got a GM one for about 250.00 and it took about 1 hour to put in.
oilyted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.


Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome