1998 4wd Blazer - S-10 Forum
S-10 Forum is the resource on GM S-series trucks, Suspension, engine information, Body Modifications, painting tutorials.  Modifications to suit every need, budget and whim

1998 4wd Blazer

Go Back   S-10 Forum > Specific Model Forums > 2nd Gen Forums > Blazer / Bravada / Jimmy / Envoy
New User? Register Forgot Password


 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2010, 01:56 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Age: 24
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Location: Lebanon, Ohio
User is: OffLine
1998 4wd Blazer

My blazer has always had the vaccum line detached from the actuator... With this being said, I have no 4wd.. unless I take out the battery, the battery tray and plug it in and put it all back together then I can use 4wd. Well, If i attach the vac line to the actuator and do not use 4wd, everything is cool and it drives great in standard 2wd, if i switch it into 4wd and use that it works great, 4wd is active and everything works well. But upon switching back into 2wd something doesnt fully disengage and once i get up to 20-30mph some shit engages and hardcore grinding sounds occour until I stop (which I immediatly do).. So, I just go back to unhooking that vacc line off the actuator and I never have 4wd. My actuator is fine, I have replaced it, so what would be your priority list to check?
actuator cable? could this be hung up/ not fully disengaging or something?
Transfer Case vaccum switch? could this be it?
I read somebody said if the front diff is low on fluid it can somehow cause it to engage?
TCCM?
Front Axle sensor?
Dash switch?
I just don't want to spend hundreds of dollars and never fix the problem.. I know this is a common problem, somebody must know the fix!
Thank you! -Kyle
Old 10-07-2010, 11:13 PM   #2
goin broke but n style
 
S15vortecpwr's Avatar
 
Age: 34
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12,743
Location: Wetumpka, Alabama
User is: OffLine
Re: 1998 4wd Blazer

put the truck in 4wd and than back into 2wd while you have a vac guage on the actuator line. if you dont loose vac than i would say you have a bad vac seitch on the transfer case. If you do loose vac than you have a sticking cable. Check it for binding.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the S-10 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2011, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
SEO by vBSEO
vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.